Posting your rating...
Papas Pilar Dark rum

Rate Papas Pilar Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


146 Papas Pilar Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I gave it an 8 rating, but I'd give it a 7.5 if possible. It's tasty, smooth and flavorful. And that aroma,,, I recognize it, but simply can't place it. Quite simply, it does not smell like rum. Some people say "vanilla" and "maple" but I'm thinking it's more complex than that. In any case, I like it very much. I drink my rum straight, no ice. Smoothness is a huge factor for me, and this one is plenty smooth. But it is flavored and that takes away just a bit of desirability in my mind.

Pyrat rum (another flavored rum) is too strongly orange flavored. I won't ever purchase Pyrat again. Papa's Pilar Dark is a far better product, with just a nice hint of complex aroma and flavor. It will have a place in my rum cabinet. I did a direct comparison to Kaniche XO rum, and I still prefer the Kaniche, as the Kaniche is a pure rum, without added flavor.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum is a must have if you like a sweet rum. It's sweet with some complex flavors from the Port and Sherry casks, along with some strong vanilla and caramel, but the biggest flavor is the taste of dark Maple syrup which to this Canadian is awesome. The blend of rums in this bottle work very well. It has a bolder flavor than the Centenario 20 or the Maderas PX 5+5. It is a must have in any collection.

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

vanilla is the first thing that hits you. Was more one dimensional then I thought it would be. Still pretty good though. visited this again, don't like it as much as I thought.

Posted 5 days ago by SyreVeeks from United States with 4 ratings

This is a great Rum for a great price. Has a really sweet nose, notes of caramel and brown sugar. Very good sipping rum. Has a nice mouth feel, and finish. Just enough bite to know you're still drinking alcohol.

Posted 10 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

This rum is easily found and priced right. This could easily be a 90 dollar bottle. Flavor, sweetness, almost savory. Great warm or from the freezer.

Posted 14 days ago by Willem from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Nice rum, too bad the bottle is empty. Have to go to Florida to get me another bottle

Posted 29 days ago by jeffjp from United States with 6 ratings

Tried this rum in Key West and I can say that the version they serve is better than what you get at your liquor store. The regular market Pilar is produced for them in Jamaica I think, and is not nearly as good as the small batch you can get in KW.

Posted about 1 month ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

The Hemingway endorsement and the hokey packaging put me off at first, but this is my favorite rum so far, or perhaps tied with Diplomatico Reserva. It's got the vanilla and the caramel but with a smack of black pepper that's just wonderful.

I don't usually comment on packaging, but the little chain for the cap is just so cheesy and makes it difficult to open and close. Break it off immediately.

Posted about 2 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Flavorful and complex. Exceedingly smooth. Definitely a maple presence but I really like maple. And there is so much more to this rum. Pepper and almond notes. Definite alcohol punch. Long brilliant finish with only a slight hint of burn. Very nice sipper. Even slightly better on the rocks. I have to admit the Hemingway association did intrigue me. "A life well lived" This is a rum well crafted and befitting the Hemingway legacy.

Posted 3 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 29 ratings

Lovely smelling rum with strong maple note. Slight alcohol burn though pretty smooth. Dark brown color. Interesting bottle with screw top.

Posted 4 months ago by Robert from United States with 54 ratings

Maple flavor with a bit of an alcohol bite. The alcohol masks the sweetness at first but it shows up with a vengeance after the swallow.

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

A rum with many spices, they give him it it's own character.
Never found so many spices in another rum.

Smell: Pepper, nutmeg, caramel, vanilla, orange, sweetness
Taste: Caramel, nutmeg, vanilla, spice, slight bitterness
Finish: long, warm, oil, vanilla, spices (pepper) in the aftertaste.

