Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I'm usually a sucker for solera aging, and buying this one was a good choice. My gosh, is the aroma rich! This is a pleaser for those that like their rums sweet (I would put it in the class of "dark" rums, like Gosling's or Blackwell), with plenty of complexity from oak aging (I get caramel, maple, sherry, oak, various fruits). The bottle is really nice too. I tend to prefer drier styles of rum, but this is great every once in a while, and the bottle looks amazing on the shelf. Recommended.

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sweet maple syrup aroma with medium alcohol scent. First sip gives a bit of an alcohol kick, which transitions to pepper, followed by a very distinct maple flavor. The alcohol bite covers some of the heavy sweetness. Found bitterness somewhere in the middle. Starts hard but goes down with that smooth maple. Drinking on the rocks as opposed to neat is where this rum shines. Almost requires a splash of water or some ice to defeat that strange bitterness flavor. Still very enjoyable, especially if maple is what gets your rocks off.

The bottle is quite sexy but hard to pour without spilling some. Easily remedied by licking the bottle after you pour yourself a glass.

Posted almost 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I was bowled over by this rum, that's all there is to it. it's pure heaven to sip or drink on the rocks. There is incredible complexity here, a wealth of lovely flavors from start to finish, and it looks simply gorgeous in the glass. Plus the marketing campaign behind it - including the beautifully-proportioned bottle - gives you plenty to expound upon with novices and aficionados alike. My question is this: is it rum? Created from a blend of rums from five different locations, using both pot and column stills, following by solera-type aging in no less than three types of cask...well, by the end, I wonder if they've lost the thread. Though in my mind superior to the two Dos Maderas products from Williams & Humbert, this rum similarly "steps over the line" when it comes to the heavy influence of wine-derivative flavors (port and sherry). So, if you are looking to experience the directions rum can take in the hands of people willing to explore new ground, this is one exciting rum. If, however, you are a traditionalist who prefers that rum hues close to its roots, with old techniques refined rather than avoided, you had best look elsewhere (like, perhaps, the Zafra 21 Reserve).

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

Fantastic. A great nose with all of the features you would expect from a very well made aged rum. If you are a lover of Ron Zacapa XO you will love this rum at a much lower price point. Very buttery across the tongue. Hints of all the good stuff. Molasses, vanilla, brown sugar, and toasted coconut at the finish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

When you think of Hemingway, you think of grit, leather, oak, strength, toughness, and character. All those things can be said about this rum. Its as complex as its namesake. With warm overtones of maple, caramel, and vanilla. Definitely a worthy of a long pour and a long night!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

Maple syrup. Smells and tastes like maple syrup. I like my rum neat or with ice, but this one is in limited amounts. It starts with maple syrup, then some vanilla, maple syrup, chocolate maybe?, maple syrup, some earth flavor from barrels, then comes to a close with warm throats and maple syrup. Too sweet for me, but I know a lot of people that love it when it is served because of its easy drinking sweetness.

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

One of the few, if even that, of the 'sweet' rums I purchase occasionaly. There is enough going on and it's smartly bottled at 43% Definitely helps to cut the sugar. Maybe the next bottle will tell me why I visit it from time to time.
I would say this fits the bill for someone who likes the 'commercial' sugary rums but wants to step it up a few notches. Or if your buying for a wide range of palates to enjoy, there is something in Pilar 24 for everyone.

Posted over 4 years ago by Al from United States with 1 rating

I drank the Limited Edition aged in Bourbon Barrels and I must say this is some good stuff. Nice dark brown color. The nose is carmel, vanilla,toffee and chocolate. It's a real easy sipper no bite or burn. I drank it neat out of a Glencairn glass. You will not be disappointed.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I'm fully prepared to like this rum a lot because it tastes delicious and looks great in the glass. But am I going to be shocked to learn that it's been Frankenstein'd with sugar, coloring, flavoring, additives and a ton of other stuff from the marketing department?

I really hope not.

