Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2000 rum

Diplomatico 2000 Single Vintage is a limited edition rum created from one of the best sugar cane harvests Venezuela has experienced to date. It was created by Master Blender Tito Cordero and is the result of a careful selection of reserves, laid to age in the year 2000.

Rate Diplomatico 2000

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


130 Diplomatico 2000 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

When I came across a bottle of this rum several months ago there was no internal argument on whether or not I should purchase it. And it was the last bottle on the shelf.

Let's get to it, shall we?

Reading about the making of this rum is fascinating in of itself. Apparently the sugar cane crops in Venezuela that year were the best ever and made for some of the best even cane "honey" which they used in the distilling process. The rum was then aged in oak barrels for 12 years before finished in sherry casks.

The color is a nice rich mahogany. The aroma is outstanding. I seem to get hints of cinnamon in it. Swirling in the glass leaves a film of the rum that slowly...and I mean SLOWLY slides down the sides of the snifter.

The flavor is quite excellent. Admittedly this rum is sugared a bit the sweetness isn't overpowering. There seems to be a bit of butteriness to it with vanilla and butterscotch undertones. I also get a little flavor akin to raisins. There is a rather intense burn to it. It is listed at 43% ABV (86 proof) but that burn seems to be such experienced with higher proof rums. It's not rough at all, just a tad intense. When the burn slowly fades there is a nice drier finish highlighted by vanilla and cinnamon.

My opinions are based on drinking this straight and it is definitely an excellent sipping rum but I recommend using a single, small ice cube (emphasis on small) with the rum and allowing the cube to melt just a little bit. This will release even more flavors and mellows the burn a bit.

Albeit pricey at over $100 a bottle this is a rum that should be reserved for special occasions. And this is a bottle that gets high marks on the coolness factor. A thick-bottom heavy bottle with a natural cork and hefty metal topper. On the sad day your bottle of this rum becomes empty, save the bottle, take off the label and reuse it as a decanter.

Highly recommended!!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Jag fick tag på 6 cl av en fin vän som hade en flaska hemma. Så nu har jag precis testat de första 3 mot ca 3 ml reserva exklusiva. Single vintage 2000 är på en helt annan nivå. I reserva exklusiva känner man lite vanilj och lite stickig alkohol, god och skulle kunna ha den som vardags rom absolut, en favorit. Men 2000 oj oj, vilken smooth vanilj kola bomb, kan vara en av de smoothigaste rom jag smakat. Doften är densamma. I början när man precis hällt upp de båda är det svårt att skilja dem åt men efter en stund så är det stor skillnad. Jag sparade på 2000 en lång stund efter jag druckit upp reservan och då känner man hur tydligt som helst sherry fatet som också är väldigt mjuk. Jag gillar inte sherrysmaken så jätte mycket egentligen men denna oj oj, tydlig körsbärssmak man bara känner i typ dr Pepper. En av de bästa rom jag druckit helt klart. Är glad att jag fått smaka den. Ska försöka få tag på minst 2 flaskor av 2004 då jag inte blev så jätte imponerad av 2002.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

I had the pleasure to drink it during the new year night and it is one of the best rums I ever had. Soft and great body.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

As expected, superb. Tried it at rumfest during a seminar. Total value!

Posted about 2 years ago by Emanuel von Wartburg from Switzerland with 9 ratings

Hat eine sehr schöne Farbe, toller Duft in der Nase, süss im Mund und angenehmer, nicht brennender Abgang

Posted about 2 years ago by Alfredo from United States with 4 ratings

Simply Terrific. A unique rum for special occasions. It is great straight, with lime and on the rocks. My only 10 rating for now and for the foreseeable future.

Posted about 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

trochu mě mrzí, že jsem tuto láhev testoval už v pozdější fázy dne, kde jsem měl již dost upito.
Přesto při slepé konzumaci bylo diplomatico poznáno.
Jemné a vyvážený rum, bez alkoholového pálení. Za ty peníze přeceněný kousek, ale to je dáno limitovanou edicí a už špatnou dostupností těchto láhví.

