Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10 (126 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
5
10
23
37
23
18

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


126 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a great rum. It comes of soft but that quickly changes into a strong smokey flavor. This is a great rum that reminds you what you are drinking. The smell is also great. I was lucky to find a store in town that had 2 bottles left. I may go get the other if it is still there.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rolf Derrer from Switzerland with 1 rating

One sip - Jesus Willy Christ - You could embrace the whole world.
What a tast! Simply the Best

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

It's harsh and not easy to drink by itself. Extra two points for an artisanal bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jannik Schwarzbart from Denmark with 49 ratings

This rum is not me in any way. The colour is light brown, the smell so and so, the taste gave me nothing, yet the aftertaste a little more live. But all in all, no thanks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Lawrence Greb from United States with 7 ratings

This rum has a spicy taste, with some smoke taste and I sense the hint of caramel. After delivery it seems to have a warm finish.. Not to shabby..

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

This is a particular Rum ! it seems more bitter than a rum.
Strong and intense smell.
The flavor is spicy and slightly bitter because caramel is very present, I suppose added in barrel.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

It was closer to rubbing alcohol than rum will never willingly buy it again

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

I really wanted to like this rum, after all the hype. I could not get past the strange taste. Maybe it was the smokiness. It was somewhat harsh and not smooth enough for me.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

A friend of mine mailed me a bottle brought back from his visit to Puerto Rico. It instantly ranks up there with my favorites. A distinctly different taste, smooth, strong, with something extra special, surely a hint of honey. Makes you wonder if islanders aren't keeping the best stuff for themselves, because from the looks of it, not easy to find state side! Once produced inside a windmill tower used to extract the juice from the sugar canes on the outskirts of Bayamon, today the office. In 1942, a single barrel, which is stored in the "cellar", was put aside with orders that it should only be opened when Puerto Rico becomes a free and independent nation.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I found this bottle in Lexington. It's comparable to any of the mid level rums from Puerto Rico, including Barcardi 8 and Don Q Anejo. A great taste and not too overpowering.

Small 20201127 182808

Posted 4 days ago by dsurtai1 from United States with 41 ratings

My dad bought me this rum as a souvenir from Puerto Rico. This is the only rum that has ever turned me into Captain Jack Sparrow. If you like it breath, notes of honey, molasses, caramel, toffee, and chocolate will appear. Very pleasant to the nose.