Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (346 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
13
26
75
135
72
16
3

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


346 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

Even though I love the Bajan rum (love the Four Square Brand) this bottle isn't quite there for drinking as a sipper but is very nice as a mixer. Nothing great but definitely a good go to for Tiki drinks or something similar.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 32 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay and while I prefer their XO, the black barrel is a fantastic value and thus why I give it an 7. It's a tad harsh in both the finish and also in the flavor profile. Not bad at all, just not as refined as my preferred rums. While it really does make a fantastic rum and coke, I can drink this neat or on the rocks and both are good experiences. Neat is a bit on the spicy and dry side (which I like) but on the rocks also brings out a nice more mellow flavor that is still slightly sweet and very pleasant. Every way to drink this rum is a good rum and for the price you feel liberated to try anything without any guilt. Highly recommend this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by PitBullCH from Switzerland with 14 ratings

Found this at my local Getränkemarkt and was not too expensive for an alleged small batch rum. Found it rather medicinal, slightly rough, no real redeeming features, would not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Přišel jako 2. do rodiny. První byl XO. Dopiručuji připlatit. Ma sotva poloviční chuť a je hodně alkoholovy.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Nicely drinkable rum with strong notes of charred barrels. Stronger taste than most rums. Still one of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

Three top tier restaurants stock the Black Barrel for me as I drink it with fresh squeezed orange juice. It's one of my favorite drinks. I wouldn't drink this straight up but with a mixer it's great. It's certainly far above the house rum served by virtually all bars/restaurants.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Arôme léger de mélasse
Rappelle quelque chose de toasté
Brûlure de l'alcool présente.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Lewis from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Definitely my favourite run by far, of all the ones I've tried. Even a whiskey lover would find it hard not to like this one

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Nicht so komplex und intensiv wie der XO, jedoch deutlich günstiger und empfehlenswert.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by ezioaudit from Greece with 26 ratings

Not quite good for me nothing special very woody and some spices.the alcohol is shown and seems that is quite young

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Brian from Australia with 21 ratings

I found this rum on special at the local bottle shop so I decided to buy it. Glad i did!
I found it quite smooth, nice for sipping neat.