Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10 (351 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
77
137
72
17
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


351 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

I'm guessing the only reason i've not bought this before is all the "tastes like Bourbon" comments on this rum. not being a Bourbon fan i was skeptical about my purchase.. well i was very pleasantly surprised. Lovely aroma of vanilla , oak , spices and either honey or fruit. Only slightly astringent and that disappeared in moments. Nice to sip , thankfully not much of the Bourbon taste present to spoil my enjoyment !
Mixes very well with a Fever Tree cola also.. Comes with a nice cork and not a cheap screw cap..
Another high quality Barbados rum , only just behind the XO in my opinion... don.t let the "Bourbon" comments put you off !!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by baggins101 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

So I got this rum after some reading of reviews and - I was disappointed. This rum is not particularly interesting. The taste is more or less bland. You could like this if you like for instance whiskey, but not really rum. It's nice, don't get me wrong, but too plain for my taste. There are certainly better options in this price range.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Bazza Bones from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Nice for sipping and a nice after taste one of my favorite in my collection

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Похож больше на виски, чем на ром. Резкий, но после первой пьётся хорошо. Вкус ярко выраженный, необычный, не совсем ромовый, не сладкий, но приятный.

Tastes more like whiskey than like rum. Harsh at first but gets smoother while sipping. Taste is rich and unusual, not sweet and rum-like to me but still nice.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I did find this one to be medicinal, but not in a distracting way like some mixing rums. This one is definitely a sipper, although I wouldn't be against making cocktails with it, for sure. It does have a sweetness that balances the medicinal quality quite nicely. Over-all I recommend it, at the very least as a good, high-quality mixer for your private bar.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Supalite from Poland with 8 ratings

Cant go wrong with this one.
Good quality rum fun Barbados 🇧🇧

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

If in doubt go to Mount Gay - always a reliable drinking rum

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

This is really nice stuff for this money actually. I buy this one about ~30 euros. The Mount Gay Black Barrel rum is made from single column and double pot distilled rum, like most of all rums coming from Mount Gay distillery. It is also finished in heavily charred bourbon barrels before being bottled, - I suppose that’s the reason why it calls ‘black barrel’.

If you compare this ‘black barrel’ with MG XO - you will find more spiciness, more honey but it is less richness. But don’t forget that Mount Gay XO it’s also more expensive rum ~50 euros per bottle. Almost twice price.

The color is medium dark (5/10 to darkest), with long legs.

On nose: it’s very fruity. Much Honey, Banana, vanilla.

Palate: little spicy first, sweet, and smooth enough. Notes of oak. But a weak aftertaste. Spiciness will stay in your mouth some time...

This rum is absolutely good, high quality Barbados Rum. But it’s not premium class Rum. Just be attentive for what reason you buy it. But it deserves for sure to spend 30 euros for it.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

I’ve been a rum junkie for over 14 years. The Black Barrel is pretty much what I’ve been looking for. It has just the right amount of sweetness and wood. It’s been ages in ex bourbon barrels but not to the point where it taste like bourbon. Truly a great sipper. To top it all off it’s reasonably priced and easy to find.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Zvyseny obsah alkoholu je na rume poznat. Chut je fajn, ale rum je trosku stiplavejsi. Ale fajn na pomale usrkavanie.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

No nic moc. Jeste ze to nebyla moje lahev :)
Za ty penize lze poridit daleko lepsi rum...
Rum je dost ostrý a alkoholový.