Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

LOTS of oak and spice, some alcohol afterburn. It's good, but there isn't enough going on here when you drink it neat. An ice cube brings out some sweetness and makes it smoother. Still, there are better sippers and mixers out there, from Barbados and elsewhere.

Posted about 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Charred oak barrel notes open up to leave you with a classic pot still Bajan rum.

Different and very nice if you like an oaky feel to your drink. A very nice sipper

Posted almost 4 years ago by BoozeHound58 from United States with 1 rating

I enjoy sipping bourbon and whisky, preferably neat. Occasionally I'll add a teaspoon of water just to open up the bouquet. Feeling the need for a change of pace, I went on a safari for something bearing the Mount Gay label, at the suggestion of a friend. I opted for the Black Barrel, because I just happened to have a bit extra to spend. Damn good stuff, sir! I don't have much experience with rum, but from the very first sip I LOVED this stuff. I was floored by the vanilla, raisin and floral taste -- and that peppery after taste! All I can say is YOWSA!

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Having just started drinking rum from brandy I find this to be my favourite, I always drink straight and this is a very colourful drink taste wise. Would recommend to anyone!

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

When I first tried this rum a couple years ago, it was relatively new to the market, and there seemed to be a lot of marketing hype around it. I thought it was all a bit overblown, and the introductory price was somewhat inflated.

Now that the price seems to have come down a bit, and I've done quite a bit more tasting of this and other rums, I'm appreciating it more and more. In many ways it seems more "grown up" than many other over-sweetened rums on the market. I think part of this is Mount Gay's attempt to dig into the whiskey market—a drink that is more highly esteemed (and priced) in this country. That certainly manifests itself in the flavor profile, which is dry, oaky, and slightly spicy. With characteristic sweetness and a caramel nose, you certainly wouldn't confuse it for whiskey. This is a proud rum. I give it a 7.5, and round up for its somewhat unique spot in the market. With a little more aging to polish off its somewhat abrasive edges, it would be a solid 8.

As it is, Mount Gay Black Barrel is a versatile rum that makes a great Old Fashioned, a solid Bajan Rum Punch, and a decent sipper. Just don't spend more than $30 USD (2/2017) on a bottle if you can help it.

Posted over 3 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This is a fantastic rum, the price is about right for it. I'm not sure, why people are so divided on this one.
I'd recommend it on the rocks or straight. There's a hint of cherry in it it, towards the end it has a strong note of charred barrels. Recommended.

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Nose: Slightly floral.
Feel: Clean with not too much burn.
Taste: Sugar, LOTS of wood. A little nutty.
Presentation: Very nice long neck bottle. Distinctive. I really what Barbados has done with the country of origin sticker. More countries should do it.
Price: 40 CAD.

A little cheaper than the XO and it shows. Lacking the bold body but still quite adequate for sipping. I think I will be using this mainly for drinks that call for a Barbados rum so I have more XO left over for sipping.

Posted almost 6 years ago by LiquidBrass from United States with 8 ratings

I didn't like the harsh bite of this rum. Very strong alcohol burn, and hints of pepper in the aftertaste. If asked for a one-word description, I would call this rum "unfinished".

Posted over 2 years ago by Barllow from United States with 6 ratings

Very good! One of my favorites. I drink it neat or with just ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

Posted almost 6 years ago by The Sticky Green from United States with 4 ratings

This was recommended to me from a liquor store owner. He sure knew what he was talking about very nice rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay and while I prefer their XO, the black barrel is a fantastic value and thus why I give it an 7. It's a tad harsh in both the finish and also in the flavor profile. Not bad at all, just not as refined as my preferred rums. While it really does make a fantastic rum and coke, I can drink this neat or on the rocks and both are good experiences. Neat is a bit on the spicy and dry side (which I like) but on the rocks also brings out a nice more mellow flavor that is still slightly sweet and very pleasant. Every way to drink this rum is a good rum and for the price you feel liberated to try anything without any guilt. Highly recommend this one.

