Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
5
10
23
36
23
18

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I have grown partial to this rum while visiting Puerto Rico and I have not tasted anything else like it anywhere. It's bursting with smokey caramel vanilla sweet spiceyness along with strong barrel flavor as expected from its name. It'a best with some ice IMO and it's caramel sweetness is noticeably more than Don Q Gran Anejo, Bacardi 8, or Mount Gay XO. It's less sweet then Diplomatico RE. Ive acquired a taste for this stuff but I can see some people maybe not liking it at first because kit has a unique barrely spice in the finish. This is the pride of PR right here and some locals wouldn't rate it anything but a 10. Update: still nothin else like it but as I've started to sip other fine rums w little to no ice, the flavor of this rum in that manner is strange and treated to reach a strong flavor that is half good and half acid reflux. I still have some things to figure out here as far as how they make this and how I feel about it now. Update2: I still really like it as a mixer and the added taste seems like a fakish caramel addition. Update3: just came back from PR this rum is fantastic with mixed drinks and even on the rocks but not the best sipper IMO

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a great rum. It comes of soft but that quickly changes into a strong smokey flavor. This is a great rum that reminds you what you are drinking. The smell is also great. I was lucky to find a store in town that had 2 bottles left. I may go get the other if it is still there.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by DevilsChariot from United States with 4 ratings

This is one of those rums that's a road mark on the journey of rum. No, not everyone will like it because you know from experience that if everyone likes it it's probably mediocre to dumb. This rum will not be mistaken. Like Smith & Cross, Lemon Hart or Appleton Estate this is one of the rums that outlines great rum. Now, I'm going to tell that this is not one of those aged 18 years in a Hungarian sherry cask slung in a sling of pure minks fur and sharks gut sinew rums. Those are a whole other thing. This a great rum because it's bold and flavorful by itself and it's good in mixed drinks and coke. It does it all.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by David Meyers from United States with 14 ratings

First had this rum in Puerto Rico. It was recommended by the bar tender. Ended up drinking quite a lot of the stuff. Really great rum and a really great memory

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kenny Rasschaert from Belgium with 4 ratings

Strong alcohol taste, heavy throat burn. Has some redeeming qualities though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

One of my all time favorites. Great taste smooth, nice color and great finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Christian from United States with 10 ratings

A golden hue of wood and citrus glory. Surprised me being that the bottle was nothing special. Be thirsty my friends

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by J. Pla from United States with 1 rating

This rum has great aroma that accentuates it's strong smokey flavor and is followed by hints of vanilla. It's versatile in its ability to be enjoyed neat, on the rocks or even in mixed drinks. As sipping rums go, an excellent value

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 46 ratings

Good smoky flavor, a bit strong alcohol finish not too sweet. Great for Cuba Libre or other mixing drinks however good to be enjoyed with ice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by btorbit from United States with 1 rating

This is the best rum in Puerto Rico period. The flavor is so full and it has a very distinct taste. The aging process that they use really shows how an aged rum enhances the smoothness.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

One of the best the island has to offer. A bit on the dry side, with a little bit of burn. I enjoyed it neat and also with a few ice cubes.