Posting your rating...
Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star rum

Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Puerto Rico | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron del Barrilito 3 Star rum is produced in Bayamón Puerto Rico by the Fernández family, which has been producing rum in the area since 1804, making it the oldest rum manufacturer in Puerto Rico. The rum is first blended and then aged for a minimum of 6 years.

A single barrel of Ron del Barrilito rum was set aside in 1942 called the 'Freedom Barrel.' When Puerto Rico gains its independence the Freedom Barrel will be opened in the Bayamón town square for all to share.

7.3/10
139 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
2
5
14
28
39
25
19

Rate Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

139 Ron Del Barrilito 3 Star ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

A little astringent at first, so I like to let it mellow out with an ice cube and breath a little. I think it helps bring out the natural sugar flavor on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by joey from United States with 2 ratings

Do you love the smell of rum when you first crack the top? If yes, this is the greatest smelling rum, in my opinion, not to mention my favorite tasting rum of all. Whenever I leave Puerto Rico I make sure to stock up. I know of one place in Brooklyn NY to find this Gem. If you love full body with the aroma of aged rum, then this is your rum. Try it with a splash, and I mean tiny splash of orange juice, it's so smooth. 3 stars is the way to go but, 2 stars doesn't too short. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

Love this Rum is pretty smooth and tasty. Love the caramel color of this Rum and love the oak flavor that it has. One of my favorite Puerto Rican rums!!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Bob from United States with 1 rating

Before a recent trip to PR was only familiar with Bacardi, Don Q, Captain Morgan and a few other more mainstream rums. this was an eye-opener. Looking forward to leveraging this site to learn about and taste more widely...

Small 20190802 080001  2

Posted over 5 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

I typically drink my rum on the rocks, but Ron del Barrilito. I do like it as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by barkeater from United States with 8 ratings

What a complete rum. Rich amber in color. It has a full flavor of vanilla and spices with a luxurious sweetness followed by a smooth and long finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Goldtyger from United States with 11 ratings

Popular but still a rum to drink with other beverages if you want to sip by itself you have to go somewhere else

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hector from United States with 2 ratings

The brandy of rums. Very flavorful and aromatic. Best straight up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Dan B from United States with 1 rating

I was introduced to this true gem back when I was on the island "Professionally" in the early 1980's. Since then, whenever I have been asked about my favorite spirit, my unquestioned choice was "Ron Del Barrilito", though I've never found it successfully sold in the US. I've found a few bottles, but usually the two-star variety, and the taste was never as I'd remembered it.
Recently, visiting the island as a tourist, I picked up a few bottles. The taste was everything I remembered, and more. My only thought is that possibly the rum doesn't travel well, or that age may not be kind to it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

My buddy got this in PR. Solid lead, finish’s hard.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Orion from United States with 20 ratings

Light amber color. Short legs. Nose brings some orange notes. You can taste some smokiness. Not too sweet. This is a light body rum that does not linger in your mouth for a long time. The after burn is mild and manageable. A good sipping rum from PR.