Posting your rating...
Bayou Silver rum

Rate Bayou Silver

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Bayou Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Sav from United States with 5 ratings

Strong enough but sweet enough at the same time.

Posted about 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

Not a bad mixer, does not add any flavor just a little sweet nothing. I can't see what all the high rating are about. I really like dark aged rums so I must just not know how this one should taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is an agricole (sugarcane) tasting rum, but it's a little sweeter than most agricoles. Tastes a little like sugar syrup (which I like in this). Smooth and easy drinking, this is a nice light rum. I'm not a big fan of light rums, but this is above average to me.

Posted 10 months ago by TheGolfBallGuy from United States with 10 ratings

It adds a little extra to any cocktail and is priced in line with comparable rums.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

I have been very reluctant to try any more rums from Bayou after being disappointed with their Satsuma and Spiced. So when I picked up their Select today, I added this one to the basket as well. I really had my doubts before opening it, so I read the back of the label. Unlike the Select that is 100% agricole from cane juice, this one is a mixture of cane juice and molasses. It is fermented with cane yeast and distilled in copper pots.

My first sip really surprised me to the point whereby I told myself, "Damn, that tastes awfully familiar". After a few more sips, the vanilla and chocolate notes remind me very much of Vizcaya Cristal from the Dominican Republic, one of my top rated white rums. This was indeed a pleasant surprise!

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Bayou Silver Rum bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Strong alcohol and a plethora of artificial flavors to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Barely mixable. I would skip this one for sure.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Sweet nose with liquor hit to nose. Tried to sip and actually not bad from a strong alcohol aspect but sure it’s made for mixed drinks. Had with coke not much flavor. Definitely gets lost with mixer. If your looking for buzz with no bite this works but looking for flavor try something else

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

If you're looking for another Bacardi style silver, this isn't it. It's more like an agricole, made from sugar cane instead of molasses. Very clean on the nose, and a good flavor to follow up.

Posted about 2 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Not a bad clear mixer rum, would buy again for a daily mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Not_in_houston from United States with 1 rating

I've only had a sip so far, but it tasted smooth and I like the aroma.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian Shriner from United States with 1 rating

My bases for comparison are two national brands distilled in the Caribbean. I doubt that the origin of tha Bayou Silver, which I bought because I'm a Louisiana expatriate and love new La products, that caused my dislike. Maybe I got a bum bottle or something, but there's a weird chemical taste to this that reminds me of a certain bottom-shelf vodka that smells and tastes like acetone. Bayou's smell/taste isn't acetone, but it is bad enough that I doubt i will ever but another bottle or recommend it. Something is getting into the production chain somewhere - hunt it down and kill it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frank from United States with 1 rating

What can I say, Louisiana sugar cane. Sweet, smooth, and delicious. It makes a perfect daiquiri.

Posted about 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

If you could put this in your gas tank and run your car it would be better then drinking it
Maybe instead of taking out of the tub and putting in the bottle they should age it for 1 year
Would never buy a bottle

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

I'll start off this review with a short history of how I got this bottle. I live in the liquor nazi state of Pennsylvania where the LCB has their greedy, grubby hands in everything. Want to order a bottle over the internet? You have to ship it to one of their state run stores and pay them a $4/bottle fee on top of your original purchase/shipping cost. However, there is thousands of spirits available through what they call an "SLO" special liquor order. The Bayou Silver was an SLO and was told that its a very popular one at that, so I was excepting the bottle to arrive quickly. NOPE. It took almost 3 weeks to get the bottle. It actually took 15 days to get to the liquor store and an additional week before I called the store and they said it's been sitting there. No phone call from them! They were almost ready to send the bottle back. When I picked the bottle up, it was in a large box with a copy of my invoice attached to the top with my contact info on it. Still, no phone call. "SLO" or SLOW rather.
Anyway, the Bayou Silver Rum has a mild nose and smells like white cake batter and sweet cream with a little vegetal aromas in the back that really opened my eyes. The flavor is sugar syrup, powdered sugar cake donut and a very lightly sweetened plain custard. There is a pleasant and subdued vegetal taste that lends a brightness to the profile but isn't overpowering or musty. I disappointedly get absolutely no vanilla or fruit whatsoever. The finish is rather smooth for an unaged rum. I also found that it makes good, smooth cocktails but doesn't do anything special for them. I like to drink this neat or maybe with a little ice or few drops of citrus juice. It tends to be sort of an odd ball in my group of silver rums as its almost too boring to sip but additionally, too smooth and sweet to let it disappear in cocktails. I'm torn. I give this rum a 6 +1 for value since it was only around $20/liter (+$3 for SLO) for a handcrafted, US made sprint. If only it just had more depth of flavor. I feel only...

Posted over 3 years ago by Skippy32123 from United States with 3 ratings

This is my favorite.... I love mixing with Coke Zero. Sweet, not bitter, tastes fantastic. I'm proud it's made here in Louisiana! Geaux get some.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Lover from United States with 3 ratings

Another rum I came across during Tales of The Cocktail. Disappointed after the hype of "Americas rum" and price point. What you have is a sugary, syrupy rum that just falls flat.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Not sure what I expected but this is very good Silver rum. Sweet and clears nicely its a great mixer not as heavy as say a Banks but just as rewarding.

Posted about 4 years ago by Emmie from New Zealand with 4 ratings

The best rum I've ever tasted. World class. No medicinal or chemical aftertaste. Like drinking the pure essence of rum with butter and vanilla mellowness. Drink this neat! It's that good. This tastes exactly like I've thought rum should taste, but never has until now.
The best rum in the entire world at any price. Going to bring more of this back next trip! It's a 10 "I guarontee!!"

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

It is interesting how subtle the fragrance is upon opening the bottle. Almost as if it were a mixed drink. I was expecting something stronger in terms of odor but the Bayou Silver rum's odor is mild yet has the cane element one expects in rum. Its flavor is not harsh but just slightly sweet. Not really complex but quite tasty. This would be equally good straight, on the rocks, in cola, and in mixed drinks. A very versatile rum. Definitely recommended among white/silver rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Doug Buhler from Canada with 4 ratings

A fine flavor for a silver rum, great in mixed drinks or cola. Splash of lime.

Posted over 5 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

This is one of the few silver rums that I could drink neat. I was not expecting much being a silver rum. But this is much more better than the Old New Orleans Silver rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

This rum has notes of banana with some sweet heat. Great for warm weather cocktails

Posted almost 6 years ago by lmolinajr from United States with 17 ratings

Ok im not really a big fan of this white rum..There is better out there.I like the spiced version better.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Such a simple rum, it fades from consciousness after trying their Spiced variety. Well rounded and excellent for mixing.