Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2000 rum

Diplomatico 2000

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage is a limited edition rum created from one of the best sugar cane harvests Venezuela has experienced to date. It was created by Master Blender Tito Cordero and is the result of a careful selection of reserves, laid to age in the year 2000.

9.3/10 (132 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
63
55

Rate Diplomatico 2000

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Diplomatico 2000 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Jag fick tag på 6 cl av en fin vän som hade en flaska hemma. Så nu har jag precis testat de första 3 mot ca 3 ml reserva exklusiva. Single vintage 2000 är på en helt annan nivå. I reserva exklusiva känner man lite vanilj och lite stickig alkohol, god och skulle kunna ha den som vardags rom absolut, en favorit. Men 2000 oj oj, vilken smooth vanilj kola bomb, kan vara en av de smoothigaste rom jag smakat. Doften är densamma. I början när man precis hällt upp de båda är det svårt att skilja dem åt men efter en stund så är det stor skillnad. Jag sparade på 2000 en lång stund efter jag druckit upp reservan och då känner man hur tydligt som helst sherry fatet som också är väldigt mjuk. Jag gillar inte sherrysmaken så jätte mycket egentligen men denna oj oj, tydlig körsbärssmak man bara känner i typ dr Pepper. En av de bästa rom jag druckit helt klart. Är glad att jag fått smaka den. Ska försöka få tag på minst 2 flaskor av 2004 då jag inte blev så jätte imponerad av 2002.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Ordered 2 bottles from NY as not available in Pennsylvania. This is a fine rum, taste of black cherry and caramel. So smooth with no burn. $98 per bottle but worth every penny. I have to do a blind tasting with El Dorado 21 as that had been my all time favorite.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

When I came across a bottle of this rum several months ago there was no internal argument on whether or not I should purchase it. And it was the last bottle on the shelf.

Let's get to it, shall we?

Reading about the making of this rum is fascinating in of itself. Apparently the sugar cane crops in Venezuela that year were the best ever and made for some of the best even cane "honey" which they used in the distilling process. The rum was then aged in oak barrels for 12 years before finished in sherry casks.

The color is a nice rich mahogany. The aroma is outstanding. I seem to get hints of cinnamon in it. Swirling in the glass leaves a film of the rum that slowly...and I mean SLOWLY slides down the sides of the snifter.

The flavor is quite excellent. Admittedly this rum is sugared a bit the sweetness isn't overpowering. There seems to be a bit of butteriness to it with vanilla and butterscotch undertones. I also get a little flavor akin to raisins. There is a rather intense burn to it. It is listed at 43% ABV (86 proof) but that burn seems to be such experienced with higher proof rums. It's not rough at all, just a tad intense. When the burn slowly fades there is a nice drier finish highlighted by vanilla and cinnamon.

My opinions are based on drinking this straight and it is definitely an excellent sipping rum but I recommend using a single, small ice cube (emphasis on small) with the rum and allowing the cube to melt just a little bit. This will release even more flavors and mellows the burn a bit.

Albeit pricey at over $100 a bottle this is a rum that should be reserved for special occasions. And this is a bottle that gets high marks on the coolness factor. A thick-bottom heavy bottle with a natural cork and hefty metal topper. On the sad day your bottle of this rum becomes empty, save the bottle, take off the label and reuse it as a decanter.

Highly recommended!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Virkelig lækker rom, meget duft og smag, med en tilpas sødme, men også kompleksitet med en fed olieagtig struktur.
Meget lækker.
Absolut et genkøb.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is one of the best rum I've had to date, and I've tried a lot of good ones. It has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Would pair well with a fine cigar. Simply an amazing rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Devin from Canada with 14 ratings

This is seriously good rum and perfect for my tastes. Not quite as sweet as reserva exclusiva, which is perfect. I went out and bought another bottle, and I have only done that with one other whisky I liked.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by NickTheGreek from Australia with 18 ratings

Wow...Do I need to say anymore.

Did a rum tasting a month or so ago with around 18 rums from all over the world. And there were some very good rums in the lineup. The whole Diplomatico, Appleton Estate 21, Zacapa XO, Flor De Cana 18, Mount Gay XO, Ron Matusalem 15. This one absolutely killed the competition hands down and was the consensus favourite choice by everyone. Appleton Estate 21 was a close second, just didn't have the complexity there.

Everything you want in a rum. Sensational bottle. Beautiful dark rum. The nose was sensational. Initial flavour was gorgeous and you straight off tell this was a well aged/blended complex rum. It was thick and creamy, and the texture of this when it entered your mouth was first class. I rate this even over the more expensive Ambassador. At $150 a bottle, well worth the price and I will be getting some more.

Must be drunk staight up. No need to water down. Very little alcohol burn it was such a smooth drink. Almost a crimimal offense to mix this.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 20 to 24 gpl. A very complex rum that is well balanced. Be sure to let it breathe before drinking. It gets better after a few minutes in the glass. It is not as sweet as the Reserva Exclusiva, but it has a much bolder taste. You can taste the oak as well as the sherry cask finish. Hints of caramel, baking spices, vanilla, and a touch of cherry. Very aromatic in the glass and the reddish color reflects the sherry cask finishing. Bold in the mouth, very smooth in your throat and a super long after burn. This rum is a must have in your collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Merry Christmas to all of you!!

This rum was a Gift of my wife for Christmas. I was totaly surprised. :-)

This is one of the best Rums I ever tasted!!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

A fair priced ultra premium rum. The best Venezuelan I have tasted. Even better than the more expensive Diplomatico Ambassador.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage is an amazingly smooth rum, but the reality is that Reserva Exclusiva is less than half the price and offers you 98% the same experience. In its own right, this is a spectacular rum. Single Vintage has much more cherry flavor over the Reserva Exclusiva. Try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO