Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario rum

Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.8/10 (85 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
15
15
29
18
6

Rate Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


85 Barcelo Imperial Premium Blend 30 Aniversario ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

In my opinion this is not worth the $100. The 21 Anniversary was better in flavor. The packaging and presentation is impeccable, but only slightly smoother than regular Imperial. I had two bottles of this one o bought the other was a gift. Can be enjoyed Neat. Keep in mind this is not a 30 year old Rum it celebrates a 30 year anniversary.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is my 300th rating on RumRatings (I've rated rums from the exquisite to the vile) so I'm taking the opportunity to rate a very special rum I purchased several months ago. To get me in the mood, I'm listening to Bahamian music via http://www.portnassauwebcam.com/ (you can also listen to the music directly from the radio station at https://www.bahamianornuttin.com/) and watching live video of the Port of Nassau.

Now let's begin...

First off, this rum has a rich mahogany turning to an amber on the edges. Swirling the rum in my snifter reveals excellent legs. The aroma is fantastic. It's flavor is complex with an oakiness from tannins and I get the taste of vanilla, toffee, spicy pepper, black cherry, and a slight wine flavor. It has a bit of a bite to it due to the 43% ABV (86 proof) but the burn fades quickly leaving a finish of the oak tannins as well as the vanilla & toffee. This an awesome rum that I believe would be appreciated by those who enjoy bourbon as well as hardcore rum aficionados. Each bottle is hand-numbered. My bottle is # 2072 and was bottled in 2014. This rum is pricey but worth it and should only be consumed on special occasions. Like a 300th rating.

Now I'm going to kick back with another snifter of the rum while listening to Bahamian music. Have a good night, folks.

[NOTE: To those who ask why I don't rate it a 10. Well to me, a 10 means a PERFECT rum and I do not believe such a rum exists. The late, great Vince Lombardi once said, “Gentlemen, we will chase perfection, and we will chase it relentlessly, knowing all the while we can never attain it. But along the way, we shall catch excellence.” And that sums up my personal philosophy for rum.]

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

It's the logical continuation of the barcelo onyx, more intensive.
Still mild, but with 43% of course heavier. The taste reminds me of brandy brauche of grape seeds.
The younger Barcelo Imperial is balanced but a little bit watery compared with the 30th.
Because of the higher abv and more maturation it has more intensive aromas.

Nose starts like a brandy with black tea, grape seeds, burned sugar and grains. Then wood and some dry orange peels with pepper in the background. Intensive nose for 43%.
The taste starts like a cognack with black tea (peach flavored), then grape seeds with some bitter notes, dry fruits and caramel. In the middle I get hazelnut mixed with honey and again grape seeds.
Some wood is also there in form of paper and at the end also orange peels, wood and tannins.
This is a good and intensive taste, there are some other rums that contains this flavors. Maybe like a blend of Reunion with Doorlys 14.
The grape seeds are very dominant and reminds me of cognack.
Would rate it with 87 points. It's great and intensive for just 43%

Nose: black tea, grape seeds, hazelnut, burned sugar, caramel, some earth, wood, dry fruits, some pepper
Taste: cold black tea, paper, grape seeds, dry fruits, caramel
Middle: some tannins, hazelnut with honey, dry fruits (raisins), barrel/wood, some tannins
Finish: spice, paper/wood, grape seeds, cold black tea with peach flavor, dry fruits

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (65€): 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 449 ratings

I'm surprised at the low score of this rum (only 7.6 as of this review). If I were to guess why the score is low, I'd say it's either because this is a little strong for some at 43%, or they're mixing it with something like coke. But this works great straight for me; it would pair well with a fine cigar.

Has a very nice smell and taste of caramel, vanilla, spice, and honey. I read this was aged in Sauternes barrels, and I can see that contributing to the sweet taste.

I really like this rum; I'm glad I bought a bottle!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by James Cove from United States with 7 ratings

I was actually quite shocked when I tried this, having tried a majority of high end rums this one just didn't do it for me. Way too harsh, just taking a sip felt like a shot of jameson! Aftertaste is not as pleasant and long lasting as other rums aged that long. However the price is OK and the presentation is very nice. Overall I'd say keep one in your bar collection and don't bother opening the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I was hoping for a big surprise with a fancy bottle and case but for a 30 year old I was disappointed. It has a kick to it but I rather pay a cheaper price for a better taste. Just because it is more expensive doesn’t mean it will taste great. A lot of fancy bottling but just doesn’t get it. Maybe it has been sitting in the wrong barrel or something.

I bought it because a Total Wine and Spirits gave it a high rating. I will finish it but won’t give it away for a Christmas gift.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

The package that this rum comes in is high class and good looking. A beautiful bottle that comes with a small wooden stand.

On the nose you get sweet aromas of vanilla, toffee, roasted nuts and spice. At first you sense some sticky alcohol but when the rum have been resting for a while in the glass you get the nice and sweet aromas.

In mouth you taste dried fruit, chocolate, oak and some spice. This rum is a bit harsh with some bite from the alcohol. The aftertaste is long and spicy with some oak, vanilla and chocolate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

This rum isn't 30 years old as many think. it is like 12ish. It's just a limited version and carefully blended, aged a few years after normal procedure in french sweet wine casks i think. But anyway, a very nice one if you don't need to do maths. You get 4-5 bottles of Barcelo Imperial ...and its not 5times better

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 424 ratings

La inceput am crezut ca este un rom de 30 de ani dar nu este. Dupa aspectul sticlei te astepti la un super rom dar din pacate e mult sub asteptari, nu e rau dar nici bun. La banii aia orice alternativa e mai buna.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Tabacco, chocolate with dried fruit.Coffee and leather notes. A very long aftertaste, this rum was formated for cigar lovers. Complex but not enough for me. Real rate : 8.5

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

I think it is a very good rum. Maybe over aged. I don´t believe the aging is actually doing any better here. I would just bottle it earlier and sell it cheaper. Would consider buying again but at a lower price.