Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Very sweet rum or is it a rhum, very easy drinking with very little alcohol bite. First impression was that it was a spiced rum but it is not supposed to be. Great rum if you want something sweet and easy drinking straight.

Posted about 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Beautiful color, sweet and vanilla. The blending and aging process are a little suspect to me, but it's definitely worth a try.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This is an Excellent Rum. From the moment you open it up you will notice that wonderful butterscotch, vanilla and caramel fragrance. The finish is one that lasts like a welfare recipient reaching for another check. Very well worth the money and I will always have this fine product in my cabinet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

Great Motto, and some great tasting Rum ! Sure it's sweet and maple flavored but straight up or on the rocks it never starts tasting bad or overbearing. Smoooooth all the way. Modeled after the real most interesting man in the world this is good stuff, the story and the packaging are outstanding. Even without a box would make a great gift. I wonder if it would fit in a real canteen belt holster ? This is going to look great on my bottle wall, I just wish the compass on the top was real. Watching the Super Bowl, but I'm not a spectator !

Posted over 4 years ago by John Lopez from United States with 1 rating

Very spicy and smoky very aromatic
Fine brandylike

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

Caramel, Vanilla, Molasses, Rasin, and oaky port. All swirled in a glass with this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by steve rector from United States with 11 ratings

Maybe I expected more as it was built up pretty high... Not a bad rum and I may have a different opinion of it 6 mos from now... Lots of vanilla which I am a fan of if im mixing. I dont spend this kind of money on mixers, gotta be a sipper at this price and I'm not sure at this point that its is...

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I gave it an 8 rating, but I'd give it a 7.5 if possible. It's tasty, smooth and flavorful. And that aroma,,, I recognize it, but simply can't place it. Quite simply, it does not smell like rum. Some people say "vanilla" and "maple" but I'm thinking it's more complex than that. In any case, I like it very much. I drink my rum straight, no ice. Smoothness is a huge factor for me, and this one is plenty smooth. But it is flavored and that takes away just a bit of desirability in my mind.

Pyrat rum (another flavored rum) is too strongly orange flavored. I won't ever purchase Pyrat again. Papa's Pilar Dark is a far better product, with just a nice hint of complex aroma and flavor. It will have a place in my rum cabinet. I did a direct comparison to Kaniche XO rum, and I still prefer the Kaniche, as the Kaniche is a pure rum, without added flavor.

Posted over 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

Great tasting rum and it's incredibly smooth. You can drink this straight and it's like candy

Posted over 4 years ago by Hari from United States with 11 ratings

I am new to quality rum. Having recently sampled several high dollar rums in the Caymans I have started drinking it more and more, straight on the rocks! I searched for the ones I sampled down there, Ron Zacappa, El Dorado, Havana Club (which I can't get here)... I bought this one simply because of the bottle. Beautiful presentation. Then I opened it! Wow! There is so much there! Vanilla and maple jump out. This is more complex than some spiced rums I've had. I would highly recommend that you try this rum! A few ice cubes in a mini snifter glass....... You will NOT be disappointed!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Deliciously rich. Heavy with notes of caramel, heavy maple palate,butterscotch, vanilla, spice, and wood. Finishing with a slight licorice taste as it completes itself with a mouthful of chocolate and mint.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

8.5
This is a really unique rum and I like how its bottle is unique to compliment it. Opening it you smell straight up cask brown sugar and maple. It smells like it can go on pancakes to be honest. Sipping it straight it seems like it was meant to go on pancakes. The entry is like brugal's line of rums. Oak-woodsy taste then opens up with the brown sugar and its very pleasant, usually most rums make a mistake of too sweet or not existent. This is just a great balance. Then finally the maple sugar kicks in for a long long time till its end. Extremely smooth rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

one of my go to rums for sipping. Smooth, semi-sweet.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Henrik Krogh from Denmark with 26 ratings

Smuk mørk og klar i farven. Balanceret smag af brun sukker og ahornsirup. Ikke så sød som Ron Zacapa. Utrolig flot flaske. Købes igen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

This rum has a smooth drinkability. It is semi-sweet as a rum should be. The flavor of maple and brown sugar mix well. Wow the more I drink the more I like!

Posted about 5 years ago by Darren from United States with 7 ratings

Not to sweet love it.. has a great after taste, with a good strong but smooth flavor

Posted about 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Picked up a bottle of Papas Pilar Dark Rum on my "Bootleggers" trip from Pennsylvania into Maryland and Delaware. Very smooth and tasty rum to sip and I agree with other raters it has a maple taste finish. EDIT: after a few more nights of sipping, I've upped my score to an 8 for Papas. A very good sipping rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

After much searching, I was finally able to find Papa's Pilar in New Jersey. For me it was worth the wait. I prefer a cork opening instead of the screw top with chain, but that does not detract from the quality of this rum. Mild flavors of maple and vanilla make this a very smooth rum, and the 43% alcohol provides a warming, pleasant burn going down.

Posted about 5 years ago by J W Norris from United States with 1 rating

Hints of brown sugar and dark molasses. Slight richness & sweetness from the superb mix of several rums. Wonder to sip or on the rocks. Wit would last a little longer if the neck were a little smaller.

Posted over 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Great sipper. Smooth and complex. Hints of coffee and chocolate.

Posted over 5 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

i liked this rum. I got heavy caramel notes. A sweet rum with a cool bottle.

Posted over 5 years ago by Yuichiro Shimura from Japan with 5 ratings

Strong taste of vanilla comes first and sweetness comes later. Good rum for sweet rum lovers.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

Very dark sweet rich with molasses flavor and to me a hint if maple. This rum has a place on my top shelf.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 5 ratings

Dark color strong caramel scent not as smooth going down as I like but great complex flavors on the palate.