Posting your rating...
Malibu Black rum

Malibu Black

Canada | Flavored

5.7/10 (21 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
2
4
5
4

Rate Malibu Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Malibu Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4f9c28fd57f670b83fe11d971255438b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

I was looking very forward to trying this rum. It's ok. The smell is nice...i can sound all technical and say "sweet coconut and vanilla on the nose with a hint of alcohol." That would be accurate. The taste is nice but something in the finish... There is a bitter taste like an artificial sweetener. The taste is good but the finish needs a bit of work to bring it home. On the other hand it is pretty awesome in DIET Pepsi. Forget what the bottle says about 2 parts cola to 1 part rum. Equal parts and some ice will do nicely. The bitter finish still lingers a bit. Would i buy it again? Probably not and that is only because of the finish..A really good effort to be a serious rum. Just needs needs a little tweaking.

1d3b81ce4184231d1d478e7ebbf76ede.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

35% DE ALCOHOL, LO HACEN UN PRODUCTO MAS REAL. AHORA SI ES UN RON CON SABOR A COCO. PERFECTO PARA LAS PIÑAS COLADAS!!!

404c723f2b945eadf63066e9baea685e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

Tastes a bit more like a aged rum with the malibu flavour. Not to bad but not compareble to a real aged rum

24d591d4b97ebf5ff873c2b2f828c1bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Nothing special.

2c4a015961305bb9092af7e11d3eea3a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

I didn't like this very much. It was really strong. Just dint suit my taste at all.

9c6e3be63c8b8aae4cc4b7aab42af2ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Ifitsbrokenfixit from United States with 12 ratings

Not any bit better than malibu. Im not kidding. Stick to the OG

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Tried a bottle of Malibu Black rum. Bottle and label design look dull and unimaginative. Nothing different to other Malibu bottles. Strong artificial coconut to your nose and palate followed with pure alcohol. Quite a strong burn at the end although this is super sweet.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Thirty years ago, the only coconut rums available for tropical drinks were low proof Malibu or Cocoribe. Somehow, Cocoribe is still in business, but very hard to find. So I recently found out about this 70 proof Malibu Black that trades higher alcohol for sweetness. It sounded like a winner....until I brought this puppy home.

This rum is brown, but coconut meat is white. Duh! It smells and tastes like artificial coconut but goes down smoothly. If it is that noticeable as being artificial, then why have it? By itself, it is not repulsive and won't go to waste or get flushed down the toilet. This is the worst coconut rum that I have tried and I will stick with Blue Chair Bay or Koloa, if and whenever I find another bottle.

7a068c17a05d242ddd5d9dfd7d9edc9a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mo from United States with 15 ratings

I like the Malibu Black because of the higher content level. The taste can be compared to any other regular Malibu. I purchased it from Total Wine after having tried it several times before at the bar. It is an excellent product.

9bbae6864b27f9b8da7ac45a0e3ec903.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Brantley from United States with 22 ratings

better than regular Malibu has a kick to it great mixed with dr. pepper

7b8c54d27ebf8827e17f7d37051737da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is a great alternative to the other Malibu options. It has a more aggressive flavour which great when mixed.