Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Papas Pilar Dark

United States | Aged

7.8/10 (148 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
11
25
50
43
8

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


148 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 8 ratings

Exceptionally smooth and the hints of the spices really carryover into the flavor

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

Yeah, like everyone else is noting, there is a maply pang to this one that I think kind of confuses me. I wouldn't call it a good sipping rum, but it's not terrible either.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 8 ratings

I wanted to like this one. The thought of Hemingway and all that, but the maple flavor was over powering. Also a difficult bottle to pour.... maybe put it in a jug.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 39 ratings

The nose of vanilla and butterscotch are present on the nose and in the mouth. It's very sweet and dry. Smooth and has a delicious aftertaste. Amber color in glass, it's burn is very inspiring.. I just smile and want to take more sips. This is. Must have sipper in the collection. Reminds me of centenario 25, but with more complexity​. There is alot going on with this rum, I shall get to the bottom of it!.

Update 4/17/2017.

After tasting others the complexity and burn is just right. Excellent.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bill from United States with 2 ratings

Simply excellent. A super rum for sipping. Lots of taste and character. Will recommend to others.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. half dry.
i smell coffee, some dark cherry notes, a bunch of caramel, vanilla and some nuts, i think pistachio. a little bit of banana and then the toffee is the lead note. mystical smell and fantastic aroma!
in the mouth the papas pilar seems to be very smooth and mild. with a little peak of harshness. some spice. caramel and pear. a hint of banana. round and balanced. mocha and dark caramel.
5/10 - add 5 points if its ok for you, if they put sugar in.
the rum is really great of taste. the mocha and caramel taste is overwhelming good! its a rum for a good end of the day! in the end it is sweetend, so i subtract 5 points.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Denis from United States with 1 rating

Loads of dark brown sugar, caramel, vanilla, wood / wet tobacco notes in the nose of this rum. Smooth on the way down with little to no astringency.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 21 ratings

First impression is solid. Color is a nice caramel color. Aroma is sweet with nice maple notes. First sip had a strong alcohol burn. I was not happy so I let it sit and breathe for about 15 minutes. Boy did it change. Each sip was better than the last. Mildly sweet but complex in a good way. Everything I look for in an affordable top end sipping rum. Perfect with a single ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

This is not my favorite rum however it is a good one I keep in my cabinet. It is VERY sweet with strong maple notes. As other reviewers stated, it reminds me of some good old Sunday Maple Pancakes...with a kick. I only use this to mix with and sometimes on the rocks. Typically coke (or Dr Pepper) with amaretto and this rum. And/or sometimes to cook with. All in all, it's a good rum to have on your list.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

The nose is really boozy, so much so that it would be off-putting if not for all the lovely components in it: dark molasses, brazil nut, some wormwood and faint maple. The maple scent comes out more in the glass, alongside a more mellow brown sugar. Taste is pleasantly sweet, but not overly so. You can definitely taste the bourbon influence, and a bit of the port. And that's really all the palate offers, even though it's not very specific. If I really had to name components, I would say burnt toffee, rancio and some raisin. The end brings out a definite character of maple syrup though, which is a bit different, and quite pleasant!
A bit of polishing all around (softer nose, smoother, more decipherable taste) and this would probably be perfect!

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

Strong aroma, to the nose is a scent of vanilla and what can only be described as a sweet. Oddly enough that vanilla doesn't lasts on the palate though, the complexity kicks in and you get a honey and molasses after tone followed by a little kick. A lot are saying this is a good rum for mixing I would disagree, leave that to a less complex spirit.