Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2000 rum

Diplomatico 2000

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage is a limited edition rum created from one of the best sugar cane harvests Venezuela has experienced to date. It was created by Master Blender Tito Cordero and is the result of a careful selection of reserves, laid to age in the year 2000.

9.3/10 (132 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
63
55

Rate Diplomatico 2000

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


132 Diplomatico 2000 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

One of my favorite that I've tasted so far. Great balance for both the nose and mouth. Pricey indeed, but worth every cent. This one is certainly a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Das ist ganz klar die beste Vintage Abfüllung,ich habe ihn als Botucal und Diplomatico verglichen,absolut gleich.Mindestens so gut wie der Ambassador vielleicht sogar besser ,koste aber nur die Hälfte.Im Vergleich zum 2001er und 2002er deutlich besser,wobei der 2002er auch schon sehr hut und der 2001er nicht schlecht ist.Da es sich auch noch um eine sammelwürdige Millenium Abfüllung handelt sollte man sich bei den raren Beständen und niedrigen Preisen um 80 Euro unbedingt noch ein paar Flaschen beseite legen

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Zeer speciale rum van Diplomatico in luxe kist ! Een exclsuieve selectie van zeer fijne rums tot 12 jaar oud recht uit het vat.

Geschiedenis Diplomatico
Eind de jaren 80’ was Don Juancho Nieto Melendez en zijn brandende passie voor het verkennen van de bronnen en processen zorgde eruit uiteindelijk voor zijn eigen verantwoordelijkheid voor de vele verleidelijke smaken van de traditionele dranken waaronder de rum.

Hij was vooral geïnteresseerd in ambachtelijke productiemethoden die ondanks relatief constant gehouden, waren kunnen opleveren uiteenlopende duidelijk verschillende resultaten .
Hij was gefascineerd door de subtiele complexiteit van de vele omgevingsfactoren die het rum -proces beïnvloeden , zoals het weer en de vochtigheid van de tropen. Een vakman in hart en nieren , Don Juancho was onvermoeibaar en zocht naar manieren om zijn eigen product te verfijnen door bemonstering van een uitputtende reeks van exotische likeuren en rum . In feite zijn zijn indrukwekkende verzameling drank heel beroemd geworden.
Don Juancho bestudeerde aandachtig de productie- methoden die in Jamaica , die op dat tijdstip de wereldstandaard was voor de vervaardiging en de waardering van rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rum Diver from United States with 16 ratings

This rum was a gift for my 40th birthday. One of the best rums I have ever tasted.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jonas I from Denmark with 6 ratings

Sweet and somewhat complex, but not in my top range. I think it lacks some tasting notes, that I can't really define

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jorge Granadillo from Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of with 5 ratings

This is one of the best rum I've had to date, and I've tried a lot of good ones. It has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Would pair well with a fine cigar. Simply an amazing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mike from Canada with 28 ratings

A flawless rum. Very smooth and balanced with great character. Yummy! Anyone giving this a low rating isn't to be trusted with any rating. Any developed palate will be able to recognize the quality of this rum. Well worth the price; even underpriced. Best rum I have had hands down. Not as sweet as their exclusive reserva. That bothers some people, which has them down-voting this rum. Very immature (and incompetent) to downvote this because it isn't like another rum. Flawless rum!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

beautiful rum with hints of vanilla , caramel and a very large presence of that specific flavor due to a long passage in bourbon and single malt casks. Coffee , chocolate come later in mouth with a very long aftertaste.
I can find also almond with specific pastry taste. Sweet one. Good experience. Need to taste now 2001 and 2002.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by ArnChowda from Canada with 12 ratings

A beautiful rum that everyone should try. I'm a huge fan of both the reserva and the exclusiva but this blows them out of the water. From the beautiful color to the not to sweet but super smooth taste, and don't get me started on the smell. I can't see anyone being disappointed with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

no solera i think. powerful, sweet rum. deep sherry notes, with raisins and chocolate. creamy. bold. intense.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Romain from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Vey nice colour and smell. You can definitely say it has nothing to do with the reserva exclusiva once you smell it. Very well balanced and very complex when you drink it. Vanilla aromas, cacao and you can definitely tell is has been aged in bourbon barrels. But still very easy to drink in my opinion. You can definitely recognise it is a diplomatico product but it's so much better