Posting your rating...
Clement Select Barrel rum
Clement Select Barrel rum

Clement Select Barrel

Martinique | Aged

6.3/10 (49 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
7
13
18
7

Rate Clement Select Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


49 Clement Select Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have sampled some of the Clement rums and thus far liked them all. This one, however, is more challenging. It is quite different. It is a blend of single-cane agricole rums then matured for three years in used French oak barrels. It is a rich, deep amber colors with a strong yet pleasant aroma. The flavor pulls no punches. There is an immediate pepperiness with an underlying cane juice sweetness (just a hint) along with definitely oak flavor. It has a real burn to it. This is almost like a young bourbon in a way. It has a dry finish. In some of their other agricole rums a noticeable grassiness is present but in this rum it is barely noticeable until the finish and then you can taste it until it fades away.

Hard to consider this a sipping rum. I would prefer it as a mixer but not certain what sort of drink it would do best in. I would hesitate using it in fruit-based cocktails but I wouldn't turn down one made with this rum.

Overall, a complex rum for advanced palates. This is definitely not a rum for novices.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Sweetened reed with young banana and exotic duku skin that linger alongside the sourish and fragrant oak pine. Pleasing vanilla, toffee, warm oat and chocolate well boxed in an old cardboard. Retaining the precious rhum notes that just lurking on the nutty base. (88/22)

P- Spice up front, some honey sweetness and balanced. Released for mixing but I would also take this good quality up for pleasant sips. (86/20)

F- Medium-long, feel natural, clean and crisp. Toffee, toasted oak and soft tannin lingers for lasting impression. (87/21)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Wood and grass on the nose. (The grass is very subdued compared to Clement's blancs.) A bit harsh at first—benefits greatly from >15 minutes breathing. This rhum is VERY dry on the palate. Comparisons with whiskey are easy to make. Still, fruity notes can be detected. It's amazing how much a rum can change with so little time in a barrel. (--update 10/26/17)

An interesting bottle; not too young, not too old. Though only slightly aged, it's a perfectly sippable counterpart to sweeter aged rums, and makes a fantastic Ti' Punch. Still, if you're deciding between this and one of Clement's older offerings (and you can spare the extra cash), I'd swing for the latter (or a blanc).

Overall, an excellent introduction to rhum agricole that won't leave you disappointed.

7, 7+

5736b98563126b5be6823bccebf3d250.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I felt the taste profile on this was kind of like a cross between rum and bourbon. I like it. I feel this truly is a bourbon drinkers rum. Good neat and I can see it being good I some mixed drinks.

E72b306a4360f230f3f639f92b9e4471.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Raphael from United States with 15 ratings

For better or worse, this rum tastes very similar to a bourbon. I happen not to be a big fan of bourbon, but if you are, you will like this rum. And like a bourbon, its flavor has the potential to overpower drinks.

9558ad72a8549ecf13b2d6147e2511f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Nose - light oak
Taste - dry, oaky, slight burn, somewhat grassy, cognac or bourbon taste to it.

1b574cc23e02b69a133e0333e06f08ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Ambra.banana, caramel ,fresh fruity,a Little bit bitter and lapposo.

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Not quite an 8 but definitely better than 6. This is a fine candidate for a standard rum to represent at a soirée. It does display agricole trademarks such as pepper and grass though it's far more neutral than an XO offering.
Think Haagen Dazs Rum Raisin. Quintessential rum sugar flavor with a bit of bite. Smooth and creamy bottled at a pedestrian 40%. If your planning an upscale shindig and buying only one rum, consider this. Looking for something substantial, spend a little more, your not far from finer sippers.

88ba2911c1d2e0b4ab45a7c2595bf8c0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Roberts from United States with 5 ratings

Different from most rums I've had. Almost a nutty and creamy flavor compared to others that typically are more sweet. Excellent finish.

Cfcc2f92e6642cac135849c3757397a0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

This is where the best rhum agricoles can't compare to the best of the "proper rums"...if you ask me.

I'd still drink it...maybe even buy it some time again :-)

C68eef09f7aff9f46c356a0af91a234b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Rhum vieux d'entrée de gamme de chez Clément, ce "select barrel" est un assemblage d'eaux de vie vieillies dans des fûts de chêne neufs.
Design : bouteille standard de chez Clément, simple mais efficace, le rhum a une belle couleur vieil or.
Nez : riche, sucré, fruité, vanille...très engageant.
Attaque : vigoureuse, boisé (très présent), vanille puis notes d'alcool.
Finale : boisé, léger goût de canne.
On retrouve un côté "bourbon", ce "select barrel" est le pendant du "black sheriff" de chez HSE (distillé au même endroit).
Très agréable à boire.