Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2000 rum

Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage is a limited edition rum created from one of the best sugar cane harvests Venezuela has experienced to date. It was created by Master Blender Tito Cordero and is the result of a careful selection of reserves, laid to age in the year 2000.

Rate Diplomatico 2000

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


131 Diplomatico 2000 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

When I came across a bottle of this rum several months ago there was no internal argument on whether or not I should purchase it. And it was the last bottle on the shelf.

Let's get to it, shall we?

Reading about the making of this rum is fascinating in of itself. Apparently the sugar cane crops in Venezuela that year were the best ever and made for some of the best even cane "honey" which they used in the distilling process. The rum was then aged in oak barrels for 12 years before finished in sherry casks.

The color is a nice rich mahogany. The aroma is outstanding. I seem to get hints of cinnamon in it. Swirling in the glass leaves a film of the rum that slowly...and I mean SLOWLY slides down the sides of the snifter.

The flavor is quite excellent. Admittedly this rum is sugared a bit the sweetness isn't overpowering. There seems to be a bit of butteriness to it with vanilla and butterscotch undertones. I also get a little flavor akin to raisins. There is a rather intense burn to it. It is listed at 43% ABV (86 proof) but that burn seems to be such experienced with higher proof rums. It's not rough at all, just a tad intense. When the burn slowly fades there is a nice drier finish highlighted by vanilla and cinnamon.

My opinions are based on drinking this straight and it is definitely an excellent sipping rum but I recommend using a single, small ice cube (emphasis on small) with the rum and allowing the cube to melt just a little bit. This will release even more flavors and mellows the burn a bit.

Albeit pricey at over $100 a bottle this is a rum that should be reserved for special occasions. And this is a bottle that gets high marks on the coolness factor. A thick-bottom heavy bottle with a natural cork and hefty metal topper. On the sad day your bottle of this rum becomes empty, save the bottle, take off the label and reuse it as a decanter.

Highly recommended!!!

Dbf5b0ed45ccd312ae06bc54fe612534.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

My favouiritte rum of all. Compared to the price this is the best in the world so far. Easy to drink with a lots of tastes

00b8a4fd4221d1a076c4b5470141fa88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jeff from FR with 18 ratings

Moins sucré que le Reserva exclusiva, il est plus complexe et offre un sacré agréable moment. Avec un cigare c'est super.

Eca3cb427d69c66de95b9f4a417cbc09.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Although Diplomatico is now a mainstream rum brand, they stillcan produce something special. This rum is never a bad choice.

502dbc89a2586fce3db8e21e842bc519.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its like liquid miracle in a bottle really well balanced hard to find

Dd0f88229489c5828a39be6f84fb1728.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

Very soft and smooth but with more punch and complexity than the reserva exclusiva.
I need to get a second one before they are out of stock.

5110dfcca260254cebd9a77b3eac3b01.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

This RUM is pure genius and a must have. It starts with the package, wow. Highend price, but absolutely fair. A great nose and a great taste, I prefer this marginally over the 2001. Its so good.

84a3f150590fd94cc07a4dddad1d7c8f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rasmus Tranberg from Denmark with 19 ratings

Although I prefer the 1997 single vintage (which cannot be reviewed here) this I still the perfect rum. Deepness, smooth and with the right sweetness for most. 43 % proof and still no harsh aftertaste. Perfect

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

A great and complex rum. It has a smooth, deep and dark prunelike caracter

A1704c8582fd659dc2c5a6ceffd1e962.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 24 days ago by Haggmeister from Sweden with 8 ratings

My personal favorit, which i had stored 2 years before opening.

Fantastic flavours

930906d9c2d0c4cd57886b879bd99f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I have tried the 2000, 2001, 2004. 2000 is the best year. The later years are dryer and more woody. This bottle is perfectly balanced. Deep toffee with a perfect toasted oak finish. As smooth as they come. Its almost 2020 so probably not many left