Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Papas Pilar Blonde

United States | Light

6.4/10
54 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
5
10
15
14
3
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

54 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael Maguire from United States with 7 ratings

A little sweet for my taste. It has a fruit and a oak taste to it. Would make an excellent after dinner drink.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Tried at a Cuban restaurant, mixed with Coke. It paired well with dinner, but then there are few rums that don't. Enjoyed the vanilla flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by WhiteRumLover from United States with 1 rating

I like this rum as a mixer mostly. A smooth upfront bite, a slight hint of buttery flavor with a standard and gentle rum aftertaste.

I hate the bottle and can't stress enough that it is the worst design ever for an alcohol that is often used in small quantities for mixers. Virtually impossible to get a jigger without spilling it everywhere. Nothing a long science eyedropper couldn't fix.
Other than the bottle, I still recommend for the taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

A very sweet aroma. The first flavor that comes to mind is honey. Right out of the gate. Fairly smooth going down but has a quick bite that warms you up. Overall a good rum that isn't what I'm used to. I'm partial to spiced rums but I could see myself drinking much more of this. UPDATE: After letting the rum settle over some rocks, I've changed this from a 7 to an 8. Very smooth. The bite is completely gone and the only thing that remains is a mild, silky smooth, tasty adult beverage.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I know many people rate this as better than Papa's Pilar dark. I feel it's too harsh to be a sipping rum. So I rated it a 5. In fact, there really is nothing exceptional about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

For a clear rum this has been pretty good at mixing for my tastes. I only picked this one up because my wife does not like dark rum nor dark bourbons of any kind. She is mainly a vodka and tequila drinker. However after trying this rum in a mix she has been sold. The taste of this rum is very sweet and strong notes of vanilla. All in all a fairly decent rum for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike Gregory from United States with 9 ratings

This is my go to rum for mixing, very flavorful with all hints that are noted about it. I love the dark and blonde both.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kim from United States with 10 ratings

Lot of sugar and Vanilla this. Rum bottlers not distillers. Nice idea. Good marketing but the juice - ehh
Tried with Coke sweet...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A very good rum with a nice subtle flavor. I enjoy it in Coke Zeros. My wife tries rums straight and didn't find it objectionable but did not feel she would want to drink it straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Cool bottle and when it comes to thick base bottles that is a good indicator of quality. Dont ask me why or how but anytime a bottle has a thick base its usually pretty good. Opening this guy up smells like maple syrup with some vanilla maybe nuts such as walnuts, no alcohol smell. In the glencarin glass it kicks up the alcohol note and then the maple syrup type smell in the background. Drinking it straight is not the smoothest but boy is it a bold white/blonde rum. This has a flavor you don't mess around with but its too much heat to be really enjoyed straight. In the diet coke, it is a wonderful rum that is on a level of nothing I had before from whites. Its deep and complex with long lasting after taste. I can say a bunch of taste notes but I much rather say if you see it buy it.