Posting your rating...
Facundo Eximo rum

Rate Facundo Eximo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Facundo Eximo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Facundo Eximo is a smooth rum with a bit of afterburn, but there are no clear flavors to taste and you will always get that familiar Bacardi undertone. There are easily over 50 smoother rums with much better price quality than the Facundo Eximo.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 433 ratings

I tried the Bacardi Facundo Exima side by side with the Bacardi Reserva Limitada. I really struggled to pick a winner.

This has notes of honey, caramel, oak, and some bourbon. This was just a tad sweeter (neither were really that sweet, however). I think they both tasted fairly similar overall (no surprise since both are Bacardi products).

Overall I prefer the taste of this over the Limitada, and this is certainly the better value. But it was close. Shortly after I tried this, I tried the Facundo Exquisito, and I think that's a really nice step up.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I really like this one - had almost no expectations going in, but seriously good.

Nutty nose with woody caramel tones. Initial shock of spice dissipates incredibly quickly to result in a smooth long finish. Almost a poprock feel after a few seconds - quite interesting. Lots of brown sugar comes through - fans of dry whisky rums may think it’s too sweet.

It’s dedinitely strong, sip with some caution. I didn’t find it was better after adding a few drops of water - just go full in neat and enjoy!

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I have come to learn that Bacardi actually does make some delicious rums that are made to be sipped. Eximo is most definitely one of those rums. No sweetness at all, dried fruits, a hint of tobacco and lots of depth and character with a pleathora of different flavors. This is a very complex rum and it is overall a very nicely done rum. Goo'oood stuff Maynard! And you better say you like it neat or else you might wanna put on your pantyhose..

090cfc70136d7b4f153aa06d50e0843b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

Fantastic rum for the price. One of the best rums at the $70 price range. It will not disappoint. It is a little stronger in taste than the Facundo Exquisito which is my number 1 pick by far in rum, however if you let is sit in ice for a few minutes it looses some to its strength. If you like strong rums, this is one of the best at an affordable price. The bottle is beautiful and classy. It make the perfect gift for a good friend.

Do not use for mixed drinks, it is too good for that.

B19ece11b39283418ea76de3267705aa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 25 days ago by dcgdavies from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Recently a Family member and I gifted each other rums. We ended up with Bacardi Diez as well as Bacardi Facundo Eximo. I found that the Diez had a bit of burn but was very Tasty whether that was neat, on the rocks or mixed. This Facundo Eximo was smoother but have very slightly less taste although the difference was arguably negligible. This is an excellent rum which i enjoy once or twice a month. This is currently my second bottle and would buy again.

B36b0679ded69d470417862a473968e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 29 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 60 ratings

I’m questioning why I purchased this again. Nice bottle and stopper great golden brown color but on the first taste it just leaves me short. It is very smooth almost watered down taste even neat. Funky little aftertaste I can’t place. It’s like why bother at this price level, just move up to Exquisito, or for less Centenario 25, Eldorado 12 or 15, Pampers, many others. Maybe my taste buds are too elevated after sampling several different Foursquare rums recently all 8-9.

30f286d0f5d3c806ac1b3589660ffc46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It deserves every euro. Very good sipping rum don’t ever think of mixing this one. I ll definitely buy a new bottle of this one

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 153 ratings

Same rum as the old bottle of Bacardi Reserva Limitada (I mean not the black bottle Gran Reserva Limitada). They are very very close, the difference could be a different batch. I can hardly tell the difference.
This story comes to my mind:
They throw the Limitada for 100$ on the market, it doesn't work. They expand the range, reduced the amount per bottle (this makes the price similar) and introduced the cheaper 10 Diez with the more expensive Facundo line.
Facundo line has two other older rums in the price range of € 130 to € 300.

It's a mild pot still rum. It's a mix of the spanish and english style rum.
The taste is intensive and mild, but it has also some dirty pot still aromas.
If you just started with sweet rums, don't try this. I think you need some experience to understand this one.
Got this for 50€, very cheap in Germany. But the reserva limitada is cheaper for 1l, that's why just 9 points.

Smell: caramel, oak, leather, some gum (pot still, dirty)
Taste initial: caramel, molasses
Taste middle: liquorice, gum, peppermint, spice
Finish: warm burn, spice
Aftertaste: peppermint, liquorice, leather

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Mildness: 4/5

4e26b39bc346d7afc2dbe51cd3ce5f77.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by carl from United States with 27 ratings

A friend brought this over in our ongoing bottle war. Excellent sipping rum, nice flavor and a little bit of sweetness.

F1cea3399f9df2402e7f3a179c2e0a39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

Smooth dark rum with a slow, late heat to it. Has a nice deep molasses flavors with a long finish. A tad of spice to it and I think I'm tasting a touch of raisin, but very subtle. Easy to drink and has a nice warming effect. Great for a cool evening. A little high in price...at the current going rate (~$70) in my neighborhood, I'd opt for a bottle of Zafra or Santa Teresa 1796 which are close in qualubut half the price.