Posting your rating...
Deadhead Aged 10 years rum

Deadhead Aged 10 years

Mexico | Aged

6.5/10
12 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
2
2
3

Rate Deadhead Aged 10 years

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Deadhead Aged 10 years ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

I appreciate Rum Ratings club trying to introduce unusual rums to the club, but this Mexican shipment is just unusual not rare and great. I was hoping this 10 year aged would be a 7 or 8 but not in my book. Enjoy maybe others have different profiles or tastes.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Rick (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 36 ratings

Molasses, vanilla and brown sugar on the nose. Up front, the flavor is mildly sweet with a viscous mouthfeel. No heat to speak of and a slightly dry finish.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Xclber007 from United States with 5 ratings

Oak on the nose and tasted smokiness or char. Really enjoyed this paired with a cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 105 ratings

The nose is much harsher than the taste and finish, well rounded rum, taste hints of oak, slight burn.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 482 ratings

I kind of like the Deadhead Aged rum, and I was very interested to try their 10 Year aged against the regular Deadhead.

They are close. I definitely noticed the extra aging of the 10 year, but I feel it lacks some of the flavors of the regular aged rum. For that reason, I slightly prefer the regular Deadhead aged to this.

Smells and tastes of allspice, caramel, and butterscotch. It lacks the cacao I tasted in the regular aged, which to me, added nicely to the flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Gsquared from United States with 4 ratings

The aroma has a strong scent of mildew, like you left your wet towels in the washing machine overnight. The taste and finish remind me more of a cognac than a rum, like some rums aged 15-20 years

Small jimmie profile pic

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmie from United States with 37 ratings

The offering was average and does not stand out. It has a pleasant nose and little to no burn on the end. It was nice to try it, but I would not seek it out.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by lonefalcon from United States with 38 ratings

Medium strong aroma, like brown sugar with butter. The taste fails a bit for me, however. There is a bitter sweet flavor that doesn't work for me; maybe a bit too acidic? Letting it rest in the glass does seem to help with the flavor, or maybe that's just because I've now been drinking more 🤔
In any case the neat bottle can't save this one.

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 3 months ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 53 ratings

Very pleasant to sniff, but the mouthfeel and lack of depth of taste leave a lot to be desired.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jason from United States with 93 ratings

Beautiful amber color. The nose is sweeter with vanilla, molasses, and a hint of oak from the barrel. Great spice profile with notes of char and some subtle sweetness. The finish is dry with very little burn or alcohol finish.
However, this rum feels like something is missing or isn’t completely balanced. Still a solid choice and one I’d drink with a cigar.