Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10
133 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
5
12
27
38
23
18

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

133 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Tannerjay21 (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

Had this rum in the Virgin Islands and immediately feel in love with it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hector from United States with 2 ratings

The brandy of rums. Very flavorful and aromatic. Best straight up.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dan B from United States with 1 rating

I was introduced to this true gem back when I was on the island "Professionally" in the early 1980's. Since then, whenever I have been asked about my favorite spirit, my unquestioned choice was "Ron Del Barrilito", though I've never found it successfully sold in the US. I've found a few bottles, but usually the two-star variety, and the taste was never as I'd remembered it.
Recently, visiting the island as a tourist, I picked up a few bottles. The taste was everything I remembered, and more. My only thought is that possibly the rum doesn't travel well, or that age may not be kind to it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

I'm in San Juan PR at Metropol and Roy said try it. It's very good. Light but not a white rum, dark but not dark. Best of both worlds. Very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Orion from United States with 20 ratings

Light amber color. Short legs. Nose brings some orange notes. You can taste some smokiness. Not too sweet. This is a light body rum that does not linger in your mouth for a long time. The after burn is mild and manageable. A good sipping rum from PR.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This is by far the best rum from PR I've tried. So smooth and clean. Just enough sweet. The good standard all other Puerto Rican rums should try to meet.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

This is my go to rum and has been for a while. Excellent with coke and can be enjoyed straight.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jonathan from Puerto Rico with 13 ratings

As far as Puerto Rican rums go, this is my favourite.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by David Hollander from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Barrilito Rum Superior Especial is een zeer milde rum, die gedurende 6 tot 10 jaar gerijpt heeft in eiken vaten. Deze rum wordt als sinds 1880 geproduceerd volgens hetzelfde recept.

Makkelijk puur te drinken.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

This is a truly underrated rum. Excellent as a sipping or to mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

Hits you abrasive out of the gate but quickly mellows to a smooth cane taste. Not very complex but taste great with coke & lime. Not very appealing without coke. Can be drunk on the rocks.