Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce duo est vraiment très bon. Un odeur mélanger de cassonade et de caramel. Le 7 est moins sucré et plus fruité. Le 24 est caramélisé et épicé, la finale est longue et complexe. Je recommande a tous, merci à ma sœur.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Neil from United States with 1 rating

Slightly on the sweet side. The taste of molasses is present. Very smooth.Love the name and the bottle!

Posted about 3 years ago by Wrongrider from United States with 18 ratings

Just a touch of burn as you sip it but the maple finish is amazing. I love the design of the bottle especially the cap. I enjoy sharing rums for the first time with my friends and this is one that holds their golden standard.

Posted about 3 years ago by Eddy from United States with 2 ratings

I'm fairly new to sipping rums, but this is by far my favorite. It is smooth with hints of butterscotch.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jannino from United States with 23 ratings

Nice dark amber color. First impressions is a strong caramel aroma. This rum was very smooth with a nice chocolate taste.

Posted about 3 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

I'm a fan of Hemmingway, love the kanteen bottle to pay tribute to his time as a soldier, the lion on the seal to signify the old man, the compass for his love of travel/sailing and the great presentation. Excellent tribute to the man himself with a great slogan "never a spectator!"
Now beyond the marketing - this rum is sweeter but, not too sweet. It is excellent tasting when neat and I don't think I'll be mixing any of it. Very complex nose that has strong molasses and fruit aroma. It goes down smooth and warm and has a wonderful finish that complements the nose.

Posted about 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

I discovered it one day and went back to buy more of it two days later and they had sold out. Happy to say I found two more bottles at another location to take home. I paid about $37 US each and it was well worth it.

Posted about 3 years ago by James from United States with 1 rating

A great rum no matter what your drinking for the night. A great craft cocktail, simply on the rocks, or a classic rum and coke.

While drinking on the rocks pairs well with a great cigar.

Posted about 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

I had this neat. Initial impression on the nose of vanilla and carmakizes sugar. Wonderful aroma. On the palette, as others have said there is a great butterymaple taste. Very smooth with little bite or burn. This isn't readily available at home so I may not get another chance at this one my time soon.

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

Very nice the maple and vanilla is prominent. The oak is not too strong and it is very sweet. Great price but it is a tad too sweet neat so some water drops help it calm down. After letting it sit for a little I got a spike of citrus like orange and a tinge of liquorice. Really interesting what a few minutes of air can do

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

I don't really get the coffee. Aroma is nice but, again, not my favorite.

Posted over 3 years ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

I washed ashore in Key West where this is made just down the street. After I read a review here that this can compare to Ron Zacapa XO, I had to give her a go. You can definitely taste the maple tones in this spirit. Don't expect a Zacapa XO, but definitely a nice and unique flavor.
UPDATE: Since the first review I think I have become a bit more of a purist and finding a deeper appreciation for more traditional spanish rums. I have guess I am over with these "candy-rums".

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Looking at the bottle you can tell a lot of time went into the creation of the bottle. From the elegant screw cap, to the pleasing shape of the bottle almost mimics a large military canteen. The rum is solera aged, and was the first solera aged rum I have ever tried. You pick up hints of villain and fruits in the mouth, and finishes extremely smooth with a sweet fruity aftertaste.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

1/2018
Update: Having spent quite a lot more time with this rum, my original impression has been proven correct. It's drinkable neat, but not very enjoyable. Worse still, when used it cocktails it imparts an artificial vanilla flavor that dominates the drink. I'll be trying to think of creative ways to use this up (Coke?). Also, the brand claims they don't add anything before blending and bottling, which means they're buying some super dosed-up juice and they just don't care that they're hawking bad rum. And this is bad rum. Sadly, people continue to be drawn in by the fancy packaging and marketing BS. Please avoid this brand; even if you enjoy syrupy spirits, there's far better stuff out there.

