Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.6/10 (123 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
5
10
23
35
23
17

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


123 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Goldtyger from United States with 11 ratings

Popular but still a rum to drink with other beverages if you want to sip by itself you have to go somewhere else

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Yaron D. COLON from United States with 1 rating

...nothing compares to this smooth rum, in the leagues of the best Armagnac, however, made from sugar cane...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This was new in my liquor store and based on the reviews I had to try it. I have no idea how anybody could rate this a 9 or 10 but equally puzzling are the reviews below a 5. This is a "nice" rum. It's lacks distinctive overwelming notes, which is what I see now that I go back and look at the reviews. A lot of "smokey" (um okay - what is smokey?) Oak. Not so much. Carmel - maybe. It's not distinctive but it's not bad. It's smooth enough but not quite good enough for a sipper. Great mixer. A little strong alcohol smell but not taste. Doesn't burn as some suggest. I paid over $30 for this - and could have bought Kirk & Sweeny (12 year - my new old reliable) for a few bucks less. It's a few bucks more than Bacardi 8. It is a little more bland but perhaps easier to drink than Bacardi 8 (which has more distinctive flavors). I won't be buying another bottle for $30+ BUT if somebody offered it to me, I wouldn't make a face. I find the reviews on this to be among the most interesting (and perhaps puzzling) on the site. Recommend to try and see if you like but not if you have to spend $30+ for a bottle when you're old standby is sitting next to it on the shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

I'm confused as to why so many other ratings are so high for this rum. I purchased this rum due to the high marks on this website and I am left with a suspicion about the valitiy of some of these reviews.

Nose: Rubbing alcohol upfront with a hint of butterscotch, wood, and cumin spice with the cumin spice staying after the first drink.

Taste: alcohol burn and Turbinado Sugar and light oak with more alcohol burn on the finish.

This is a rum that has a prominent alcohol burn as opposed to a welcoming-ly smooth warmth in character that other rums I've purchased for less/equal money have given me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Sherry, molasses and wood, plus some spice and enough heat to remind you that it's an adult beverage. Delicious straight up, but I'm going to try it in many tiki cocktails now that the warm weather has arrived. If it's as versatile as I suspect, this rating will get bumped up to nine. It's good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Morwin from United States with 14 ratings

Being a screw top bottle from PR, I wasn't anticipating much. But to my surprise it was quite smooth, hits of smoke, mild fruit flavors, molasses and oak. I think I'll keep a bottle around. Very good for the price and one of the better PR rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The rum's aroma is a little intimidating. It has a rather strong alcohol odor making me think that it might be on the harsh side but upon tasting it I found it to be much tamer and smoother than the aroma seemed to indicate. It has a bit of initial sweetness with vanilla undertones which rapidly turns peppery. Quite the tongue tingler and at 86 proof it's a little stronger than the average rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

I read somewhere that they source their rum from Bacardi, which goes to show that it's all in the aging process. Full flavored, dry, spicy, cinnamon, leather and delicious!

edited to add sugar test results- 7g

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

A great mixer with coke and dark fruit juices. Its also really good by itself. Lots of Caramel and a light spice with a little bit of butterscotch and toasted wood

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rolf Derrer from Switzerland with 1 rating

One sip - Jesus Willy Christ - You could embrace the whole world.
What a tast! Simply the Best

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

It's harsh and not easy to drink by itself. Extra two points for an artisanal bottle.