Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10
372 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
28
85
144
75
18
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

372 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rhun from United States with 14 ratings

Taste is reminiscent of honey and almonds, but very understated. A slight bite, but not harsh. Excellent for sipping.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 10 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 159 ratings

taste - 6.5/10
smell - 7/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Lewis from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Definitely my favourite run by far, of all the ones I've tried. Even a whiskey lover would find it hard not to like this one

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Nicht so komplex und intensiv wie der XO, jedoch deutlich günstiger und empfehlenswert.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by ezioaudit from Greece with 26 ratings

Not quite good for me nothing special very woody and some spices.the alcohol is shown and seems that is quite young

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Brian from Australia with 27 ratings

I found this rum on special at the local bottle shop so I decided to buy it. Glad i did!
I found it quite smooth, nice for sipping neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Had a bottle as a gift from Barbados. Classic Barbados aromas - vanilla, burnt sugar, cinnamon - very round and smooth. Taste is much like regular MG, but has more wood, burn and kick in body. As the bottle was mostly consumed at a party and straight, can’t really say anything bad about this rum. Definitely a better option than the Plantation signature blends that smell and taste like candy. But is not that much better than the regular MGs. So place your hopes accordingly. A true 7.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

I hesitated before buying a bottle of Mount Gay Black Barrel as the Mount Gay XO is only $6 CAD more and it is my favorite rum. No regrets, the Black Barrel while not as good as the XO is also a fantastic rum. I really enjoy the overall taste but would prefer it less spicy. Nevertheless a truly fantastic rum.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 4 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Prelude with salt filled sea breeze follow by heavy dose of wood extract, lightly burn maple syrup and leather polish that gives it a rather bold and direct character. (20/25)

P- Burnt coal, buttery vanilla and whiff of smokes, some ripe tropical fruits and raisins but vastly masked by the beefy phenolic profile, which is nice for a change. Dash of plain sugar lurking but acceptable as it is not as sweet. (20/25)

F- Medium length, oak driven, clean and dry. Layer of raw woody oiliness that either one will like or hate it, a touch of toasted salt bitterness on the exit as expected. (19/25)

Balanced:- Love the breeze of salts. May not be finely balance, but is great to have tasted the usual prominent sweetness being bullied by the masculine oak on this dram. Hoped to see they come up with deeply charred sherry cask finishes soon. A wee thin, lack body. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 77pt

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 4 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It burns if you over sniff on it but there are pack with aroma. Candy floss, caramel, fruits cake with raisins, spices such as cinnamon and vanilla and bitterness of dark chocolate.
Light with woody and caramel flavor. Charred bourbon flavor which stands out a lot compare with most rum, banana peel and dry German apple schnapps (apfelbrand). Peppery burning sensation which I enjoyed but not so sure for others.
Tropical fruits on the finishing. Minty flavor. Dry tannin mouth feel and tickling on the throat.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I liked this one. A little bit harsh at first but it has good flavours. In my opinion it's better than mount Gay XO. I could sip this but I do like to mix it.