Posting your rating...
Blackheart Premium Spiced rum

Rate Blackheart Premium Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


53 Blackheart Premium Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

I had very low expectations considering the price (750 ml + four glasses for $9.99). It really wasn't that bad. It was good either. Its definitely an option if you are looking for a cheap spiced rum to use as a mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Gee from United States with 1 rating

Blackheart rum really brings out the taste of the coke ... I feel like I'm drinking a Coke and Coke with a kick

Posted over 3 years ago by Ken Turner from United States with 1 rating

I really enjoy it mixed with Pepsi. The cost is also very low, a plus, for a retiree.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brantley from United States with 20 ratings

got this one time when i was broke and it came with free glasses and i loved it its stronger than captain and mixes well

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 2 ratings

i liked it. got a bottle for $14.99 vs. $21.99 for sailor jerry, thought it was just as good, had it in ginger ale

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Junk rum, bought in bulk and flavored with chemicals. I don't know who is more dangerous, the people who make this crap or the people who review it without irony as if it were a quality product. Gak.

Posted over 5 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

Another review from my blog...edited for length and content and formatted to fit your screen...

The black cherry and vanilla so many reviewers went on and on about is not very strong at all when sipped. This rum is far from overly sweet. Is Blackheart sweet? Yes there is some sweetness. There are some very cherry notes hiding in the mix. The cherry is more noticeable when mixed with cola than sipped on the rocks. The spices in Blackheart are fairly subdued. There is no peppery heat to speak off. It comes out very Dr Pepperish on it’s own and even more when mixed with cola. i like to do my tasting neat or on the rocks and that is mainly what i am doing with Blackheart. There is a little bitterness lingering in the finish along with a subtle vanilla taste. Afterall Blackheart IS 93 proof! At the same time there really isn’t much burn at all. Honestly there is surprisingly little burn considering Blackheart is 46.5% alcohol.

I think Blackheart is okay as a sipper but nothing special. It is good though. Blackheart shines in any version of a rum and Coke. Because of the bitter tail i would avoid Diet Pepsi with Blackheart Spiced Rum. Stick to the regular non diet versions of your favorite cola with this rum. Blackheart is an ok sipper but there are far better….and FAR worse. Mixed with Coke Blackheart is stellar!

In the end i’ll leave you with these wise words in regards to Blackheart Spiced Rum “I’m a pepper,he’s a pepper, she’s a pepper,we’re a pepper, wouldn’t you like to be a pepper too?” Come on, sing along!

Posted over 7 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

Strong, sweet vanilla taste... more like a coconut rum. Great with pineapple juice. Not a high end brand, but the bottle art is rad. A fun rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wolfsgeist from United States with 6 ratings

I gave this one away. To me it tasted too much like syrup. I couldn't find the taste or flavor of this rum at all. I couldn't even drink it to get drunk.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russell M Singleton from United States with 1 rating

I have drank just about all of the popular rums you can buy in the US, this is one of my favorites. I prefer it with cola. Kraken is probably my favorite, but at nearly half the price and 93 proof, it's hard to beat. I love the cherry flavor. It lasts longer too because of the intense flavor and the proof, you don't have to use as much.

Posted about 4 years ago by vicki from United States with 1 rating

My husband has always been a rum drinker,me,not so much. My go to has always been beer. He begged me to try his new flavor (Blackheart) while I knew I wasn't going to like it anymore than any other rum I WAS WRONG. Now I always choose Blackheart. We choose to mix it with Caffeine Free Diet Pepsi and it really brings out the cherry flavor. Also with Gatorade in the summer is quite tasty. We have gotten a few friends hooked that absolutely love this rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

93 proof drink to get drunk. Nice female pirate on the label. Mix it with something. A little harsh on the tongue.

Posted over 4 years ago by RandyN from United States with 5 ratings

I put this in the same category as sailor jerry and the captain. Good mixer…has a bit more of a cherry aftertaste than Captain Morgan

Posted over 5 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

Being a rum lover and more so with Spiced Rum. I was abit unsure about Blackheart. Its priced in my area at around 17 dollars bit have to admit the packaging is attractive. Featuring a pirate lass just asking you to taste her rum. So of course I had to indulge. The aroma is to me strong and lasting. With a combination one comes to expect with spiced rum. When i swirled it in my glass it showcased some nice legs. Then upon first taste i was a bit unprepared by how much I enjoyed it

Posted almost 6 years ago by lmolinajr from United States with 17 ratings

This is great with coke...a nice vanilla and to me i taste a sweet cherry flavor.

Posted 5 days ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 17 ratings

Smells and taste like Christmas sugar cookies to me. It’s sweet, has a little mouth burn, but not going down. I get vanilla sugar cookies with my taste and smell. Pretty good and really a good value for the price.

Posted about 2 months ago by mako526 from United States with 7 ratings

artificial cherry flavor. So overpowering it should be called cherry spiced rum. That being said, all in all tastes very good still. Taste rounds out nicely. Very cheap stuff so it’s good for the price. Strong alcohol content. I think it would go great with coke.

Posted 2 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

Then this is the bottle I grab best served as a mixer rum for orange juice, pineapple and other based cocktails.

Posted 3 months ago by LordImmaFord from United States with 13 ratings

Bought this on a whim when I started my journey of rum tasting. It exceeded my hopes as I grabbed bottles that looked like they were bottom of the barrel. I would keep this as a mixer for all the people that mildly annoyed me who came to visit.

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

This one tastes like cherry liquor. Honestly, it doesn't resemble rum. Would probably shine in Coke (if you like cherry Coke), but isn't anything like rum.

Posted 7 months ago by milf1004 from United States with 1 rating

i am a absolute 90 proof drinker. it cuts close to Sailor Jerry.. but better!

Posted 7 months ago by Gregdeboer2019 from United States with 13 ratings

Ok, so for starters I was informed that Blackheart was distilled in Puerto Rico which is contrary to my friends here indicate. In doing a small amount of investigation my sources in Puerto Rico seemed to be correct on its origins.
Blackheart is supposedly distilled at the distillery where Captain Morgan was made until it moved to one of the other Caribbean islands.
This is a very fine spiced rum that has notes of vanilla and is smooth tasting. Great for Cuba Libre.
I’ve noticed like several other Puerto Rican rum distillers their prices have increased since Hurricane Maria. Honestly I’d have to admit that it tastes much better that the price I paid 2 years ago.
Definitely recommend.

Posted 7 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

Kind of like sailor jerry mixed with a little blackness in my heart

Posted 8 months ago by robert from United States with 1 rating

Very smooth, great with Coke and lime. Love the Pirate girl!

Posted about 1 year ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

I absolutely love this rum - straight or mixed. The subtle, but noticeable cherry finish is the most noteworthy characteristic of this rum, which I believe is why it pairs so well with coke (as it makes it a cherry coke ; mix it with a cherry coke and the cherry flavors are robust and smooth). It's not very expensive, it tastes great and is stronger than many upper shelf rums. This is truly a diamond in the rough.




#