Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year rum

Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year

Barbados | Aged | 61.0% ABV

9.4/10
14 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
7

Rate Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Foursquare 2006 Redoutable 14-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Updating my ratings tonight after sampling some older Foursquare. Nobiliary, 2008, Detente and Redoutable, in reverse order. This one stays the same. Right off the bat this 14 year old full cask strength let’s you know it. Without any breathing this great rum packs a punch with lots of lingering flavors. In comparison Detente is much easier to drink. This one is much more special, a small cube of ice mellows it out to a superb taste. I’m not sure why Florida is lagging so far behind in new issues, have had to order the past offerings out of state.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CK from United States with 22 ratings

I bought this bottle as a little gift to myself for my birthday and this may be one of the best presents I ever had. This is what I always dreamed a rum should be. For a 122 proof there is almost no alcohol smell out of the bottle or in the glass. But it sure has some warmth and burn doing down the throat, but in a great way. Love the flavors and spices, especially the way it coats my tongue, and it has nice subtle sweetness. This is something special! I can't recommend this enough!

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 3 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 152 ratings

In overall FS deliver high standard and this is also one of them. I think it is a bit “sweet” compared to other FS and it doesn’t feel dry compared to other FS i have tasted. Quite pleasant thinking of high ABV 61. Nose i sense black tea, Orange and salty caramel. I taste sour notes, dried fruit, some pepper spices. One of the more interesting from the ECS series i think.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 445 ratings

Aroma is wooden and fruity - need some time to breath. Taste is nicely sweet (natural only) with tropical fruits and wood. After comes the burning and taste become more dry. Aftertaste is long and nice. The taste is similar to FQ 2008 but bit more burning. Another gem from FQ Exceptional Cask Serie 🤩 9.5 points.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 37 ratings

I prefer Foursquare’s aging in Bourbon casks + something casks. In this case it is Madeira. And it is an excelent combination. You will feel madeira there for sure.
Pleasant smell,light alcohol burn even it is 61%,medium aftertaste.
Our local dealer started to sell on Monday 18.1.Today ,Wensday 20.1. I wanted to order more bottles but everything is sold out.
P.S.
It is really 61% ?!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 53 ratings

I love Foursquare products for many reasons: They're delicious. They don’t use additives. They embody the true essence of rum distillation.

Redoubtable 14 year Madeira cask is an amazing expression in Foursquare’s lineup. It features ex bourbon and ex Madeira cask aging and a rich golden color.

On the nose, the high ABV is immediately noticeable, so letting this rum rest a bit is wise. After it settles, the sweetness of the Madeira mixed with the honey and molasses notes make me want to dive in and drink it. There’s a hint of pepper and some spice as well.

On the palate, the fruity and spice combine with sweetness and a strong burn that I enjoy. Definite honey and molasses notes linger as well as the pepper.

The finish is relatively short for a rum this strong. Most notable is the honey a cotton candy flavor that lingers in your nose.

Of the Foursquare products, this is in my top two, challenging Empery for top honors.

You can’t go wrong with this bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Woodjd20 from United States with 4 ratings

One of the best pours of my life! The taste is unbelievable. Worth every penny of the cost!

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 2 months ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 36 ratings

Tough job - I have to review an ECS Foursquare! Redoutable is a 14 year old rum aged in ex-bourbon and ex-madeira casks, and bottled in 2020 at an impressive 61%ABV.

On the nose there is that signature ripe strawberry note I get off cask strength Foursquare, pepper, a bit of alcohol followed by orange and sweet wine.

The palate is creamy, candied strawberry, orange, vanilla, oak and dry.

The finish is oak, almond and wine.

Another solid ECS!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

I'm an admitted Foursquare aficionado and more than that a fan of their fortified wine casks releases which have all been spectacular. To say I was looking forward to this one is an understatement.
Sweet cherries, oak, red wine, blackberries, plums(all the dark fruits!).
Smokey wood, lemon...WOW! Spectacular! At 61% you would think that it would be hot but is very drinkable. Made for me.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2741 ratings

Massive thanks to Rhum Attitude for providing a proper rum selection during global lockdown. Rum tasting continues onwards with Foursquare Redoutable. Typical high end Foursquare bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong tropical fruits mixed with plenty of oakiness to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Surprisingly smooth ending although it's 122 Proof. Much more deeper flavors when compared to Foursquare Detente.