Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Papas Pilar Dark

United States | Aged

7.8/10 (146 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
10
25
49
43
8

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla and maple, along with almond, some cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. Pretty good for sure, but may be borderline too sweet.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sweet maple syrup aroma with medium alcohol scent. First sip gives a bit of an alcohol kick, which transitions to pepper, followed by a very distinct maple flavor. The alcohol bite covers some of the heavy sweetness. Found bitterness somewhere in the middle. Starts hard but goes down with that smooth maple. Drinking on the rocks as opposed to neat is where this rum shines. Almost requires a splash of water or some ice to defeat that strange bitterness flavor. Still very enjoyable, especially if maple is what gets your rocks off.

The bottle is quite sexy but hard to pour without spilling some. Easily remedied by licking the bottle after you pour yourself a glass.

C07365c264e4702a75d831ad5c46aac9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I was bowled over by this rum, that's all there is to it. it's pure heaven to sip or drink on the rocks. There is incredible complexity here, a wealth of lovely flavors from start to finish, and it looks simply gorgeous in the glass. Plus the marketing campaign behind it - including the beautifully-proportioned bottle - gives you plenty to expound upon with novices and aficionados alike. My question is this: is it rum? Created from a blend of rums from five different locations, using both pot and column stills, following by solera-type aging in no less than three types of cask...well, by the end, I wonder if they've lost the thread. Though in my mind superior to the two Dos Maderas products from Williams & Humbert, this rum similarly "steps over the line" when it comes to the heavy influence of wine-derivative flavors (port and sherry). So, if you are looking to experience the directions rum can take in the hands of people willing to explore new ground, this is one exciting rum. If, however, you are a traditionalist who prefers that rum hues close to its roots, with old techniques refined rather than avoided, you had best look elsewhere (like, perhaps, the Zafra 21 Reserve).

2a6e206ea8029f2e08e56101c107573e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

Fantastic. A great nose with all of the features you would expect from a very well made aged rum. If you are a lover of Ron Zacapa XO you will love this rum at a much lower price point. Very buttery across the tongue. Hints of all the good stuff. Molasses, vanilla, brown sugar, and toasted coconut at the finish.

85e61be69aa98bb61be8e9ea080b2564.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

When you think of Hemingway, you think of grit, leather, oak, strength, toughness, and character. All those things can be said about this rum. Its as complex as its namesake. With warm overtones of maple, caramel, and vanilla. Definitely a worthy of a long pour and a long night!

1f4570219d6d2d5eabff5d38f40d627b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

Maple syrup. Smells and tastes like maple syrup. I like my rum neat or with ice, but this one is in limited amounts. It starts with maple syrup, then some vanilla, maple syrup, chocolate maybe?, maple syrup, some earth flavor from barrels, then comes to a close with warm throats and maple syrup. Too sweet for me, but I know a lot of people that love it when it is served because of its easy drinking sweetness.

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

One of the few, if even that, of the 'sweet' rums I purchase occasionaly. There is enough going on and it's smartly bottled at 43% Definitely helps to cut the sugar. Maybe the next bottle will tell me why I visit it from time to time.
I would say this fits the bill for someone who likes the 'commercial' sugary rums but wants to step it up a few notches. Or if your buying for a wide range of palates to enjoy, there is something in Pilar 24 for everyone.

642e2335c2f7ee842f7f9ee5f3b77606.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Al from United States with 1 rating

I drank the Limited Edition aged in Bourbon Barrels and I must say this is some good stuff. Nice dark brown color. The nose is carmel, vanilla,toffee and chocolate. It's a real easy sipper no bite or burn. I drank it neat out of a Glencairn glass. You will not be disappointed.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I'm fully prepared to like this rum a lot because it tastes delicious and looks great in the glass. But am I going to be shocked to learn that it's been Frankenstein'd with sugar, coloring, flavoring, additives and a ton of other stuff from the marketing department?

I really hope not.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

this is so cloyingly fake maple syrup sweet that i really just cannot stomach it. if anyone wants the 85% of a bottle i have left stop over, you can take it with you.

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Yeah, like everyone else is noting, there is a maply pang to this one that I think kind of confuses me. I wouldn't call it a good sipping rum, but it's not terrible either.