Posting your rating...
Clement Select Barrel rum

Clement Select Barrel

Martinique | Aged

6.3/10 (49 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
7
13
18
7

Rate Clement Select Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


49 Clement Select Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Not quite an 8 but definitely better than 6. This is a fine candidate for a standard rum to represent at a soirée. It does display agricole trademarks such as pepper and grass though it's far more neutral than an XO offering.
Think Haagen Dazs Rum Raisin. Quintessential rum sugar flavor with a bit of bite. Smooth and creamy bottled at a pedestrian 40%. If your planning an upscale shindig and buying only one rum, consider this. Looking for something substantial, spend a little more, your not far from finer sippers.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have sampled some of the Clement rums and thus far liked them all. This one, however, is more challenging. It is quite different. It is a blend of single-cane agricole rums then matured for three years in used French oak barrels. It is a rich, deep amber colors with a strong yet pleasant aroma. The flavor pulls no punches. There is an immediate pepperiness with an underlying cane juice sweetness (just a hint) along with definitely oak flavor. It has a real burn to it. This is almost like a young bourbon in a way. It has a dry finish. In some of their other agricole rums a noticeable grassiness is present but in this rum it is barely noticeable until the finish and then you can taste it until it fades away.

Hard to consider this a sipping rum. I would prefer it as a mixer but not certain what sort of drink it would do best in. I would hesitate using it in fruit-based cocktails but I wouldn't turn down one made with this rum.

Overall, a complex rum for advanced palates. This is definitely not a rum for novices.

Ade4763e0b1d7cd01697e50b1be84f60.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by JOLIT from France with 11 ratings

Une douce et agréable sensation envahit le palais. Des notes vanillées viennent enrichir ce rhum qui pourrait avoir été vieilli dans des fûts de bourbon.

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Martinique
Abv: 40%
Fles: 70cl, typische Clement vorm
Aroma: hout, zoethout, tabak.
Smaak: hout, kruiden, zachte karamel en vanille.

Heerlijke agricole voor een zacht prijsje.

4f56dd2e522e9fbe3011abe80944e6fa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 17 days ago by Noname from France with 22 ratings

Rhum qui se laisse boire mais tout de même assez quelconque.

50f50d0f50948248b564c275e23fa3b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 28 days ago by Rhombic from Spain with 12 ratings

So as a first experience with (sippable) agricoles, I head towards Clément in this particular offering.
Nose is engaging, briny, grassy as expected from an agricole, but with noticeable new oak character, clearly reminiscent of bourbon in that particular aspect. Woody, some mild tart fruitiness also present (apples). Just a couple drops of water open up the earthiness, hitherto very residual, building complexity.
In mouth has a fresh "opening" and a very dry woody character. Eucalyptus in finish, the flavour complexity is impressive, it definitely stands out. I wonder what this would be like at higher strength - I can't help but feel the 40% waters down what would have been an amazing sipping rhum. Reminiscent of Highland malts, with that crispness and freshness. For the price range, excellent sipper; again, if only it had been bottled at 45%+, that could have been very very good - I wonder if there are any independent bottlers? I can see many parallels to whiskies in the flavour profile, but the agricole signature is still very much clear. I would therefore say it's a positive feature.
Really good for the price range, good sipper.

036476941928914428e4cdba9ef66b3d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by GroumpH from France with 32 ratings

Nez léger, pas fort en alcool
Notes subtile et fruitées. Un petit goût whisky
Légère note d'amertume en fond de bouche
Agréable surprise vu la gamme de prix.

6e651225ebb1feec717e6d379f75c87e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 41 ratings

Good Agricole rum, hints of bourbon, very sour, not my favorite type of rum but would sip from time to time just to appreciate rum in its different forms.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Clement is a very known producer of agricole rum. Their blanc is my go to white rum, so I was exited to try this Select Barrel. It did not disappoint.

Nose: Oak, tobacco, coffee, vanilla and a slight vegetal funk
Taste: Smooth taste of vanilla, apricot, caramel, rosemary and spearmint
Overall: Not a bad bottle from Clement, but it is a bit to smooth for me. When it comes to agricole I prefer my rum to have a bit more bite. It is however a very good entry bottle for people getting to know the style of agricole rum.

Deb297fcc6b34c4aa93270b6eae656c7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by radoslavs22 from Slovakia with 5 ratings

Light color, less alcohol to the nose, taste close to whiskey without any sweetness and little bit hard. Not a classical rum type for me

8602a3766cdeccb85584013051b78c5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Fresh sweetnees in the nose.
Not too woody at all. Hints of roast and raisins.
More an 7.8
Better than expected