Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Papas Pilar Blonde

United States | Light

6.4/10
54 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
5
10
15
14
3
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

A very sweet aroma. The first flavor that comes to mind is honey. Right out of the gate. Fairly smooth going down but has a quick bite that warms you up. Overall a good rum that isn't what I'm used to. I'm partial to spiced rums but I could see myself drinking much more of this. UPDATE: After letting the rum settle over some rocks, I've changed this from a 7 to an 8. Very smooth. The bite is completely gone and the only thing that remains is a mild, silky smooth, tasty adult beverage.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by axillion from Sweden with 4 ratings

did get this in a bundle with the dark rum and its ok for drinks but thats all.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Skeppner from Sweden with 1 rating

Like this taste Soft smooth.
It’s very sweet and balanced with a lingering finish of vanilla and sherried oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

The aged Papas Pilar rums were such a big disappointment, but man talk about the Blonde version. Its vile, even when mixed. You get this awful industrial strength odor through any soda you select.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from Canada with 1 rating

I sampled this rum as the distillery in Key West. I was never a "hard" alcohol or mixed drink person. The dark was as expected...it was alcohol -- But the Blond was like nothing I had ever had. It's not infused, but has this vanilla/maple essence and it's so smooth. It's so good, I drink it straight over ice and would never dream of putting it in a mixed drink. This rum is one of my favourite reasons for returning to Key West.

Perfectly Smooth. No harsh BleuAhhhh!!! when it hits your taste buds or after you swallow.

Highly recommend.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 191 ratings

Ce duo est vraiment très bon. Un odeur mélanger de cassonade et de caramel. Le 7 est moins sucré et plus fruité. Le 24 est caramélisé et épicé, la finale est longue et complexe. Je recommande a tous, merci à ma sœur.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

After my awful experience with Papa's Pilar Dark, I almost gave up on this company. However, after reading reviews from those who tried this Blonde as well as the Dark, I saw how mixed the opinions were on these very unique rums. I had no choice except to plunk down $27 for my bottle to form my own opinion.

The aroma is citrus and anise, but I tasted no anise on the palate, thank goodness. As a matter of fact, I tasted very little of anything on the palate, but going down the pipe is where those awful bitter Papa's Pilar tastes comes in from final aging in Spanish sherry casks. This after taste will make sure that it deserves no better than a 6 in my rating. I also seriously doubt that I will slowly learn to hate this one as I did with it's older Dark brother. I could come to love it, but I seriously doubt it.

This company also needs to learn a thing or two about taste and should consider hiring someone with good taste buds.The one that chooses the taste for their rums should clearly be fired since they have very poor judgement when it comes to rum. When a white rum is much better than their dark rum, this is a sure sign of trouble within. However, this stuff comes with a very nasty hangover the next day, so I dock it one point and won't buy any more from this company until they change tasters.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Pretty smooth and easy to drink but, there is not much to it.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 54 ratings

Very banana. Sweet. Smooth sipper. Found at $27. Great for that price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

I have the dark so I thought I’ll try
the Blonde both very good Blonde was better than I expected lots of
vanilla,toffee lots going on here.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

I had a choice of standard rum and this brand. I chose this brand. Normally I prefer the dark, but this is ok. Most restaurants and bars don’t carry this but I did find it at a new restaurant then they decided to get rid of it for the simple tasteless rums. When in doubt, try it.