Posting your rating...
Black Tot Royal Navy rum
Black Tot Royal Navy rum

Black Tot Royal Navy

United Kingdom | Aged

Black Tot Royal Navy Rum is a blended, aged rum in that had been stored for 40 years in stone flagons by the British Royal Navy. The rum is part of the last rum ration served to British Royal Navy sailors on July 31, 1970 when the 300-year old tradition of a daily rum ration, or "tot", ended.

Until recently when 1000 bottles were made available for public sale, Black Tot Royal Navy rum was reserved only at British Royal weddings and State functions.

8.4/10 (27 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
5
7
9

Rate Black Tot Royal Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Black Tot Royal Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

The nose of this rum is incredibly full and potent with dark chocolate, blackberries and oak. It's very nice with similar characteristics to Pusser's rum, just better. Rarely have I spent so much time just nosing a rum, eventually also picking up cinnamon. Great. The taste is exceptional, with an explosion of leather, coffee, tobaco, oak, blackberries and very dark chocolate. The potency profile falls somewhere between the ED 21 and fx. Velier port mourant 1997. Though it will give you a bit of hair on the chest, it's still very drinkable, which is unfortunate, given the slightly redicules money you have to pay for this collecters bottle. Still im leaning towards a 10, despite the overpricing, because i'm loving this.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Holy mackerel the Black Tot Royal Navy rum has an intense flavor to the nose and then the truly explosive event happens in your mouth. This is easily the most intense rum I have ever tried. Think about Pusser's 15 year old rum, but aged another 25 years. If you have a chance to sample the Black Tot, go for it, you won't regret your decision.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Aged in wood for 30 years, this is a 108-proof bombshell of aromas and flavors blended from 4 of the world's most compelling rum producers (Trinidad, Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados). Overripe fruit, flowers, tobacco, pepper, tar...plus a half-dozen more...and 300 years of history...all combine to make this rum an extraordinary treat. A healthy taste will set you back $50 from MoM. Hey, baby steps.

This is an amazing rum. I wouldn't want it to be the only rum I ever drink, but I'd be happy to be issued a tot or two on a daily basis, just like the pre-1970 British sailors, only forever. It's a spectacular drink, nearly perfect. Straight up all the way, right?

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 243 ratings

Quite high in alcohol, the concentrated experience is not very pleasant but a spoon of water helps to bring out the aromas. I tasted iodine and charred wood, wax polish, cocoa. Not worth the price in my opinion, but interesting experience nevertheless.

D143b657283e7badc00d3d9b05c96381.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I paid a lot for a sample of this in San Francisco but it was worth it as it was crazy good. And I figured I would never have the opportunity again. Well worth it

3b370d7ada0c3adeace0556bfed6acee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Micmac from Canada with 6 ratings

(review context)I had a chance to taste this completely blind to what this was - I had no idea of the costs or how rare it is. I was also just starting to get into rum, and I had never been into hard spirits

At first I thought it was a bit harsh, far too smokey and leathery. By the end of my first glass I was warming up to it, so I poured a second. Each sip was such a blend of flavor, the smoke and leather were there but gave way to chocolate and other berries. I was in love! Then liking it I looked it up and felt bad about being so nonchalant about drinking it.

Since that time I've been lucky to try other high end (read $$$) rum and this is still my favorite.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 25 GPL. Think of the Pusser's 15 year old rum and then kick up everything that rum has to offer by another 50%. This is a very complex rum in aroma and taste. Let it breath and savor the variety of aromas that flow from your glass. Wood, tobacco, leather, molasses, vanilla, baking spices like nutmeg and cinnamon, chocolate, and caramel corn. Truly wonderful to smell and the taste follows what you smell in your glass. It's a unique rum that delivers a fist pump to your palate. Very smooth and so well balanced that it hides it's 51% ABV. This is the most expensive rum that I have had the pleasure to sample. If you find it in a bar, shell out the cost of a shot. It's worth it. I would love to have this in my collection, but at $1,000 USD per bottle it's not financially responsible. Because of the cost, knowing that Navy Rum is not for everyone, and I sampled this in a flight of rums that included El Dorado 25 and English Harbour 1981, I give this a 9.

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I had a lot of flagons at one time, which went towards this blend, and kept one back. So it might not be exactly the same.

The nose is fantastic. A complexity that one might not expect from a Royal Navy rum. It also possesses a great length. Rich, opulent, oaky with a nice gentle burn that belies its 54% ABV.

I can put a couple of earlier reviews straight.

Black Tot claim that the flagons come from bonded warehouses around the UK. The review stating that it was found in Germany, might be true I guess for some, but for many, I can confirm that they did indeed come from bonded warehouses, and in particular one in Wiltshire in the subterranean deep ex-chalk mines.

And with another review saying that single flagons were in your face, high proof dogs lacking complexity isn't the case. Well at least not with mine!!

I now have 6½ bottles to enjoy and am glad that I didn't have to pay the retail price for them! I look at my cabinet and see that I gave Pusser's 15yo the same 8. This is a lot lot better than Pussers 15yo, but when taking price into consideration.......!!

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I've had British Navy Rum from an old flagon, from the Castle Brands release of British Royal Navy Imperial Rum, and the Black Tot. In blending the Black Tot for consistency, they've really done something special. They took the bite out of the high-proof dog, and added layers of complexity. From a single flagon, the rum is in your face, with singular notes. This tasted like an aria... complex, layered. It's sweeter, but I won't count that against it. At the top.

C5d43809e1af8be77e72280989f3a358.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 14 days ago by Hesel from Denmark with 40 ratings

Very impressive blend of different styles. Very well balanced.