Posted about 2 years ago by Theslasher from United States with 11 ratings

Received a bottle of this as a birthday gift.The presentation is excellent.What's inside is a bold yet balanced rum that isn't overly sweet yet not bitter.This isn't something that I would consider a daily sipper but, more for special occasions.I rate this a 9.5

Posted about 2 years ago by Billy from Canada with 4 ratings

The sweet vanilla and caramel flavours the diplimatico family is known for with more smoothness. Has the biggest bite of the diplimaticos but has great legs and flavour.

Posted about 2 years ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Got this rum as a Christmas gift a few years back. Already having the Reserva and Exclusiva in my collection it was a nice addition. Not as sweet as the affromentioned but with more complexity and a smooth yet long finish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Fantastic rum. Not a hint of roughness. Great from the nose to the highly complex finish. Just the right amount of sweetness. Dried dark fruits.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

Great sipper, special bottle of Rum, ultra smooth, sweet, long finish, has a good burn.....

Posted over 2 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

I always been a fan of the classic Exclusiva Reserva with the only problem being the adding sugar being too much. I always prefered dryer still of rum, more a Jamaïcain or French type of rum drinker.

This being said, I was very pleasantly happy with this Diplomatico. On the nose and taste you can find all what we love in the ER, the strong caramel and vanilla, with the addition of the cherry. But this time without the overpowering sugar at the end.
A really really good Ron, but unlike many before me, this was not the best I ever had, especially for that price, so worth a 9 not a 10.

Posted over 2 years ago by Allano from Canada with 20 ratings

Haven't tried that many but none better so far..... sweet yet savoury

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron elegante en todos los aspectos. Perfecto para tomarlo puro y en compañia especial.

Posted over 2 years ago by WeSt from Romania with 3 ratings

By all means this is a great rum and I enjoyed every single sip...but...I expected a litle bit more...it is not as smooth as I expected, almost rough, the smell is delicate but dim...the after-taste is rather strong and bitterish...I must say that I prefer much more his less pretentious sibling, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva...sorry, I just expected to be blown of my feet...it didn't happen...

Posted over 2 years ago by Roy from United States with 10 ratings

Very nice one of the best. Not as sweet the Grand Reserve Exclusiva. You won't regret spending the cash. Hope to find another bottle soon.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Roc James from United States with 6 ratings

I went from drinking captain Morgan as my go to rum, and a friend bought a bottle for my birthday and now I have no desire to ever drink captain again. Great taste, with no bite at all. The smoothest rum I've ever had with a great caramel and sugarcane aftertaste

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nikos Argyriou from Greece with 1 rating

Smooth and subtle! An amazing drinking experience!!

Posted about 3 years ago by Mats Goransson from Sweden with 1 rating

This rum is not cheap but I think it´s the best value for the money. First time on this webpage and I can admit that have not tried all of the others rums. But Now I will start trying.

Posted about 3 years ago by Angelos A. from Greece with 1 rating

Had this on a beautiful night in the magic island of Alonissos, Greece. It was mind expanding. Its full taste and the sweet assault on the senses was otherwordly. A simply amazing rum. Wod highly recommend to anyone looking for an experience!!

Posted about 3 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Simply the best rum I ever have tasted, wonderfull smell followed by fantastic taste. Wothy every euro paid, suitable for extra events :)

Posted about 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Skøn let og blød rom. Skønt at have smagt den. Synd den er udgået eller vanvittig i pris

Posted about 3 years ago by vdb from Belgium with 20 ratings

Plutôt rare à trouver. La cuvée 2002 est un vrai régale! Le finish au sherry est une surprise également. Un rhum rond, délicieux avec un rétro puissant en arôme. A essayer les yeux fermés!

Posted about 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

I have tasted the Diplomatico Vintage 2000 more or less one year ago and it is still one of the best I have tested so far ! It's a shame that it becomes more and more difficult to find one.
I still have an empty space in my bar ...