12/2016
The best thing about this rum is the brand story (connection with Hemingway, his boat, his army canteen, etc). After reading so many positive reviews, and being recommended this by a liquor store owner, I was very disappointed by a tasting. This is nearly the sweetest rum I've ever tried. The part-solera aging in a variety of barrels does produce a rum that is very smooth and complex (and reasonably priced for those with a sweet-tooth), but I have a hard time getting past the sugar and the overwhelming maple/vanilla flavor. If you like sweet, go for it. For my tastes, this is wildly unbalanced. Might be fun special-occasion pancake-topper, though...

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I've tasted it on several occasions; each has felt different. Today, it had a medicinal overtone that I didn't like. Other times, it's been more sweet and syrupy. Can't really nail down how I feel about it, which isn't really a good thing.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Was travelling through the US and went into this whole in the wall liquor store and came across the beautiful bottle. So I bought it on a whim not expecting much. Wow what a surprise the flavour is smooth and warm and really easy to drink

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

6.5 on my scale, but bottles aren't half full or empty here. Instead of molasses or oak, a nice port flavor given the barrels used. It works for me and I enjoyed. Others might not.

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick-James from Canada with 1 rating

From the 10ish rums I've tried this year (including such rums as Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, Kirk and Sweeney 18yr), this is my fave.

It is in no way similar to those mentioned. So far I find it somewhat unique. It drinks so well, it taste so good. I am in no way an expert, I drink it on 1-ice. It is flavored and tasty, strong and sweet, slightly changes flavors while drinking it, staying always very nice.

I've only got good words for this rum, different, and simply... good and tasty. Great find. Not your average rum taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by David from United States with 7 ratings

Im not sure how i feel about this . The maple punches you in the face and has a nice warming feeling going down . Its good , just not my go to .

Posted over 3 years ago by Brandon from United States with 8 ratings

A dark brown, sweet molasses, brown sugar, vanilla, surprise upon first sniff. Sweet tobacco? It tastes just like it smells. A very slight bite. Goes down smooth. Served room temperature.

Started with a sweet dark molasses taste before fading to a brown sugar. This rum feels like it should be warm. Maybe a homage to the pirates of old and a cool night by a fire. The after taste is semi sweet. The alcohol taste fades quite dramatically, leaving that brown sugar note behind. Very familiar.

The whole experience seems to have a vanilla shadow lingering. I could see this rum changing flavors depending on the persons mood.

EDIT: I had a second tasting tonight where I opened up the rum with a few drops of water. Heavy maple comes through. Almost too much. I've dropped the score a point due to it just being a little too rich. It's still a great rum however.

Posted over 3 years ago by Darrell from United States with 26 ratings

This rum is a wonderful, smooth treat. Very drinkable with a heavy hint of vanilla. It is semi-sweet as a rum should be. The flavor of maple and brown sugar mix well. I always try to have a couple on hand.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

I discovered the Papas brand about two years ago and fell in love. The first aroma is of vanilla/toffee, tobacco and banana. When swirled around with 1 ice cube it really comes alive. I really enjoy the flavor provided from aging it in the Spanish sherry casks.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It remind me of Zapaca 23 with a shorter finish and less balance. You get a little extra spice for the sherry aging. Good, but a little to sweet for drinking neat. It makes the best rum and coke I have had but its priced out of the mixing category.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mike Gregory from United States with 9 ratings

Very well tasting, price is great and the overall quality of this rum is superb.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wolfsgeist from United States with 6 ratings

I am relatively new to Rums. At first taste it was really dark and strong. After the first glass (straight no ice) I really came to appreciate how complex and warm this Rum is. Its sweet and has a vanilla after taste that isn't strong, its just there. I can't stand rums that taste like syrup and I don't feel that this does. When I mix this with Coke I don't feel like this overpowers or kills the overall taste. This is a solid Rum, great straight, or with Coke. I have done a couple of mixed drinks with it and LOVE the flavor that this brings to the drink.