Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


47 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Edgar from Bulgaria with 1 rating

I drink rum straight, which is the only way to drink this rum.
The taste is beautiful with a bouquet of different aroma's. It is a litle bit too sweet, therfore not suitable for mixing, nevertheless a very good rum which is in my personal top 5 of most favorite rums!

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Very smooth, pretty sweet, It is a desert in a short glass.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

The rum has a ton of flavor, mostly sweet - vanilla, honey, butterscotch, making it completely unsuitable for the the ultimate iconic reference - the Hemingway Daiquiri. I picked it up only because someone had suggested the combination. I tried it. In a word - NO! I'll have to experiment, because at the moment I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I've figured that out, I may bump the review up a notch.

Posted almost 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yet another rum with added vanilla flavoring and sugar...and a large marketing budget. How many people bought this for the bottle and the color? Good grief.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Papas Dark and the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla, along with lime, almond, and oak. It's quite similar to the Papas Dark, but uses citrus rather than maple, and is 42%abv rather than 43% (I could actually notice the difference). Certainly a good rum, but I prefer the maple to the citrus.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. It's a blend of 3,5, and 7 year old rums, but has similar traits found in the much older Pilar Dark rum. This rum is not as sweet or complex as the Pilar dark. I can taste and smell Toffee, a lot of Honey and Maple, some citrus plus some lingering tastes and aromas from the Bourbon, Port, and Sherry casks used for aging this in.
It's a sipping rum in a pinch,and it does make a great mixer. If you find it, give it a try.

Posted about 2 months ago by Giordrum from United States with 6 ratings

I find myself enjoying a sweet rum every now and then. This one helps satisfy my sweet obsession. I don’t think it’s too sweet, but definitely not a true rum. I’m enjoying its tropically flavors.

Posted about 2 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 16 ratings

This is the worst rum I have ever had. If they labeled it as maple-flavored, it would be a different story, acceptable. Rum tastes like maple syrup, totally overwhelming taste. Glad I had bought two kinds of rum to try that night. Sipped neat, as always. Cool bottle must be the only way they fool people into buying this garbage.

Posted 4 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 17 ratings

It has a vanilla nose, but you can smell the alcohol, just don’t put you nose in the glass to far. Water opens it up a bit, but for the price point there’s many cheaper better alternatives. Diplomatico comes to mind as one that I’d rather spend my money on. This just has to much alcohol taste, even in soda. Now with that said, I like it when mixed with a dark Rum in tropical drinks. Actually picked up a pepper taste mixed with Faygo cola, a little black licorice note as well. The more this rum has been opened up, the more I like it. It’s very sweet so drinking it depends on your mood and what your pallet wants. It’s got a great Vanilla flavor and really would work as a dessert drink. I’ve had it with coke and it really makes the coke come alive with little alcohol taste. It may be my go to Blonde or white rum as it’s really grown on me.

Posted 5 months ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

A perfect light rum for my Mai Tai.
And we all know.... "Mai Tai - roa ae" "Out of this world - the best."

Posted 9 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This rum has fake maple, vanilla, and other sweet artificial flavors.

Posted about 1 year ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Tasty, it was nice to drink while staying in Key West, a good middle of the road rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by axillion from Sweden with 4 ratings

did get this in a bundle with the dark rum and its ok for drinks but thats all.

Posted over 1 year ago by Skeppner from Sweden with 1 rating

Like this taste Soft smooth.
It’s very sweet and balanced with a lingering finish of vanilla and sherried oak.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

The aged Papas Pilar rums were such a big disappointment, but man talk about the Blonde version. Its vile, even when mixed. You get this awful industrial strength odor through any soda you select.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy from Canada with 1 rating

I sampled this rum as the distillery in Key West. I was never a "hard" alcohol or mixed drink person. The dark was as expected...it was alcohol -- But the Blond was like nothing I had ever had. It's not infused, but has this vanilla/maple essence and it's so smooth. It's so good, I drink it straight over ice and would never dream of putting it in a mixed drink. This rum is one of my favourite reasons for returning to Key West.

Perfectly Smooth. No harsh BleuAhhhh!!! when it hits your taste buds or after you swallow.

Highly recommend.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce duo est vraiment très bon. Un odeur mélanger de cassonade et de caramel. Le 7 est moins sucré et plus fruité. Le 24 est caramélisé et épicé, la finale est longue et complexe. Je recommande a tous, merci à ma sœur.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

After my awful experience with Papa's Pilar Dark, I almost gave up on this company. However, after reading reviews from those who tried this Blonde as well as the Dark, I saw how mixed the opinions were on these very unique rums. I had no choice except to plunk down $27 for my bottle to form my own opinion.

The aroma is citrus and anise, but I tasted no anise on the palate, thank goodness. As a matter of fact, I tasted very little of anything on the palate, but going down the pipe is where those awful bitter Papa's Pilar tastes comes in from final aging in Spanish sherry casks. This after taste will make sure that it deserves no better than a 6 in my rating. I also seriously doubt that I will slowly learn to hate this one as I did with it's older Dark brother. I could come to love it, but I seriously doubt it.

This company also needs to learn a thing or two about taste and should consider hiring someone with good taste buds.The one that chooses the taste for their rums should clearly be fired since they have very poor judgement when it comes to rum. When a white rum is much better than their dark rum, this is a sure sign of trouble within. However, this stuff comes with a very nasty hangover the next day, so I dock it one point and won't buy any more from this company until they change tasters.

Posted about 2 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Pretty smooth and easy to drink but, there is not much to it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Very banana. Sweet. Smooth sipper. Found at $27. Great for that price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

I have the dark so I thought I’ll try
the Blonde both very good Blonde was better than I expected lots of
vanilla,toffee lots going on here.

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I had a choice of standard rum and this brand. I chose this brand. Normally I prefer the dark, but this is ok. Most restaurants and bars don’t carry this but I did find it at a new restaurant then they decided to get rid of it for the simple tasteless rums. When in doubt, try it.

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Tasty off-white rum that’s full of sweet molasses, vanilla and citrus on the nose. It’s creamy on the palate with flavors ranging from vanilla, coconut and key lime pie to almonds, pineapples and mangoes. It’s very sweet and balanced with a lingering finish of vanilla and sherried oak.




#