Posting your rating...
Facundo Exquisito rum

Rate Facundo Exquisito

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Facundo Exquisito ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I'm a little surprised that I'm the first to review this given it's widespread availability in the San Francisco Bay Area (BevMo! even carries it). This rum is very impressive; it's a high 9 score imho.

Butterscotch, vanilla, oak, and light sherry make this a great rum. Smooth and easy drinking at 40%abv, this rum is VERY good for a Bacardi product. After I tried this, I tried the Facundo Paraiso, which is even better than this!

Posted about 3 years ago by BermyNuts from Bermuda with 8 ratings

This is my first review, and I am excited to do it on "The best Sipper" i have tried thus far. The bottle sets it off from the start with it classic design and beautiful labeling. The cork is unusual then a normal cork( it don't catch or get discoloration from the rum) placed in a brass top. Now the contents in the bottle, dark red in color must say one of the darkest rum I have ever had. Must be from the finished in sherry casks for at least a month, FACUNDO EXQUISITO is incomparably mellow in profile. From the time you take the first sip you be surprised how mellow it is, but after you let it a irate after a few its incredible almost sweet in taste, This is what catches me every time I drink it.Price was just under 100 and I believe it's worth every penny. I may go pick up the last one they had at my liquor stor and I hope you enjoy yours.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I have bought and enjoyed all of the dark Facundo rums and this one is by far the best. Much better finish than the Paradisio a d half the price. Great nose and excellent finish. Slight hint of sweetness with lots of dark fruits.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Let me be upfront, it was the bottle design that got me curious about this. At the time I though "Facundo" was just another brand of premium rums but learned soon that "Facundo" was, in fact, Facundo Bacardi of the Bacardi Rum conglomerate. The rum itself is a blend of different rums aged between 7 and 23 years in American oak barrels in the Bahamas. And if that weren't enough the rum blend is then finished in sherry casks for about a month or more and hand bottled in Tultitlán Mexico. I like the art deco design on the bottle. Photos do not do it justice. It is a beautiful gold leaf. The cap is metal with a wide rubber cork. Brace the bottle well when pulling that cork out. Mine was TIGHT. Made a bit POP sound when I got it out.

The color of the rum is a rich, dark mahogany fading to a golden hue in the shallower points of the snifter. The aroma is wonderful. When I tasted it I noticed a marked vanilla flavor and a sweetness to it (sugared?) but not overly sweet (tempered by the sherry casks perhaps?). Extremely smooth. There is a distinct oakiness to it but not bitter. The finish reminds me of toffee. At $90-$100 USD a bottle this is not a rum you pick up on a whim. This is a rum for special occasions and for display. This is an extremely well-crafted rum in a well-crafted bottle. Highly recommended as a sipping rum. It would be a crying shame to use it any other way.

Posted about 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

A very good rum, recommended 100%. It has a very good presentation very showy and striking, when served in a cup you can see a very nice mahogany color, and a very balanced flavor as well as the aroma.

Un ron muy bueno, recomendable al100%. Cuenta con una muy buena presentación muy vistosa y llamativa, al servirlo en copa se aprecia un color caoba muy agradable, y de un sabor muy equilibrado al igual que el aroma.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

After trying most of the high priced rums, this one is The Favorite. Well balanced, easy to drink, not too sweet, not too dry, not too strong, just right. Has all the tastes and qualities that you look for in a rum. In my opinion, there is no need to look for the perfect rum anymore.
This is a rum that you do not want to use in a mixed drink. Why spoil a work of art.

A must in a collection. However, it will not last since it will be the one that you will drink. Better buy more than 1 bottle. Not too expensive at $90.

Posted about 1 month ago by je_farley from United States with 98 ratings

Got to sample this rum and immediately added it to my want list. A great nose this rum invites you in with hints of vanilla and spices. Full bodied on the tongue with just a bit a alcohol burn. Found this to be very enjoyable and hope to find it my local liquor store.

Posted 2 months ago by Lerxst from Canada with 8 ratings

Very strong chemical smell at first, but once you let it breathe, it was a decent $70CAD bottle of rum... but for the actual cost of $300CAD, there are lots of other rums I'd rather...

Posted 2 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

A really nice full flavour nose. Strong and sweet. A unique strong taste with a little sweetness and lots of pleasant flavour that last well onto the aftertaste. Not much heat, but the aftertaste remain similar to the initial taste. Quite a nice rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Rumba from United States with 11 ratings

Great aroma & color. Rich mouth feel with vanilla, oak and spice notes. Smooth and overall really excellent!

