Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Papas Pilar Blonde

United States | Light

6.6/10 (48 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
5
9
13
12
3
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


48 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Edgar from Bulgaria with 1 rating

I drink rum straight, which is the only way to drink this rum.
The taste is beautiful with a bouquet of different aroma's. It is a litle bit too sweet, therfore not suitable for mixing, nevertheless a very good rum which is in my personal top 5 of most favorite rums!

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Very smooth, pretty sweet, It is a desert in a short glass.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

The rum has a ton of flavor, mostly sweet - vanilla, honey, butterscotch, making it completely unsuitable for the the ultimate iconic reference - the Hemingway Daiquiri. I picked it up only because someone had suggested the combination. I tried it. In a word - NO! I'll have to experiment, because at the moment I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I've figured that out, I may bump the review up a notch.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yet another rum with added vanilla flavoring and sugar...and a large marketing budget. How many people bought this for the bottle and the color? Good grief.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Papas Dark and the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla, along with lime, almond, and oak. It's quite similar to the Papas Dark, but uses citrus rather than maple, and is 42%abv rather than 43% (I could actually notice the difference). Certainly a good rum, but I prefer the maple to the citrus.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. It's a blend of 3,5, and 7 year old rums, but has similar traits found in the much older Pilar Dark rum. This rum is not as sweet or complex as the Pilar dark. I can taste and smell Toffee, a lot of Honey and Maple, some citrus plus some lingering tastes and aromas from the Bourbon, Port, and Sherry casks used for aging this in.
It's a sipping rum in a pinch,and it does make a great mixer. If you find it, give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 118 ratings

Don't let the blonde fool you! This rum is full of flavor and sweetness, while staying smooth. Great warm or from the freezer.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Giordrum from United States with 6 ratings

I find myself enjoying a sweet rum every now and then. This one helps satisfy my sweet obsession. I don’t think it’s too sweet, but definitely not a true rum. I’m enjoying its tropically flavors.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 20 ratings

This is the worst rum I have ever had. If they labeled it as maple-flavored, it would be a different story, acceptable. Rum tastes like maple syrup, totally overwhelming taste. Glad I had bought two kinds of rum to try that night. Sipped neat, as always. Cool bottle must be the only way they fool people into buying this garbage.