Posting your rating...
Bayou Spiced rum

Bayou Spiced

United States | Spiced

Bayou Spiced rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s rested up to 30 days with a blend of creole baking spices and bottled at 80 proof. According to the distillery, its amber color comes from the spice blend.

via American Rum Report

7.2/10 (91 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
14
26
24
14
6

Rate Bayou Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


91 Bayou Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Probably more like a 7.5 but i need to distinguish it from the other bayou which i prefer.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This rum is so well blended that I you can't discern individual notes. Luckily I was able to pick the mind of the master blender, and with my chemistry background, really got into the talk of how it's made on a chemical level. The level of attention he put into it is incredible! Every last step was scrutinized with the eye of a research chemist. I can't wait for it to reach a wider distribution.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

It's beyond incredible. It's so well blended and balanced. Straight it tastes amazing and in coke it tastes amazing. It's sweet but not over powering. I drink rum for the sweet, if I wanted dry-licking leather boots flavor I would drink scotches. The smell from the bottle is nothing interesting, it honestly smells exactly on the dot like Admiral Nelson's. In the glass it didn't do anything special either. It was much like any other rum, the oak-ethanol smell. Drinking it straight I was beyond surprised. Smooth isn't the word here. It comes in, says hello tongue and the tongue says hello back. They great each other shake hands and dance a little and down it goes. Where you get some spice from the pepper. Which is so ungodly fresh tasting it is mind boggling how that is possible. I am not talking kroger pepper here I mean the type you grow pick and eat yourself in the same day. That is how fresh tasting it is. In diet coke it is much the same, a very distinct flavor. Almost on the dot to sweet southern tea with some spice to it. The 20$ you pay for this is mind boggling. I have had my fair share of 15+ year old rums and they even at that age struggle getting their rum smooth. This is like something you could give to a mikes hard lemonade drinker and have them not even flinch from the alcohol. Yes it is that good. I don't think anyone will be beating/competing this rum's quality for at least a decade.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris Maler from United States with 3 ratings

Very smooth, spices are well blended, vanilla and pepper, and a hint of allspice, cinnamon and fruit.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Bayou spiced rum is quite the hidden gem. With a generous flavor profile of vanilla, cinnamon, sweet praline, creme brule', and a light floral twist it is both delightful and surprising. It is what spiced rum should be, a blend of local spices and flavors with no single one gaining center stage over the others. This is a top fifty rum and with the ability to drink it over ice, may be the best spiced rum on the market. A must have for your liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Nez caramel beurre salé, bouge banane séchée et finale poivrée c’est superbe. Parfait pour accompagner un bon expresso par exemple !

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Darlene from United States with 3 ratings

Delicious. Has hint of banana. Mixes well with Dr. Pepper.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

This rum is amazing for the price, a Jackson, it has replace my previous budget favorite, Flor De Cana 7 year. It's on the sweeter end of the rum spectrum, I probably wouldn't drink it with Pepsi, but with Coke it's fantastic. Extremely smooth, mellow vanilla tones, and great complimentary spices. It's even great on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

This rum has as much of a fruit background as a spice making a blend full of different flavors that us more than just a spiced rum. Not a sipper but one of the best mixers and blenders I have had with great balance. This is one of the great values I have seen recently and has a place in my bar, just wish I could get it locally.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Smooth and sweet. Different spices than what I've had in spiced rums before but very enjoyable. Good in cola or straight up.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This rum smells just like butterscotch candy. Hence I think it's more of a flavored rum than a spiced rum. However, the taste includes a good amount of spice. So I guess it can be considered a spiced rum as well.

While I'm generally not a huge fan of either flavored rums or spiced rums, this is perhaps the best of both I've ever tried. The butterscotch flavor goes very well with rum, and the spice is interesting too; it's not a fiery hot spice like the Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced Rum; it's more of a peppery spice.

This is a very impressive flavored/spiced rum. The best I've had of either!