Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4ab70413961dc2c516158133816c29d9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 8 ratings

Exceptionally smooth and the hints of the spices really carryover into the flavor

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off, the photos I've seen of this shows the lid having a cork. Mine is a screwtop so right off the bat I feel a bit gypped.

However...

This rum has a pronounced sweetness to it. A little too sweet IMHO. I think it would be better if that were toned down just a little bit. I prefer the Papa's Pilar blonde but this is a nice, smooth rum as well. Careful mixing it in rum punches and colas...the sweetness combination can be a bit overwhelming. I think this would, however, work quite well in coffee-based drinks. Definitely not a bad rum but could have been so much more.

5c9259beb54005ce4dae10651463da9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from United States with 1 rating

Good but a lot of vanilla. Almost would prefer it mixed.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

I found this to be a good rum, but like the Zaya, it's a little heavy on the added flavoring. This has a fair amount of vanilla and maple, along with almond, some cinnamon, and a touch of sherry. Pretty good for sure, but may be borderline too sweet.

4e558988726c067699bcac1506394fcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jim from United States with 10 ratings

I really liked this Rum. I was in a cigar bar and the first rum they gave me (with one big rock) was almost a flat ice tea. Then they gave me this one. Bam! My bad mood was turned right around! If you like that Caramel / Molasses / vanilla hints in a Rum this one has it. Very smooth! It is not my top favorite rum, but it is up there!

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum is a must have if you like a sweet rum. It's sweet with some complex flavors from the Port and Sherry casks, along with some strong vanilla and caramel, but the biggest flavor is the taste of dark Maple syrup which to this Canadian is awesome. The blend of rums in this bottle work very well. It has a bolder flavor than the Centenario 20 or the Maderas PX 5+5. It is a must have in any collection.

5736b98563126b5be6823bccebf3d250.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

vanilla is the first thing that hits you. Was more one dimensional then I thought it would be. Still pretty good though. visited this again, don't like it as much as I thought.

D1fc3e6d3bab30cdd1e51c10edea6867.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by SyreVeeks from United States with 5 ratings

This is a great Rum for a great price. Has a really sweet nose, notes of caramel and brown sugar. Very good sipping rum. Has a nice mouth feel, and finish. Just enough bite to know you're still drinking alcohol.

16c94ff2fb8c4753b4947cb9d31b10b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

This rum is easily found and priced right. This could easily be a 90 dollar bottle. Flavor, sweetness, almost savory. Great warm or from the freezer.

9e2e4ecfc3d632e1f32e9bcfb9f4f43b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Willem from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Nice rum, too bad the bottle is empty. Have to go to Florida to get me another bottle

F3a0e25924c350d0cf03600ecf63950a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Tried this rum in Key West and I can say that the version they serve is better than what you get at your liquor store. The regular market Pilar is produced for them in Jamaica I think, and is not nearly as good as the small batch you can get in KW.