Posting your rating...
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum
Mount Gay Black Barrel rum

Mount Gay Black Barrel

Barbados | Dark

Mount Gay Black Barrel is a small batch, handcrafted rum recently created by master distiller Allen Smith. It is a blend of both matured double pot distillates and aged column distillates which are finished in Bourbon oak barrels. The unique blend delivers a bold and balanced flavour.

6.8/10 (329 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
12
25
70
130
68
16
2

Rate Mount Gay Black Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


329 Mount Gay Black Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B250cbbfa27e653c43e4cb2f3395c99a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from United States with 55 ratings

Strong bourbon-like flavor. Good for sipping or in cola.

F1cea3399f9df2402e7f3a179c2e0a39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

I'm a fan of Mount Gay and while I prefer their XO, the black barrel is a fantastic value and thus why I give it an 7. It's a tad harsh in both the finish and also in the flavor profile. Not bad at all, just not as refined as my preferred rums. While it really does make a fantastic rum and coke, I can drink this neat or on the rocks and both are good experiences. Neat is a bit on the spicy and dry side (which I like) but on the rocks also brings out a nice more mellow flavor that is still slightly sweet and very pleasant. Every way to drink this rum is a good rum and for the price you feel liberated to try anything without any guilt. Highly recommend this one.

F5de4868f0b53b061195c02f459cacdf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by PitBullCH from Switzerland with 14 ratings

Found this at my local Getränkemarkt and was not too expensive for an alleged small batch rum. Found it rather medicinal, slightly rough, no real redeeming features, would not buy again.

6353cdbc9da02f382a546bd60744e517.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Přišel jako 2. do rodiny. První byl XO. Dopiručuji připlatit. Ma sotva poloviční chuť a je hodně alkoholovy.

Faa57fac59f165515e3f8ea88195cade.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Igor from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Nicely drinkable rum with strong notes of charred barrels. Stronger taste than most rums. Still one of my favorites

Fcbb40d7c733d1e8b4c08f5ea4c4923a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

Three top tier restaurants stock the Black Barrel for me as I drink it with fresh squeezed orange juice. It's one of my favorite drinks. I wouldn't drink this straight up but with a mixer it's great. It's certainly far above the house rum served by virtually all bars/restaurants.

4af6b62fd5b61829b9b7f949c2ebb4a1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Arôme léger de mélasse
Rappelle quelque chose de toasté
Brûlure de l'alcool présente.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

I hesitated before buying a bottle of Mount Gay Black Barrel as the Mount Gay XO is only $6 CAD more and it is my favorite rum. No regrets, the Black Barrel while not as good as the XO is also a fantastic rum. I really enjoy the overall taste but would prefer it less spicy. Nevertheless a truly fantastic rum.

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Prelude with salt filled sea breeze follow by heavy dose of wood extract, lightly burn maple syrup and leather polish that gives it a rather bold and direct character. (20/25)

P- Burnt coal, buttery vanilla and whiff of smokes, some ripe tropical fruits and raisins but vastly masked by the beefy phenolic profile, which is nice for a change. Dash of plain sugar lurking but acceptable as it is not as sweet. (20/25)

F- Medium length, oak driven, clean and dry. Layer of raw woody oiliness that either one will like or hate it, a touch of toasted salt bitterness on the exit as expected. (19/25)

Balanced:- Love the breeze of salts. May not be finely balance, but is great to have tasted the usual prominent sweetness being bullied by the masculine oak on this dram. Hoped to see they come up with deeply charred sherry cask finishes soon. A wee thin, lack body. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 77pt

366bfe030bff3208fb63e802a6538e99.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It burns if you over sniff on it but there are pack with aroma. Candy floss, caramel, fruits cake with raisins, spices such as cinnamon and vanilla and bitterness of dark chocolate.
Light with woody and caramel flavor. Charred bourbon flavor which stands out a lot compare with most rum, banana peel and dry German apple schnapps (apfelbrand). Peppery burning sensation which I enjoyed but not so sure for others.
Tropical fruits on the finishing. Minty flavor. Dry tannin mouth feel and tickling on the throat.

7eb2175899906b92de6b325cca1829e6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I liked this one. A little bit harsh at first but it has good flavours. In my opinion it's better than mount Gay XO. I could sip this but I do like to mix it.