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Very nice aged rum. Great presentation with the bottle.

Posted 9 months ago by Underdog from United States with 17 ratings

Vanilla. toffee, burnt molasses. Smooth . Nice to sip. Taste like premium rum.

Posted 10 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

After more than six weeks, I finally got to try this Facundo side by side with their Eximo. As others have stated, the Eximo has a bit stronger taste, almost in your face. This Facundo Exquisito is much smoother, however it reminded me of my bottle of South Bay Batch 18 from the Dominican Republic. Now I had three to compare side by side. The Exquisto is definitely more complex than the South Bay, but something was missing from the South Bay. Hmm!!! What if I made a 50/50 mixture of the $32 South Bay with the $75 Facundo Eximo? Voila!!!! With this blend, I could barely tell it apart from my new bottle of Facundo Exquisito that ran me $90 yesterday. Shocking!!! I now have this new bottle ranked one notch below it's cheaper brother and one notch above the South Bay. It pays to experiment! The Eximo is still the better buy between the two. The Paraiso is simply too expensive for me to risk purchasing. This whole experiment proves that Bacardi is indeed capable of producing very good rums and trying to improve their bad image as bottom shelf crap.

Update August 16, 2019 (National Rum Day in the USA!): Being hell bent on finding the exact mixture for the blend mentioned above that will match this rum, I experimented further. Using 3 parts Facundo Eximo to 2 parts South Bay Small Batch 18 produced the blend that closely matches this Exquisito rum. The only way to tell them apart is that this Exquisito has more of a burn. So save your empty bottles of Facundo Exquisito and make your own blend from what I just mentioned at about half the cost. Your guests will never know the difference!

Posted 11 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

This rum is good but it’s not great. It’s smooth, has nice flavor but no finish. It just kind of disappear’s on the tongue. For the price I would say it’s disappointing.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

A very good aged rum from Bacardi’s ultra premium line Facundo. Very easy drinking and enjoyable.

Posted over 1 year ago by Waly Vega from United States with 15 ratings

Hints of pineapple, coconut and caramel with a dry yet sweet balanced body. Very nice sipping rum. The only downside I find is... if you are going to make an expensive rum, and a nice packaging... then go all in and make the top cork, not planstic (like this one is).

Posted over 1 year ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 34 ratings

Having lived most of my life in PR i’ve always been bummed that no good aged sipping rum existed from the island (until DonQ reserva came out at $1.5k a bottle) this is the much more affordable at $100.

Flavor is similar to Plantation XO but with much more body, less pineapple, and more caramel notes.

Bottle and brass cap are beautiful, only negative is that it has a rubber cork, go all in bacardi!

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

The first thing that grabbed me was the wood, but not overly bitter. Then the cherry, pineapple, molasses finishing with a slight vanilla and coconut flavour without ever being too sweet or too dry. A very fine balance well kept.

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Notes of honey and roasted pineapple and lovely barrel. Nearly a perfect rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam Arbus from Canada with 17 ratings

A great rum from opening the box to finish. I like a nice bottle, and this one is a show piece but...it’s whats inside that counts! Beautiful chestnut colour and brown sugar/molasses nose. Definitely a hint of vanilla in there.

Tasting notes are vanilla, coconut and a touch of banana.

A little burn on the way down is all good.

Reminds me of Zacapa 23 - a great rum all around and well worth the $90 price tag.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Nose was sour, probably result of mass production in casks of suspicious quality, the taste was overwhelmingly oak wood and nothing else.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 51 ratings

This is the best in the Facundo line. It takes the Eximo's fruity and spicy flavors and adds a layer of tropical vanilla and coconut flavors.

Posted over 1 year ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Once you nose this rum, you feel a smooth, pleasant aroma. The taste is perfect, smooth, a little bitter but not sweet. Great rum!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Truly good, rich and well balanced rum.
Aroma of charred wood.
Taste is rich and full. Hints of smoke and spices.
Pleasant long aftertaste which is bit bitter.
tbh rum is good but not value for money. If it would cost half a price I would rate it 9.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert eisen from United States with 9 ratings

I like this rum a lot. I also like the art noveau design on the bottle and the packaging.

It is a rum that as a sipper tastes like it costs more. I have not tried the other Facundo rums but they have done an excellent job with this one. Just a notch below the ron zacapa xo and ron abuelo centenario both of which got a 10 from me.




#