Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Papas Pilar Dark

United States | Aged

7.8/10 (146 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
10
25
49
43
8

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Ce duo est vraiment très bon. Un odeur mélanger de cassonade et de caramel. Le 7 est moins sucré et plus fruité. Le 24 est caramélisé et épicé, la finale est longue et complexe. Je recommande a tous, merci à ma sœur.

B87e17f60f5135ab00a8ec5a84d265ef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by JamesScott from United States with 1 rating

Very nice. I smell butterscotch and vanilla. Excellent sipping rum.

714782fb5b224080c77473a6fbcad986.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert eisen from United States with 12 ratings

If you like sweet, which I do, you’re much better offer with Diplomatico RE

47bc0dd0c02607f7ceb7d52ff60142a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

Beautiful packaging and medium amber color preludes an awesome nose of maple sugar and molasses, followed by a jammy sweet mouthfeel, and finishing like a rich dessert

6636b563bb1760a62d7598d3dab39fba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Sweet, good, with a lot of coffee flavor and some chocolate. Wonderful to sit and sip on.

31cb2bd11a09b9c9b0178d294defd589.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Most everyone has already stated the obvious about the strong maple, and vanilla flavors, but the taste, to me, is different. Definitely caramel and molasses, and not to strong of an alcohol burn considering it's 43%. Definitely a repeat though!

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Hard to go wrong with this rum, as good or better than many at 2-3 times the price. Tried it at a sampling and had to buy the bottle. Rich in maple with great accents both in aroma and taste. Nothing wrong with this rum except I cannot get it in Oklahoma, have to order it.

5bf6f9476d01aff9a75a0987db8cbc87.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RattleNHum from United States with 2 ratings

Fantastic rum if you like really sweet rum. Lots of maple, and some vanilla and spices. I drink it on the rocks. I think it cools down the maple a little bit. Drink it neat, and the maple becomes a little overpowering. Comes in a very handsome bottle and being named after Hemingway’s boat is a great conversation piece.

3010dfd40996d0bb61216ee7276585c8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rgelvin from United States with 1 rating

This is the best run I’ve ever had. I love the maple butter flavor. Dark mixed with light is super smooth to sip. Love it!

4a9a0151f44f56e12296768f5003b610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

There definitely seems to be some spices and added flavors going on here. I’d be willing to bet on it. It’s very aromatic and instantly reminded me of a freshly baked pan of sticky buns.
In the mouth, initial sweetness with cinnamon, cardamom, maple, vanilla, molasses, burnt sugar and fruity notes like plums and dates flowing in.The heavily caramelized sugar reminds me of Cracker Jacks with hints of walnuts or other hard-crack nuts. A slight bitter-sweet undertone, with a delayed arrival, I suspected to be from barrel char but as the development continued, I believe it’s from something more adjunct. Then bam! ROOT BEER soda. Could I be crazy? Well, I had just made a batch of root beer sherbet the week prior so, the flavor was fresh in my mind. I went to my freezer, spoon in hand, for a quick sampling. Yep. Very similar notes. I’ve heard others refer to Dr. Pepper in their reviews but for me, it’s more like Root Beer.
Pilar Dark is complex and has various stages of arrival and development with a nice long finish and isn’t terribly thick or syrupy. I think if this rum wasn’t “slightly sweet”, it wouldn’t taste quite right with all that’s going on. I think the sweetness ties it all together. I like this rum but have doubts that is truly, just a an aged rum. The bottle presentation is nice to look at but completely impractical and rather a PITA to pour from.

1be4adae1f2a6e785267fd6ed3745b5d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 46 ratings

This was recommended to me by a bartender and I was skeptical but ended up really enjoying it.