Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Papas Pilar Blonde

United States | Light

6.4/10
55 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
6
10
15
14
3
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

55 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

The rum has a ton of flavor, mostly sweet - vanilla, honey, butterscotch, making it completely unsuitable for the the ultimate iconic reference - the Hemingway Daiquiri. I picked it up only because someone had suggested the combination. I tried it. In a word - NO! I'll have to experiment, because at the moment I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I've figured that out, I may bump the review up a notch.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yet another rum with added vanilla flavoring and sugar...and a large marketing budget. How many people bought this for the bottle and the color? Good grief.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by carl from United States with 54 ratings

I have mostly stayed with dark aged rums. When a friend brought this over I didn’t expect to like it, but I was very surprised. It has a rich full flavor with a perfect amount of sweetness. It was great to sip with a bit of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Edgar from Bulgaria with 1 rating

I drink rum straight, which is the only way to drink this rum.
The taste is beautiful with a bouquet of different aroma's. It is a litle bit too sweet, therfore not suitable for mixing, nevertheless a very good rum which is in my personal top 5 of most favorite rums!

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele almost 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Very smooth, pretty sweet, It is a desert in a short glass.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Papas Dark and the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla, along with lime, almond, and oak. It's quite similar to the Papas Dark, but uses citrus rather than maple, and is 42%abv rather than 43% (I could actually notice the difference). Certainly a good rum, but I prefer the maple to the citrus.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. It's a blend of 3,5, and 7 year old rums, but has similar traits found in the much older Pilar Dark rum. This rum is not as sweet or complex as the Pilar dark. I can taste and smell Toffee, a lot of Honey and Maple, some citrus plus some lingering tastes and aromas from the Bourbon, Port, and Sherry casks used for aging this in.
It's a sipping rum in a pinch,and it does make a great mixer. If you find it, give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 69 ratings

It taste richer than it should meaning to many additives better than some gold's but not one of the best.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by jbruffian from United States with 8 ratings

Not as much coconut flavor as I was expecting. Have only tried this on ice and was pleased. Nice mild coconut flavor on the finish, with a nice little burn at the end.