Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (337 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
25
71
133
69
17
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


337 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0ef91b87e1b6809a711c7b29cb563032.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chriswx from Greece with 22 ratings

😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

11e607eeaa35d696206a16b6ddb516e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Charred oak barrel notes open up to leave you with a classic pot still Bajan rum.

Different and very nice if you like an oaky feel to your drink. A very nice sipper

4791864856ad7338f0dba9e3869bd9e6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by BoozeHound58 from United States with 1 rating

I enjoy sipping bourbon and whisky, preferably neat. Occasionally I'll add a teaspoon of water just to open up the bouquet. Feeling the need for a change of pace, I went on a safari for something bearing the Mount Gay label, at the suggestion of a friend. I opted for the Black Barrel, because I just happened to have a bit extra to spend. Damn good stuff, sir! I don't have much experience with rum, but from the very first sip I LOVED this stuff. I was floored by the vanilla, raisin and floral taste -- and that peppery after taste! All I can say is YOWSA!

C5fdd21f48ff736f87ff9dc13207b7e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Having just started drinking rum from brandy I find this to be my favourite, I always drink straight and this is a very colourful drink taste wise. Would recommend to anyone!

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

When I first tried this rum a couple years ago, it was relatively new to the market, and there seemed to be a lot of marketing hype around it. I thought it was all a bit overblown, and the introductory price was somewhat inflated.

Now that the price seems to have come down a bit, and I've done quite a bit more tasting of this and other rums, I'm appreciating it more and more. In many ways it seems more "grown up" than many other over-sweetened rums on the market. I think part of this is Mount Gay's attempt to dig into the whiskey marketβ€”a drink that is more highly esteemed (and priced) in this country. That certainly manifests itself in the flavor profile, which is dry, oaky, and slightly spicy. With characteristic sweetness and a caramel nose, you certainly wouldn't confuse it for whiskey. This is a proud rum. I give it a 7.5, and round up for its somewhat unique spot in the market. With a little more aging to polish off its somewhat abrasive edges, it would be a solid 8.

As it is, Mount Gay Black Barrel is a versatile rum that makes a great Old Fashioned, a solid Bajan Rum Punch, and a decent sipper. Just don't spend more than $30 USD (2/2017) on a bottle if you can help it.

918a7e4e88ac7951908958874c98022d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This is a fantastic rum, the price is about right for it. I'm not sure, why people are so divided on this one.
I'd recommend it on the rocks or straight. There's a hint of cherry in it it, towards the end it has a strong note of charred barrels. Recommended.

Bc216938f4fd16ea632366898103e92b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Nose: Slightly floral.
Feel: Clean with not too much burn.
Taste: Sugar, LOTS of wood. A little nutty.
Presentation: Very nice long neck bottle. Distinctive. I really what Barbados has done with the country of origin sticker. More countries should do it.
Price: 40 CAD.

A little cheaper than the XO and it shows. Lacking the bold body but still quite adequate for sipping. I think I will be using this mainly for drinks that call for a Barbados rum so I have more XO left over for sipping.

12ada992530b107cace3f9f76f1772f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by LiquidBrass from United States with 8 ratings

I didn't like the harsh bite of this rum. Very strong alcohol burn, and hints of pepper in the aftertaste. If asked for a one-word description, I would call this rum "unfinished".

D927453891e61d90c028b674c9a7b5fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Barllow from United States with 6 ratings

Very good! One of my favorites. I drink it neat or with just ice.

Dcadd9bd7acdee9079427f2bc94daae1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

170765d5aaf80d603827b20722b4ec03.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

This was recommended to me from a liquor store owner. He sure knew what he was talking about very nice rum.