Posting your rating...
Clement Select Barrel rum

Clement Select Barrel

Martinique | Aged

6.3/10
62 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
19
21
9

Rate Clement Select Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

62 Clement Select Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Sehr feiner würziger Agricole Rhum.
Erinnert im Duft an frisches Heu.
Im Mund setzt sich dieser Eindruck fort mit etwas süsser Holznote.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Sweetened reed with young banana and exotic duku skin that linger alongside the sourish and fragrant oak pine. Pleasing vanilla, toffee, warm oat and chocolate well boxed in an old cardboard. Retaining the precious rhum notes that just lurking on the nutty base. (88/22)

P- Spice up front, some honey sweetness and balanced. Released for mixing but I would also take this good quality up for pleasant sips. (86/20)

F- Medium-long, feel natural, clean and crisp. Toffee, toasted oak and soft tannin lingers for lasting impression. (87/21)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

Wood and grass on the nose. (The grass is very subdued compared to Clement's blancs.) A bit harsh at first—benefits greatly from >15 minutes breathing. This rhum is VERY dry on the palate. Comparisons with whiskey are easy to make. Still, fruity notes can be detected. It's amazing how much a rum can change with so little time in a barrel. (--update 10/26/17)

An interesting bottle; not too young, not too old. Though only slightly aged, it's a perfectly sippable counterpart to sweeter aged rums, and makes a fantastic Ti' Punch. Still, if you're deciding between this and one of Clement's older offerings (and you can spare the extra cash), I'd swing for the latter (or a blanc).

Overall, an excellent introduction to rhum agricole that won't leave you disappointed.

7, 7+

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I felt the taste profile on this was kind of like a cross between rum and bourbon. I like it. I feel this truly is a bourbon drinkers rum. Good neat and I can see it being good I some mixed drinks.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Had just a sample so this is just a first impression, but I will not hesitate to try it once again.
Clement is an Agricole that’s distilled from fermented fresh sugar cane juice at distillery Le Simon, where also HSE is distilled.
After distillation in a column still it’s aged at the Habitation Clement in specially selected heavily toasted barrels, according to their website.
Rhum Clement Select Barrel is a blend and aged for at least three years before bottled at the quite low ABV of 40%.
The aroma is quite weak, but pleasant. In mouth and in the palate it’s smooth and I recognize fruits, vanilla, grass and sugar cane. The finish is short to medium and smooth.
Overall it’s a very kind Agricole, maybe too kind.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by hugorollo from Sweden with 9 ratings

I just tasted a sample of this young Clement.
Kind of weak nose for an agricole, but the aroma you can smell is a nice mix of almonds and vanilla.
In the palate it is much better. It tastes of almonds, vanilla, grass and oak.
The finish brings out a lot of bitterness and raisin.
I didn’t completely love it but I wouldn’t have a problem tasting it again.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

My luck is that I like bourbon. It really is an interesting rum that tastes just like a bourbon. It‘s an okay agricole rum. Would drink again but not every day.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 7 ratings

Picked this up for something different. First sip was sweet on the front, honey-esk you could say with some clove and orange peel as it finishes. Not a sweet rum. It is lighter in color than I expected. the more you sip it, the more spices you pick up. Not a spicy hot rum, just a perfume like rum. Whomever compared it to a bourbon, that’s a good pick.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Raphael from United States with 19 ratings

For better or worse, this rum tastes very similar to a bourbon. I happen not to be a big fan of bourbon, but if you are, you will like this rum. And like a bourbon, its flavor has the potential to overpower drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Nose - light oak
Taste - dry, oaky, slight burn, somewhat grassy, cognac or bourbon taste to it.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Ambra.banana, caramel ,fresh fruity,a Little bit bitter and lapposo.