Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
5
10
23
36
23
18

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a great rum. It comes of soft but that quickly changes into a strong smokey flavor. This is a great rum that reminds you what you are drinking. The smell is also great. I was lucky to find a store in town that had 2 bottles left. I may go get the other if it is still there.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Little Frank from United States with 6 ratings

This is NOT the sweet rum you might have been looking for; but it IS a good rum! Others have compared to drinking cognac, and I would have to agree. It has some bite and smokiness that both mellow with a single ice cube and a little time to breathe. This also opens up the other flavours and aromas to increase the complexity. Not my everyday favourite, but definitely a regular option when I want something a little different (but still great) to sip. And I have to say that even though it's a good deal (especially if you buy it in PR), I do think it's wasted in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Benjamin Obel Thomsen from Denmark with 1 rating

Didn't try many local rum while in PR, but this was the one til notice. Good flavour and colour, and lots of alcohol. Fairly good price as well.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

Great rum. I drink it like we drink rum back home in PR. Straight no ice or mix.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

This bottle has been a staple in my house since I was a kid. My dad loves it, I still love it. They haven't change the formula and it works good for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

Unique and complex flavors. Wonderful on the palate at.a GREAT price!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

Very well aged rum. Pleasent aroma and intense taste. Spice, sweet caramel, vainilla, oak, smooth and...43%abv. It is said the "cognac" of the Caribbean....I couldn't disagree. I like it neat, but adding a few drops of water soften this rum and oh boy...the real taste comes to play..and yes!...oranges. Always on my bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Greg goldstein from United States with 1 rating

A smooth rum that drinks similar to a cognac. Aged in a traditional cognac method. Heavy notes of vanillin and oak. A touch of petrol on the first sip, finishes with a sweetnes.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Sebweeze from United States with 1 rating

My family is from Puerto Rico and had always told me about this rum. I finally got a bottle and I'm not disappointed! Great stuff!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Very nice rum. Highly recommend enjoying this rum straight.