Posting your rating...
Facundo Eximo rum

Facundo Eximo

Puerto Rico | Aged

7.9/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
11
5
2

Rate Facundo Eximo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Facundo Eximo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Not as smooth for my usual taste but a good tipple all the same!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 477 ratings

I tried the Bacardi Facundo Exima side by side with the Bacardi Reserva Limitada. I really struggled to pick a winner.

This has notes of honey, caramel, oak, and some bourbon. This was just a tad sweeter (neither were really that sweet, however). I think they both tasted fairly similar overall (no surprise since both are Bacardi products).

Overall I prefer the taste of this over the Limitada, and this is certainly the better value. But it was close. Shortly after I tried this, I tried the Facundo Exquisito, and I think that's a really nice step up.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 38 ratings

Very good. Strong taste up front but mellows very nicely. Smells great and is definitely a great rum

Small profile 1

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 113 ratings

I really like this one - had almost no expectations going in, but seriously good.

Nutty nose with woody caramel tones. Initial shock of spice dissipates incredibly quickly to result in a smooth long finish. Almost a poprock feel after a few seconds - quite interesting. Lots of brown sugar comes through - fans of dry whisky rums may think it’s too sweet.

It’s dedinitely strong, sip with some caution. I didn’t find it was better after adding a few drops of water - just go full in neat and enjoy!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 11 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 15-20 GPL. Well I was surprised as the best Bacardi that I have tasted to date was the Limitada, but this one is much more complex and tasty. This one is a very good rum. On the nose I smell Vanilla, Oak, Tobacco, and burnt sugar and maybe some Bourbon or Port...depending on what barrels they used because I don't think this was aged in virgin oak. Taste wise has some similarities to Centenario or Dos Maderas, only harsher with a lot more bite and a pepper afterburn. I suspect bourbon barrels were used. It's well balanced but it's not as smooth as Dos Maderas or the Centenario 20. I put a couple of drops of distilled water in my glass and it mellowed out immediately. This is the best Bacardi rum that I have tasted. Looking forward to the Exquisito. I would buy a second bottle of this if it remains on sale in Ontario. Solid 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 370 ratings

Same rum as the old bottle of Bacardi Reserva Limitada (I mean not the black bottle Gran Reserva Limitada). They are very very close, the difference could be a different batch. I can hardly tell the difference.
This story comes to my mind:
They throw the Limitada for 100$ on the market, it doesn't work. They expand the range, reduced the amount per bottle (this makes the price similar) and introduced the cheaper 10 Diez with the more expensive Facundo line.
Facundo line has two other older rums in the price range of € 130 to € 300.

It's a mild pot still rum. It's a mix of the spanish and english style rum.
The taste is intensive and mild, but it has also some dirty pot still aromas.
If you just started with sweet rums, don't try this. I think you need some experience to understand this one.
Got this for 50€, very cheap in Germany. But the reserva limitada is cheaper for 1l, that's why just 9 points.

Nose: steel flavor or champignon, vanilla, honey, molasses, sweet notes of burned sugar, ripe or canned peach, slightly wood
Initial taste: can/steel, honey, molasses and canned peaches
Middle: champignon, molasses, canned peaches, vanilla
Finish: spice, can/steel, some honey, molasses and canned peaches

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Mildness: 4/5
Value (53€ for 0.5l): 2.5/5

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

I have come to learn that Bacardi actually does make some delicious rums that are made to be sipped. Eximo is most definitely one of those rums. No sweetness at all, dried fruits, a hint of tobacco and lots of depth and character with a pleathora of different flavors. This is a very complex rum and it is overall a very nicely done rum. Goo'oood stuff Maynard! And you better say you like it neat or else you might wanna put on your pantyhose..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mario H from United States with 10 ratings

Fantastic rum for the price. One of the best rums at the $70 price range. It will not disappoint. It is a little stronger in taste than the Facundo Exquisito which is my number 1 pick by far in rum, however if you let is sit in ice for a few minutes it looses some to its strength. If you like strong rums, this is one of the best at an affordable price. The bottle is beautiful and classy. It make the perfect gift for a good friend.

Do not use for mixed drinks, it is too good for that.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Fourrunner08 from United States with 36 ratings

This is one of my go to rums.
Sweet not sugary and goes down with very little bite. A sipper any time and with a couple of drops of water it's just opens it up.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by dcgdavies from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Recently a Family member and I gifted each other rums. We ended up with Bacardi Diez as well as Bacardi Facundo Eximo. I found that the Diez had a bit of burn but was very Tasty whether that was neat, on the rocks or mixed. This Facundo Eximo was smoother but have very slightly less taste although the difference was arguably negligible. This is an excellent rum which i enjoy once or twice a month. This is currently my second bottle and would buy again.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 315 ratings

I’m questioning why I purchased this again. Nice bottle and stopper great golden brown color but on the first taste it just leaves me short. It is very smooth almost watered down taste even neat. Funky little aftertaste I can’t place. It’s like why bother at this price level, just move up to Exquisito, or for less Centenario 25, Eldorado 12 or 15, Pampero, many others. Maybe my taste buds are too elevated after sampling several different Foursquare rums recently all 8-9.