Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


119 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Frank Taylor (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

Rich, full, smooth. A bit overpriced but it is hard to find on the West Coast. Never mix it unless you have a lot of cash as it does make a wonderful float. The best out of Puerto Rico that is not a limited batch.

Posted about 6 years ago by Simone from Sweden with 3 ratings

Excellent rum with one of the best value for money rate! Smooth sweet and a hint of smokiness. Love it

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a pretty good rum. Molasses, smoke, pepper, oak, almond, sherry, and even a light touch of orange.

It's a good rum, though I think it's a little hot at 43%abv (I think only the 8 and above rated rums do really well at that alcohol content). Still, a very decent rum for the money, and one I would recommend for the cost.

Posted over 4 years ago by Giovanni from Italy with 1 rating

With its nice and smooth smoky aroma, it was a surprise. The price is very low for such a great Rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by ChameleonSkin from United States with 18 ratings

Every time I've gone to pick up a bottle of this (and I've gone through plenty), I'm absolutely floored by the fact that this is a sub-$40 bottle of rum. It's smooth, and lush, with a wonderful balance of caramel, vanilla, and oak, while still having that clean, refined mouthfeel that you expect from a column-still rum. It's fantastic on its own, and remains one of my favorite components of most tiki drinks as well. It absolutely shines in a mai tai with a good Jamaican pot-still as a funky counterpoint (I'd suggest my favorite, Appleton 12-year). It's also essential to a good zombie or jet pilot.

If you're drinking on its own, just be prepared for the fact that this has minimal or no added sugar; it's not going to be a Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva or a Zaya. It's dry and clean like a Spanish sherry. It's a much better palate cleanser than a digestif.

As a mixer, I have yet to find a drink in which this doesn't shine. It has this magical ability to play nice with others while still not having its own unique flavors lost among others. I've used it in a Coronado Luaus special before which has somewhere in the neighborhood of 10-12 ingredients, and I can still pick out the unique notes of the Ron del Barrilito even in that setting.

A truly fantastic rum, and amazing at this price point.

Posted over 4 years ago by Wonky Donkey from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Rich with smoke and vanilla flavours. Underrated, especially at its price.

Posted about 3 years ago by mdk from Puerto Rico with 11 ratings

"Barrilito tres estrellas" is a classic; still produced the same way as in the 19th century. Hard to find outside of PR -- in PR, it's the cheapest sipping rum -- at $20-25 per bottle, it's better than most rums twice that much. Perfect with a couple of rocks, or if you have to mix it, with a bit of dry cranberry and soda. Do not use it for cuba libres -- it would be a waste!

Posted over 4 years ago by Edgardo Aviles from United States with 6 ratings

Good rum to drink in a tulip shaped glass with an ice cube or a splash of water or straight. Goes down like any good cognac. You do not want to insult this rum by mixing it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Love this stuff. Way better than Bacardi Solera or possibly Bacardi 8 for that matter. Just a finer produced product all around.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I know that this company has admitted that they have altered their rums. What is unusual is that it is not nearly as sweet as most altered rums - rather it seems to have a faked-up woody-smoky, almost phenolic taste.

I really wanted to like this but I don't. A much better example of the Cuban style is Doorly's XO or R L Seales' 10 yr, which have a similar taste to this without the offputting phenolic taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Edit - bumping this up to a 10, just love this rum!!!!

The smokiness continues to build the more you drink of it.

Picked it up on the way out of Puerto Rico knowing little about this 3 Star or sipping rum. The flavor made me add less and less coke till there was just the rum and the ice by the third glass. After easily polishing the bottle off, I desperately needed more of that rich smokey after taste!

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a great rum. It comes of soft but that quickly changes into a strong smokey flavor. This is a great rum that reminds you what you are drinking. The smell is also great. I was lucky to find a store in town that had 2 bottles left. I may go get the other if it is still there.

Posted over 3 years ago by DevilsChariot from United States with 4 ratings

This is one of those rums that's a road mark on the journey of rum. No, not everyone will like it because you know from experience that if everyone likes it it's probably mediocre to dumb. This rum will not be mistaken. Like Smith & Cross, Lemon Hart or Appleton Estate this is one of the rums that outlines great rum. Now, I'm going to tell that this is not one of those aged 18 years in a Hungarian sherry cask slung in a sling of pure minks fur and sharks gut sinew rums. Those are a whole other thing. This a great rum because it's bold and flavorful by itself and it's good in mixed drinks and coke. It does it all.

Posted over 3 years ago by David Meyers from United States with 14 ratings

First had this rum in Puerto Rico. It was recommended by the bar tender. Ended up drinking quite a lot of the stuff. Really great rum and a really great memory

Posted over 3 years ago by Kenny Rasschaert from Belgium with 4 ratings

Strong alcohol taste, heavy throat burn. Has some redeeming qualities though.

Posted over 4 years ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

One of my all time favorites. Great taste smooth, nice color and great finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Christian from United States with 10 ratings

A golden hue of wood and citrus glory. Surprised me being that the bottle was nothing special. Be thirsty my friends

Posted almost 5 years ago by J. Pla from United States with 1 rating

This rum has great aroma that accentuates it's strong smokey flavor and is followed by hints of vanilla. It's versatile in its ability to be enjoyed neat, on the rocks or even in mixed drinks. As sipping rums go, an excellent value

Posted 3 months ago by carl from United States with 20 ratings

One of the best the island has to offer. A bit on the dry side, with a little bit of burn. I enjoyed it neat and also with a few ice cubes.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Little Frank from United States with 5 ratings

This is NOT the sweet rum you might have been looking for; but it IS a good rum! Others have compared to drinking cognac, and I would have to agree. It has some bite and smokiness that both mellow with a single ice cube and a little time to breathe. This also opens up the other flavours and aromas to increase the complexity. Not my everyday favourite, but definitely a regular option when I want something a little different (but still great) to sip. And I have to say that even though it's a good deal (especially if you buy it in PR), I do think it's wasted in mixed drinks.

Posted over 2 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Benjamin Obel Thomsen from Denmark with 1 rating

Didn't try many local rum while in PR, but this was the one til notice. Good flavour and colour, and lots of alcohol. Fairly good price as well.

Posted over 2 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

Great rum. I drink it like we drink rum back home in PR. Straight no ice or mix.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

This bottle has been a staple in my house since I was a kid. My dad loves it, I still love it. They haven't change the formula and it works good for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Daniel Rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

Unique and complex flavors. Wonderful on the palate at.a GREAT price!