Posted over 2 years ago by PitBullCH from Switzerland with 14 ratings

Found this at my local Getränkemarkt and was not too expensive for an alleged small batch rum. Found it rather medicinal, slightly rough, no real redeeming features, would not buy again.

Posted about 3 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Přišel jako 2. do rodiny. První byl XO. Dopiručuji připlatit. Ma sotva poloviční chuť a je hodně alkoholovy.

Posted about 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Nicely drinkable rum with strong notes of charred barrels. Stronger taste than most rums. Still one of my favorites

Posted almost 5 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

Three top tier restaurants stock the Black Barrel for me as I drink it with fresh squeezed orange juice. It's one of my favorite drinks. I wouldn't drink this straight up but with a mixer it's great. It's certainly far above the house rum served by virtually all bars/restaurants.

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Arôme léger de mélasse
Rappelle quelque chose de toasté
Brûlure de l'alcool présente.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I hesitated before buying a bottle of Mount Gay Black Barrel as the Mount Gay XO is only $6 CAD more and it is my favorite rum. No regrets, the Black Barrel while not as good as the XO is also a fantastic rum. I really enjoy the overall taste but would prefer it less spicy. Nevertheless a truly fantastic rum.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Prelude with salt filled sea breeze follow by heavy dose of wood extract, lightly burn maple syrup and leather polish that gives it a rather bold and direct character. (20/25)

P- Burnt coal, buttery vanilla and whiff of smokes, some ripe tropical fruits and raisins but vastly masked by the beefy phenolic profile, which is nice for a change. Dash of plain sugar lurking but acceptable as it is not as sweet. (20/25)

F- Medium length, oak driven, clean and dry. Layer of raw woody oiliness that either one will like or hate it, a touch of toasted salt bitterness on the exit as expected. (19/25)

Balanced:- Love the breeze of salts. May not be finely balance, but is great to have tasted the usual prominent sweetness being bullied by the masculine oak on this dram. Hoped to see they come up with deeply charred sherry cask finishes soon. A wee thin, lack body. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 77pt

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It burns if you over sniff on it but there are pack with aroma. Candy floss, caramel, fruits cake with raisins, spices such as cinnamon and vanilla and bitterness of dark chocolate.
Light with woody and caramel flavor. Charred bourbon flavor which stands out a lot compare with most rum, banana peel and dry German apple schnapps (apfelbrand). Peppery burning sensation which I enjoyed but not so sure for others.
Tropical fruits on the finishing. Minty flavor. Dry tannin mouth feel and tickling on the throat.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I liked this one. A little bit harsh at first but it has good flavours. In my opinion it's better than mount Gay XO. I could sip this but I do like to mix it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

This is a great straightforward sipping rum, even my non-rum drinker friends love this stuff. For the mixologists out there I find it does amazingly well with a quality coffee liqueur and creamer for a Rum Russian.

Posted about 3 years ago by Daniel from Australia with 1 rating

Great drop, smoother than the eclipse, worth the extra money.

Posted about 3 years ago by CatO9Tails from United States with 2 ratings

I'm not saying this is the best rum money can buy...but for the price and wide-spread distribution in my neck of the woods, I think it makes a pretty strong case for itself. This rum has a fairly bourbon-y flavor, and since bourbon is my other favorite spirit, that probably explains its appeal to my palate. Oakey, a little sweet, with a touch of syrup and strong banana notes. This one works well either straight-up or cut with a cube of ice, if you want to make it a bit less sweet and more refreshing.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

ie style over substance.

The run has little finesse or complexity. Overly spirity. Perfectly drinkable but not as good as Chairman's Reserve at 2/3 the price (this is £30 a bottle, Chairman's is £20). I guess in that respect Remy Cointreau have been successful, but like many rum brands owned by big groups, they are more interested in the profit than the product.

Not a rum I will be buying again unless there is nothing on the shelf. EDIT - the more I drink it, the less I like it and I am sitting here thinking how I am going to finish the bottle!