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Solera, blend of carribean and north/south american rums
Barrels: Ex-Bourbon- and Ex-Sherry

Posted 5 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Very dark colour, fancy military bottle, sweet taste

Posted 5 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: USA
Aroma: Rozinky, čokoláda, ořechy (takže taková Studentská pečeť), ale k tomu se přidává propolis, cedr, připálený karamel, připálené rozinky z vánočky, lehce se objeví i polévkové koření a pepř. To celé je pak v sherry hávu. To sherry jsem měl v poznámkách při ochutnávce ještě předtím, než jsem si o tomto rumu zjistil něco víc. (87 b)
Chuť: V chuti kapky proti kašli, opálený sud, karamel, opět ty připeklé rozinky. (87 b)
Body: 87/100
Shrnutí: Číslici v názvu berte s velkou rezervou, jde o solera system z Floridy, kde se mísí rumy z Panamy, Venezuely, Dominikánské republiky a Barbadosu, jestli mám tedy správné informace. Některé zdroje uvádějí jen Střední Ameriku a Karibik. Zraje v sudech po bourbonu a portském, finiš pak v sudech po sherry. Poměrně svérázný rum, asi se nebude líbit každému, ale mě baví. Je osobitý a jediné, co mi snad něčím připomíná, je styl značky British Navy Pusser's Rum, a to těmi připálenými rozinkami.

Posted 5 months ago by Walrus from United States with 1 rating

I was stunned the first time I tasted this rum and its white sister in a delicious Pina colada! Best I ever had.
I then began exploring the rum's origins and bought several bottles of white and dark for sipping and mixing. Dark is definitely a sipper, especially with an ice cube.
It's got great aroma, little bite and goes down smooth. You can taste the brandy. This rum is unique and for daily use probably my fave.
To put my palate in perspective, I also enjoy Stiggins Plantation Pineapple Rum and Barcardi Gran Reserve Maestro and Appleton 30-Year Old. Detest Captain Morgan's.
I highly recommend trying one bottle, preferably dark - but the light rum is less intense though very tasty. So far, I have found nothing like it on the market.
Bottoms up!

Posted 8 months ago by Dave from United States with 8 ratings

Papas Pillar is one damn good rum.. I try a lot of different rums at different price points and feel this is an excellent rum. A little more expensive than I prefer to pay, but worth it. Goes great with a cigar!

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

I never knew Hemmingway, nor am I a super fan, but I can't imagine him drinking this. His loss.

Posted almost 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

Enjoyed some wonderful Barramundi with this. Smooth, rich - didn’t overpower the fish.

Posted about 1 year ago by Dave Talkington from United States with 4 ratings

This is one of the best rums I have purchased. The aroma alone is a treat for the senses. It reminds me of a hot Havana night in a little hole in the wall bar, the kind that the locals go to escape the tourists. The type of bar that smells of the sweat, leather, sugarcane, and honest toil.

As this sweet elixir rolls down the throat, it relaxes every part of your being. Like a sigh and after nap stretch for the whole body, it warms you like a wool blanket dried in a warm sunny summer breeze.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ron Tyaon from United States with 12 ratings

This is perfection for me. Deep color with sweetness, molasses, cola, vanilla and it is the smoothest. Wish it had better distribution near me in CT

Posted about 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Smooth maple overwhelms. Few other notes make it out. Too sweet for me. Just right for others.

Posted about 1 year ago by srosener from United States with 6 ratings

Delicious combo of caramel with a hint of black pepper. This is my go-to when I want to make sure I'm going to enjoy a glass. Super smooth and just sweet enough.

Posted about 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Time for Birka rum cruises 2019 at the Baltic Sea. This was one that I tested. Nice bottle and story around it. The 43% balance up the rather high sweetness quite good. It’s also quite complex and you can find leather, maple, vanilla, spices and oak for example. The person representing it told me that it was a blend from several different locations and that the rum included was between 4 25 years old if I remember right.

Posted about 1 year ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Mörk bärnstens färgad. Doftar sött, godis typ tuttifrutti eller nå. Bubble gym den rosa. Friskt godis fast något kemiskt. Påminner lite om Don Papa 10y, men denna är bättre. Inte lika söt som Don Papa som nästan är odrickbart söt. Men denna är också otroligt söt. Efter en stund i glaset känner jag nu lönnsirap som en del påstår, vanilj, kokos. Den växer en aning från 5 till 6 på 10 skakig. Nja denna går inte helt hem hos mig. Mjuk är den, otroligt mjuk men knappt någon eftersmak.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

I’ve tried all the Pilar rums. Non are my favorite. The bottle is beautiful, flask like playing in the Hemingway connection, but nearly impossible to pour without making a mess. The attached cork, wide mouth, and no neck make it gurgle and slop. The flavor in the pilar rums are confusing. The multi barrel aging creates a confusing palette. Too many flavors influences fighting for notice.