Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Papas Pilar Dark

United States | Aged

7.8/10 (148 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
11
25
50
43
8

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


148 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 8 ratings

Exceptionally smooth and the hints of the spices really carryover into the flavor

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Willem from Netherlands with 15 ratings

Nice rum, too bad the bottle is empty. Have to go to Florida to get me another bottle

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Tried this rum in Key West and I can say that the version they serve is better than what you get at your liquor store. The regular market Pilar is produced for them in Jamaica I think, and is not nearly as good as the small batch you can get in KW.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

The Hemingway endorsement and the hokey packaging put me off at first, but this is my favorite rum so far, or perhaps tied with Diplomatico Reserva. It's got the vanilla and the caramel but with a smack of black pepper that's just wonderful.

I don't usually comment on packaging, but the little chain for the cap is just so cheesy and makes it difficult to open and close. Break it off immediately.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 132 ratings

Flavorful and complex. Exceedingly smooth. Definitely a maple presence but I really like maple. And there is so much more to this rum. Pepper and almond notes. Definite alcohol punch. Long brilliant finish with only a slight hint of burn. Very nice sipper. Even slightly better on the rocks. I have to admit the Hemingway association did intrigue me. "A life well lived" This is a rum well crafted and befitting the Hemingway legacy.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 36 ratings

Lovely smelling rum with strong maple note. Slight alcohol burn though pretty smooth. Dark brown color. Interesting bottle with screw top.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Maple flavor with a bit of an alcohol bite. The alcohol masks the sweetness at first but it shows up with a vengeance after the swallow.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 193 ratings

A rum with many spices, they give him it it's own character. Never found so many spices in another rum. It's very special for me.

Smell: Pepper, nutmeg, caramel, vanilla, orange, sweetness
Taste: Caramel, nutmeg, vanilla, spice, slight bitterness
Finish: long, warm, oil, vanilla, spices (pepper) in the aftertaste.

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (35€): 4/5

Solera, blend of carribean and north/south american rums
Barrels: Ex-Bourbon- and Ex-Sherry

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Very dark colour, fancy military bottle, sweet taste

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: USA
Aroma: Rozinky, čokoláda, ořechy (takže taková Studentská pečeť), ale k tomu se přidává propolis, cedr, připálený karamel, připálené rozinky z vánočky, lehce se objeví i polévkové koření a pepř. To celé je pak v sherry hávu. To sherry jsem měl v poznámkách při ochutnávce ještě předtím, než jsem si o tomto rumu zjistil něco víc. (87 b)
Chuť: V chuti kapky proti kašli, opálený sud, karamel, opět ty připeklé rozinky. (87 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: Číslici v názvu berte s velkou rezervou, jde o solera system z Floridy, kde se mísí rumy z Panamy, Venezuely, Dominikánské republiky a Barbadosu, jestli mám tedy správné informace. Některé zdroje uvádějí jen Střední Ameriku a Karibik. Zraje v sudech po bourbonu a portském, finiš pak v sudech po sherry. Poměrně svérázný rum, asi se nebude líbit každému, ale mě baví. Je osobitý a jediné, co mi snad něčím připomíná, je styl značky British Navy Pusser's Rum, a to těmi připálenými rozinkami.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Walrus from United States with 1 rating

I was stunned the first time I tasted this rum and its white sister in a delicious Pina colada! Best I ever had.
I then began exploring the rum's origins and bought several bottles of white and dark for sipping and mixing. Dark is definitely a sipper, especially with an ice cube.
It's got great aroma, little bite and goes down smooth. You can taste the brandy. This rum is unique and for daily use probably my fave.
To put my palate in perspective, I also enjoy Stiggins Plantation Pineapple Rum and Barcardi Gran Reserve Maestro and Appleton 30-Year Old. Detest Captain Morgan's.
I highly recommend trying one bottle, preferably dark - but the light rum is less intense though very tasty. So far, I have found nothing like it on the market.
Bottoms up!