Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Blonde rum

Papas Pilar Blonde

United States | Light

6.6/10 (48 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
5
9
13
12
3
1

Rate Papas Pilar Blonde

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


48 Papas Pilar Blonde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Like a 50/50 bar, orange and cream! Big on bright tropical fruit with a hint of oak. Bottled at 42% helps to cut the sugar, which there is plenty of but without being too cloying. $30 plus tax is a fair ticket if your into this kind of rum. Not really my thing and yet I have purchased this a few times now. For what the Pilar rums are regardless of additions and marketing, they are one of the few 'sweet' rums that I find interesting enough to return to every now and then. I like to think of them as a premixed rum cocktail! Neat or add ice and maybe a citrus twist... done.

Edd72a92566a2e0152f55f492aed3282.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 22 ratings

It has a vanilla nose, but you can smell the alcohol, just don’t put you nose in the glass to far. Water opens it up a bit, but for the price point there’s many cheaper better alternatives. Diplomatico comes to mind as one that I’d rather spend my money on. This just has to much alcohol taste, even in soda. Now with that said, I like it when mixed with a dark Rum in tropical drinks. Actually picked up a pepper taste mixed with Faygo cola, a little black licorice note as well. The more this rum has been opened up, the more I like it. It’s very sweet so drinking it depends on your mood and what your pallet wants. It’s got a great Vanilla flavor and really would work as a dessert drink. I’ve had it with coke and it really makes the coke come alive with little alcohol taste. It may be my go to Blonde or white rum as it’s really grown on me.

5e6afe6c00b216517f60cdc56ce8209a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

A perfect light rum for my Mai Tai.
And we all know.... "Mai Tai - roa ae" "Out of this world - the best."

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

This rum has fake maple, vanilla, and other sweet artificial flavors.

1f9109b9771787b73b081faa02d00535.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

Tasty, it was nice to drink while staying in Key West, a good middle of the road rum.

Dab267a8d5743db4222e48619db149ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by axillion from Sweden with 4 ratings

did get this in a bundle with the dark rum and its ok for drinks but thats all.

3d5ed387700c9e6c2453a5aca665bc16.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Skeppner from Sweden with 1 rating

Like this taste Soft smooth.
It’s very sweet and balanced with a lingering finish of vanilla and sherried oak.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

The aged Papas Pilar rums were such a big disappointment, but man talk about the Blonde version. Its vile, even when mixed. You get this awful industrial strength odor through any soda you select.

B600417fadfc229408688241a4c32a05.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Andy from Canada with 1 rating

I sampled this rum as the distillery in Key West. I was never a "hard" alcohol or mixed drink person. The dark was as expected...it was alcohol -- But the Blond was like nothing I had ever had. It's not infused, but has this vanilla/maple essence and it's so smooth. It's so good, I drink it straight over ice and would never dream of putting it in a mixed drink. This rum is one of my favourite reasons for returning to Key West.

Perfectly Smooth. No harsh BleuAhhhh!!! when it hits your taste buds or after you swallow.

Highly recommend.

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Ce duo est vraiment très bon. Un odeur mélanger de cassonade et de caramel. Le 7 est moins sucré et plus fruité. Le 24 est caramélisé et épicé, la finale est longue et complexe. Je recommande a tous, merci à ma sœur.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

After my awful experience with Papa's Pilar Dark, I almost gave up on this company. However, after reading reviews from those who tried this Blonde as well as the Dark, I saw how mixed the opinions were on these very unique rums. I had no choice except to plunk down $27 for my bottle to form my own opinion.

The aroma is citrus and anise, but I tasted no anise on the palate, thank goodness. As a matter of fact, I tasted very little of anything on the palate, but going down the pipe is where those awful bitter Papa's Pilar tastes comes in from final aging in Spanish sherry casks. This after taste will make sure that it deserves no better than a 6 in my rating. I also seriously doubt that I will slowly learn to hate this one as I did with it's older Dark brother. I could come to love it, but I seriously doubt it.

This company also needs to learn a thing or two about taste and should consider hiring someone with good taste buds.The one that chooses the taste for their rums should clearly be fired since they have very poor judgement when it comes to rum. When a white rum is much better than their dark rum, this is a sure sign of trouble within. However, this stuff comes with a very nasty hangover the next day, so I dock it one point and won't buy any more from this company until they change tasters.