Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10
142 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
2
6
14
27
42
25
19

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

142 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Morwin from United States with 14 ratings

Being a screw top bottle from PR, I wasn't anticipating much. But to my surprise it was quite smooth, hits of smoke, mild fruit flavors, molasses and oak. I think I'll keep a bottle around. Very good for the price and one of the better PR rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

The rum's aroma is a little intimidating. It has a rather strong alcohol odor making me think that it might be on the harsh side but upon tasting it I found it to be much tamer and smoother than the aroma seemed to indicate. It has a bit of initial sweetness with vanilla undertones which rapidly turns peppery. Quite the tongue tingler and at 86 proof it's a little stronger than the average rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

I read somewhere that they source their rum from Bacardi, which goes to show that it's all in the aging process. Full flavored, dry, spicy, cinnamon, leather and delicious!

edited to add sugar test results- 7g

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

A great mixer with coke and dark fruit juices. Its also really good by itself. Lots of Caramel and a light spice with a little bit of butterscotch and toasted wood

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rolf Derrer from Switzerland with 1 rating

One sip - Jesus Willy Christ - You could embrace the whole world.
What a tast! Simply the Best

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

It's harsh and not easy to drink by itself. Extra two points for an artisanal bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

This rum is not me in any way. The colour is light brown, the smell so and so, the taste gave me nothing, yet the aftertaste a little more live. But all in all, no thanks.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Lawrence Greb from United States with 7 ratings

This rum has a spicy taste, with some smoke taste and I sense the hint of caramel. After delivery it seems to have a warm finish.. Not to shabby..

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

This is a particular Rum ! it seems more bitter than a rum.
Strong and intense smell.
The flavor is spicy and slightly bitter because caramel is very present, I suppose added in barrel.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

It was closer to rubbing alcohol than rum will never willingly buy it again