Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.7/10 (351 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
77
137
72
17
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


351 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by wolfpack21643 from United States with 16 ratings

Color: Medium
Nose: Oak hints of vanilla
Taste: Strong oak with nut and vanilla
Viscosity: Somewhat thin
Finish: Finishes fairly quick with a fair amount of burn
Overall Impression: Very good, you cannot go wrong with this rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 35 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay and while I prefer their XO, the black barrel is a fantastic value and thus why I give it an 7. It's a tad harsh in both the finish and also in the flavor profile. Not bad at all, just not as refined as my preferred rums. While it really does make a fantastic rum and coke, I can drink this neat or on the rocks and both are good experiences. Neat is a bit on the spicy and dry side (which I like) but on the rocks also brings out a nice more mellow flavor that is still slightly sweet and very pleasant. Every way to drink this rum is a good rum and for the price you feel liberated to try anything without any guilt. Highly recommend this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by PitBullCH from Switzerland with 14 ratings

Found this at my local Getränkemarkt and was not too expensive for an alleged small batch rum. Found it rather medicinal, slightly rough, no real redeeming features, would not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Přišel jako 2. do rodiny. První byl XO. Dopiručuji připlatit. Ma sotva poloviční chuť a je hodně alkoholovy.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Nicely drinkable rum with strong notes of charred barrels. Stronger taste than most rums. Still one of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

Three top tier restaurants stock the Black Barrel for me as I drink it with fresh squeezed orange juice. It's one of my favorite drinks. I wouldn't drink this straight up but with a mixer it's great. It's certainly far above the house rum served by virtually all bars/restaurants.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Arôme léger de mélasse
Rappelle quelque chose de toasté
Brûlure de l'alcool présente.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

Reasonably priced, and good for someone learning rum. It's kind of generic tasting, but not in a bad way. Generic in the way all brown liquor tastes when you begin drinking, which is why I think it is a good gateway for people getting into drinking unadulterated rums.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

taste - 6.5/10
smell - 7/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Lewis from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Definitely my favourite run by far, of all the ones I've tried. Even a whiskey lover would find it hard not to like this one

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Nicht so komplex und intensiv wie der XO, jedoch deutlich günstiger und empfehlenswert.