Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
75
135
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Strong bourbon-like flavor. Good for sipping or in cola.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Had a bottle as a gift from Barbados. Classic Barbados aromas - vanilla, burnt sugar, cinnamon - very round and smooth. Taste is much like regular MG, but has more wood, burn and kick in body. As the bottle was mostly consumed at a party and straight, can’t really say anything bad about this rum. Definitely a better option than the Plantation signature blends that smell and taste like candy. But is not that much better than the regular MGs. So place your hopes accordingly. A true 7.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

I hesitated before buying a bottle of Mount Gay Black Barrel as the Mount Gay XO is only $6 CAD more and it is my favorite rum. No regrets, the Black Barrel while not as good as the XO is also a fantastic rum. I really enjoy the overall taste but would prefer it less spicy. Nevertheless a truly fantastic rum.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Prelude with salt filled sea breeze follow by heavy dose of wood extract, lightly burn maple syrup and leather polish that gives it a rather bold and direct character. (20/25)

P- Burnt coal, buttery vanilla and whiff of smokes, some ripe tropical fruits and raisins but vastly masked by the beefy phenolic profile, which is nice for a change. Dash of plain sugar lurking but acceptable as it is not as sweet. (20/25)

F- Medium length, oak driven, clean and dry. Layer of raw woody oiliness that either one will like or hate it, a touch of toasted salt bitterness on the exit as expected. (19/25)

Balanced:- Love the breeze of salts. May not be finely balance, but is great to have tasted the usual prominent sweetness being bullied by the masculine oak on this dram. Hoped to see they come up with deeply charred sherry cask finishes soon. A wee thin, lack body. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 77pt

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It burns if you over sniff on it but there are pack with aroma. Candy floss, caramel, fruits cake with raisins, spices such as cinnamon and vanilla and bitterness of dark chocolate.
Light with woody and caramel flavor. Charred bourbon flavor which stands out a lot compare with most rum, banana peel and dry German apple schnapps (apfelbrand). Peppery burning sensation which I enjoyed but not so sure for others.
Tropical fruits on the finishing. Minty flavor. Dry tannin mouth feel and tickling on the throat.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I liked this one. A little bit harsh at first but it has good flavours. In my opinion it's better than mount Gay XO. I could sip this but I do like to mix it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

This is a great straightforward sipping rum, even my non-rum drinker friends love this stuff. For the mixologists out there I find it does amazingly well with a quality coffee liqueur and creamer for a Rum Russian.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Australia with 1 rating

Great drop, smoother than the eclipse, worth the extra money.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by CatO9Tails from United States with 2 ratings

I'm not saying this is the best rum money can buy...but for the price and wide-spread distribution in my neck of the woods, I think it makes a pretty strong case for itself. This rum has a fairly bourbon-y flavor, and since bourbon is my other favorite spirit, that probably explains its appeal to my palate. Oakey, a little sweet, with a touch of syrup and strong banana notes. This one works well either straight-up or cut with a cube of ice, if you want to make it a bit less sweet and more refreshing.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

ie style over substance.

The run has little finesse or complexity. Overly spirity. Perfectly drinkable but not as good as Chairman's Reserve at 2/3 the price (this is £30 a bottle, Chairman's is £20). I guess in that respect Remy Cointreau have been successful, but like many rum brands owned by big groups, they are more interested in the profit than the product.

Not a rum I will be buying again unless there is nothing on the shelf. EDIT - the more I drink it, the less I like it and I am sitting here thinking how I am going to finish the bottle!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

This is just an exceptional value for money rum. It's by no means overpowering but have some character. The nose is nice with leather, caramel, vanilla, banana and hints of chared wood. On the tongue I pick up notes of molasses, peppery spices, toast, tobacco, banana and caramel. The finish is slightly dry, but stays fairly refined.