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

this is so cloyingly fake maple syrup sweet that i really just cannot stomach it. if anyone wants the 85% of a bottle i have left stop over, you can take it with you.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Yeah, like everyone else is noting, there is a maply pang to this one that I think kind of confuses me. I wouldn't call it a good sipping rum, but it's not terrible either.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 8 ratings

I wanted to like this one. The thought of Hemingway and all that, but the maple flavor was over powering. Also a difficult bottle to pour.... maybe put it in a jug.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

The nose of vanilla and butterscotch are present on the nose and in the mouth. It's very sweet and dry. Smooth and has a delicious aftertaste. Amber color in glass, it's burn is very inspiring.. I just smile and want to take more sips. This is. Must have sipper in the collection. Reminds me of centenario 25, but with more complexity​. There is alot going on with this rum, I shall get to the bottom of it!.

Update 4/17/2017.

After tasting others the complexity and burn is just right. Excellent.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bill from United States with 2 ratings

Simply excellent. A super rum for sipping. Lots of taste and character. Will recommend to others.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

It's derivative wine barrel palate is too overwhelming. Not for the rum-public like us. A cynical product. I would suggest avoiding

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. half dry.
i smell coffee, some dark cherry notes, a bunch of caramel, vanilla and some nuts, i think pistachio. a little bit of banana and then the toffee is the lead note. mystical smell and fantastic aroma!
in the mouth the papas pilar seems to be very smooth and mild. with a little peak of harshness. some spice. caramel and pear. a hint of banana. round and balanced. mocha and dark caramel.
5/10 - add 5 points if its ok for you, if they put sugar in.
the rum is really great of taste. the mocha and caramel taste is overwhelming good! its a rum for a good end of the day! in the end it is sweetend, so i subtract 5 points.

Posted over 3 years ago by Denis from United States with 1 rating

Loads of dark brown sugar, caramel, vanilla, wood / wet tobacco notes in the nose of this rum. Smooth on the way down with little to no astringency.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 17 ratings

First impression is solid. Color is a nice caramel color. Aroma is sweet with nice maple notes. First sip had a strong alcohol burn. I was not happy so I let it sit and breathe for about 15 minutes. Boy did it change. Each sip was better than the last. Mildly sweet but complex in a good way. Everything I look for in an affordable top end sipping rum. Perfect with a single ice cube.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

This is not my favorite rum however it is a good one I keep in my cabinet. It is VERY sweet with strong maple notes. As other reviewers stated, it reminds me of some good old Sunday Maple Pancakes...with a kick. I only use this to mix with and sometimes on the rocks. Typically coke (or Dr Pepper) with amaretto and this rum. And/or sometimes to cook with. All in all, it's a good rum to have on your list.

Posted almost 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

The nose is really boozy, so much so that it would be off-putting if not for all the lovely components in it: dark molasses, brazil nut, some wormwood and faint maple. The maple scent comes out more in the glass, alongside a more mellow brown sugar. Taste is pleasantly sweet, but not overly so. You can definitely taste the bourbon influence, and a bit of the port. And that's really all the palate offers, even though it's not very specific. If I really had to name components, I would say burnt toffee, rancio and some raisin. The end brings out a definite character of maple syrup though, which is a bit different, and quite pleasant!
A bit of polishing all around (softer nose, smoother, more decipherable taste) and this would probably be perfect!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

Strong aroma, to the nose is a scent of vanilla and what can only be described as a sweet. Oddly enough that vanilla doesn't lasts on the palate though, the complexity kicks in and you get a honey and molasses after tone followed by a little kick. A lot are saying this is a good rum for mixing I would disagree, leave that to a less complex spirit.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off, the photos I've seen of this shows the lid having a cork. Mine is a screwtop so right off the bat I feel a bit gypped.

However...

This rum has a pronounced sweetness to it. A little too sweet IMHO. I think it would be better if that were toned down just a little bit. I prefer the Papa's Pilar blonde but this is a nice, smooth rum as well. Careful mixing it in rum punches and colas...the sweetness combination can be a bit overwhelming. I think this would, however, work quite well in coffee-based drinks. Definitely not a bad rum but could have been so much more.

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from United States with 1 rating

Good but a lot of vanilla. Almost would prefer it mixed.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla and maple, along with almond, some cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. Pretty good for sure, but may be borderline too sweet.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jim from United States with 10 ratings

I really liked this Rum. I was in a cigar bar and the first rum they gave me (with one big rock) was almost a flat ice tea. Then they gave me this one. Bam! My bad mood was turned right around! If you like that Caramel / Molasses / vanilla hints in a Rum this one has it. Very smooth! It is not my top favorite rum, but it is up there!