Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


324 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 43% which is always a good thing for rum. Candy cola on the nose and palette. It opens up to a bit of lemon grass and smoke. The body is on the thin side which helps keep things bright. Finish is lingering and somewhat sweet but not a sugar bomb by any means.
Can’t go wrong with the Black Barrel in your tiki drinks either. I prefer this over the Black Seal or Plantation rums for mixing.
So it’s a sipper and a mixer at a great price!! That makes this a bit of a genius offering from one of the great rum brands out there. Solid

Posted at WonderBar over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Like to explore and drink rum and whiskey pure, no ice. Smell, taste are wonderfull but it is a bit harsh. If you like bourbon or whiskey, you will like this.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonasm from Belgium with 8 ratings

finished in bourban oak barrels always a great choice

Posted over 2 years ago by KINK1IN from France with 15 ratings

Mount Gay - Black Barrel

Notation Personnel : 7/10

Posted over 2 years ago by swinnen from Belgium with 7 ratings

Nice taste, you can taste the different accents you want in a rum

Posted over 2 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

Can't say too much bad stuff about this. Solid overall, not too harsh but you can certainly taste the char. I certainly taste some caramel, vanilla and a little bit of chocolate on this one, but it always ends with the char.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

If bourbon is your choice of drink, this is your choice of rum. On the rocks for me

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Un nez hyper intéressant qui invite tout de suite à la dégustation mais un gout beaucoup plus lourd, l'impression de base dégringole assez vite. C'est assez long, aromatisés mais il en reste un arrière gout de déception

Posted over 2 years ago by Andrew Beaumont from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Excellent oaky rum.

First tried during this during the Mount Gay tour.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chriswx from Greece with 22 ratings

😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Klein from Israel with 9 ratings

I had intended to by the XO on my last trip to the States, but couldn't find it, so I settled for the Black Barrel statement. What a disappointment. None of the sophistication of the XO. Why even make such an inferior edition when the price difference is but a few measly dollars? The only good thing I can say is that upon opening it was more like a '2', but after a couple of weeks it calmed down a little and I could actually almost enjoy a shot of it. But I highly recommend spending the few extra bucks to get the XO.

Posted over 2 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

J'apprécie les Rhum de la Barbade. Aussi je voulais goûter les Mount Gay et j'ai commencé par le Black Barrel. Ce n'est pas un mauvais rhum. On retrouve les caractéristiques des rhums que j'aime (plutôt sec et frais, fruits exotiques avec une pointe d'épices), mais pour moi il manque de complexité et de longueur en bouche.
Rapport qualité/prix décevant.
A essayer peut-être en cocktail.

Posted over 2 years ago by Atom from France with 15 ratings

Une attaque très (trop) forte mais avec des notes subtil de mélasse dans un second temps. Pas autant aromatique qu'un XO mais il se laisse boire !

Posted over 2 years ago by Nelson Garcez from United States with 9 ratings

Decent for sipping but better with ice. Would be smoother if allowed to be a couple more years in the casket. Medium brown with hints of spices.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Very adequate as a sipper. Certainly spices and oak notes to be enjoyed albeit nothing overwhelming. A lighter version of the XO but very enjoyable nonetheless. Incredible value for less than $30 USD

Posted almost 3 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

A good Rum better than most not as harsh as I was prepared for.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

J aime beaucoup ce rhum bien boisé, et bien épicé. Veilli 2 fois dans des barils de bourbon. Un petit goût de vanille. Je le conseille vraiment.

Posted almost 3 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Good rum, smooth neat but also excellent with Coke.

Posted almost 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

A nice rum with a great aroma of oak and vanilla along with aged leather and subtle tobacco notes. Great as a sipper or a mixer if you want a little oak barrel dimension to your cocktail.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Slap all the silly labelling you want on it, it didn't sit in the cask long enough.

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Trocha sladkého parfému, sušené banány, citrusy, hřebíček, tropické ovoce. (84 b)
Chuť: Suchý, štiplavý, dřevitý a karamelový. Chuť je fádní, ale zase proti Eclipse je OK. (81 b)
Body: 82/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno při posezení s kamarádem v českolipském Baru/Kavárně Kocour. Od této značky jsem měl možnost ochutnat už tři rumy (Black Barrel, Eclipse a Extra Old) a ani jeden mě nijak nezaujal, a když, tak jen vůní, v chuti to bylo zklamání vždy.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

Udemærket rom til en billig pris. Lidt vanille smag, og en okay duft. Den er dog også lidt sprittet

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A little harsh with some burn. Flavors don't really mesh together very well. A good rum to add to your mixed drink recipes. Sipping is ok, but much better mixed. Some nice flavor from the charred oak barrels is important. I'd spend more to get the extra Old instead.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 8 ratings

Excellent rum for the price. Golden amber appearance with the nice aroma you want with your rum. Great with ginger bear or with coke. It also goes great in rum runners or a twist on a mojito.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jerome from France with 22 ratings

Moi qui aime les rhum sucrés, j ai été très déçu. Il passe mal et n a rien d exceptionnel pour l amateur que je suis.